Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fun to build
This is the largest model plane that I have attempted.The engine is a bit tricky to fit when completed, but can be done .The aluminium paint supplied is a bit streaky other colours ok.Some of the instructions are a bit vague .Some slight modifications are needed but can be done quite easily if you have modelled before.I am threequarters through the build and I am...
Published 5 months ago by william aries

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lovely aircraft spoilt by poor instructions
My son has made a lot of airfix kits in the past and enjoyed fitting them together, but this one has been a challenge because of poor fitting parts and vague instructions, it has taken a lot of modifications to make parts fit and he has had to leave a few minor parts out. When it is finnished it will be quite impresive especialy as we bought a electric motor to with it...
Published 5 months ago by Swindon4


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fun to build, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
This is the largest model plane that I have attempted.The engine is a bit tricky to fit when completed, but can be done .The aluminium paint supplied is a bit streaky other colours ok.Some of the instructions are a bit vague .Some slight modifications are needed but can be done quite easily if you have modelled before.I am threequarters through the build and I am impressed with the detail.Cannot foresee any real probs with what I have left to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally made it right, 31 Oct 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Received the model one day late,that was fine but the kit itself is fantastic, it's huge with a mighty wingspan and all the details are there, machineguns, cockpit engine etc. I painted mine with d-day stripes and it looks fantastic a must have for any ww2/aircraft model nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Spitfire!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I bought this when it was selling for a knock down 19 and I can say for that money it was a bargain. Never having built or even seen a 1:24 scale spitfire, I can say it is impressive in scale and detail. Cockpit detail is extensive, but maybe not up to today's standards as this is basically the old Airfix with newer parts added to upgrade it to the Mk Vb. The flaps work, the landing gear retracts and there is enough room to build some lights into this too.

This version comes with paints, that I always say are only fit for the bin, so buy some Humbrol enamel for this. The decal sheet is huge, markings are huge too for this bird. There is quite a lot of plastic flash present on this one of mine that will need trimming, and I have heard of some fit issues with the fuselage and wings. But them, this is maybe a 50 year old base kit so it is not going to be up to Trumpeter or Tamiya standards is it?

Oh and this is not the version with propeller motor provided, you will have too source one of those from else where. Photo etch sets and detail up items are available, and I would think that a nice new pilot figure would set this splendid bird off if placed in a diorama setting.

Any model of a spitfire is a good thing, so go and get one to pay homage and respect to the few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Took me back 40 years !!!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
A fantastic, time consuming, piece of joy !.. I bought this on a whim, as I haven't built a model for a number of years. The end result was very pleasing, but not as pleasing as the time sat back and gently crafting parts in to a unit or painting pieces. Just like a jigsaw, the picture starts to emerge, but unlike a jigsaw, some of the parts need to be properly finished by hand before sticking to each other...Overall the secret to this is monk like patience with a huge dose of piece and quiet. My top tip would be to apply the supplied paint in thinned out washes rather than straight out the pot gloop. Washes don't show paintbrush lines and they build the colour up. Then apply a coat of brush on lacquer. ( a 5 bottle will last forever). This will seal and protect the decals, and help the acrylic (water based + no mess) paint from being scratched off. My finished model is now hanging from the ceiling in the office and it's providing a world of wonder for others too now.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airfix do it again!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Superb kit of a remarkable Aircraft. Non-modellers need not apply. Needs patience and experience to bring this one to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spitfire build, 3 Aug 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
After a layoff of 10 years thought I would try a big spitfire. Most parts went together well ( lots of pegs required tho). Putting the Merlin in was tricky and side panels a bit awkward easier to leave it out if you don't want to display engine. The paint supplied with the kit is not particularly good best to buy your own. Overall tho not too difficult to build and with patience you end up with a decent kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard but fun, 27 Jan 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
this model is not for beginners and will take a lot of time and patience to complete, recommended you carefully read through the instructions and practice making the parts fit before actually glueing. a bit of filing and cleaning of flash is required for a flush fit. when completed this spitfire is huge and looks great, it's not toy but your effort is rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
my most faviret plane made by mr rj michell best plane ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a cracker!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Brilliant kit for the price, can't top Airfix for consistent quality and at 1/24 scale it's huge. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spitfire Vb BBMF, 18 Jan 2014
By 
D. M. Oates (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Other reviewers are correct in that the kit requires experience to build. The base kit was tooled in 1969 and is a remarkable achievement for the time. Pre-laser surveying and computer designing the Airfix Surveyors did a fantastic job. Spitfires of this era had quite a mixture of raised details and panels and these have been captured perfectly. Some cleanup is required on parts that now carry a little flash - but nothing serious. The mould are showing their age as is expected. Some detail is 'missing', but not much and is mostly cables and wires that are very easy to add. The cost of the kit needs to be taken into consideration - it costs less than many 1/72 WWII subjects from Japanese manufacturers. The more experienced the modeller, the longer the build, making the kit into a fantastic bargain. The decals (printed by Cartograph) are the equal or better than many aftermarket sets often costing 15 or more and it comes with 15 pots of paint and two decent brushes excellent for detail work. Youngsters may be put off or even disappointed because it does require work and experience to get the best from it. For one, I'm glad that airfix still include the kit in their current range, but as with ALL modelling projects - it's best to read online reviews before buying. Excellent product, beautiful packaging, great price, well done Airfix!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews