Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Spitfire!
I bought this when it was selling for a knock down £19 and I can say for that money it was a bargain. Never having built or even seen a 1:24 scale spitfire, I can say it is impressive in scale and detail. Cockpit detail is extensive, but maybe not up to today's standards as this is basically the old Airfix with newer parts added to upgrade it to the Mk Vb. The flaps work,...
Published 4 months ago by x wing flyboy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for price
I'd done a few of these 1/24 kits as a kid, so lovely memory to do one now with my son. At this price it's a good value kit considering size but for those with modelling experience, be aware that on this particular kit the detail, quality and fit of all parts is far from the standard of even a 1/48 scale Tamiya kits (and poorer than I remembered but then that could just...
Published 1 month ago by David McLean


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Huge Spitfire!, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I bought this when it was selling for a knock down £19 and I can say for that money it was a bargain. Never having built or even seen a 1:24 scale spitfire, I can say it is impressive in scale and detail. Cockpit detail is extensive, but maybe not up to today's standards as this is basically the old Airfix with newer parts added to upgrade it to the Mk Vb. The flaps work, the landing gear retracts and there is enough room to build some lights into this too.

This version comes with paints, that I always say are only fit for the bin, so buy some Humbrol enamel for this. The decal sheet is huge, markings are huge too for this bird. There is quite a lot of plastic flash present on this one of mine that will need trimming, and I have heard of some fit issues with the fuselage and wings. But them, this is maybe a 50 year old base kit so it is not going to be up to Trumpeter or Tamiya standards is it?

Oh and this is not the version with propeller motor provided, you will have too source one of those from else where. Photo etch sets and detail up items are available, and I would think that a nice new pilot figure would set this splendid bird off if placed in a diorama setting.

Any model of a spitfire is a good thing, so go and get one to pay homage and respect to the few!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good fun to build, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
This is the largest model plane that I have attempted.The engine is a bit tricky to fit when completed, but can be done .The aluminium paint supplied is a bit streaky other colours ok.Some of the instructions are a bit vague .Some slight modifications are needed but can be done quite easily if you have modelled before.I am threequarters through the build and I am impressed with the detail.Cannot foresee any real probs with what I have left to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally made it right, 31 Oct 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Received the model one day late,that was fine but the kit itself is fantastic, it's huge with a mighty wingspan and all the details are there, machineguns, cockpit engine etc. I painted mine with d-day stripes and it looks fantastic a must have for any ww2/aircraft model nut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Smashing spitfire!, 28 July 2014
By 
Stephen Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I've been building models for a good few years and I finally decided to try something a Bit more adventurous. Opening the kit and seeing the parts was staggering. The detail is very good for the a kit that didn't benefit from airfix's "new tooling", there is a lot of detail under the surface so one has to choose between focusing on the exterior or the interior. On most areas a choice doesn't need to be made. The main one is if you want to install the airfix working engine into the model. This is actually an amazon add on and I wish I had done it before. It isn't hard to install as I looked at the details. Along the way when installing the engine pice in the model your given the choice to put in a different piece to mount the engine. If properly assembled this makes the propeller spin, not that fast but very cool. I plan to use this to encorpoate realism into a future kit with some model lighting conversions kits slapped on. The instructions are easy to follow and the cockpit is very detailed with the addiction of a cool pilot. A very good kit for more experienced modellers. I didnt really see the point of paints as someone who uses the paints is probably not experienced enougth to makes this model worth it. I went for the one without the paints because the model is actually no different. You may want to consider after market decals if you want something that's not RAF but you can easily stick with the base model. A great kit for a medium level of experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airfix do it again!, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
Superb kit of a remarkable Aircraft. Non-modellers need not apply. Needs patience and experience to bring this one to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spitfire build, 3 Aug 2013
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
After a layoff of 10 years thought I would try a big spitfire. Most parts went together well ( lots of pegs required tho). Putting the Merlin in was tricky and side panels a bit awkward easier to leave it out if you don't want to display engine. The paint supplied with the kit is not particularly good best to buy your own. Overall tho not too difficult to build and with patience you end up with a decent kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard but fun, 27 Jan 2013
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
this model is not for beginners and will take a lot of time and patience to complete, recommended you carefully read through the instructions and practice making the parts fit before actually glueing. a bit of filing and cleaning of flash is required for a flush fit. when completed this spitfire is huge and looks great, it's not toy but your effort is rewarded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Took me back 40 years !!!, 16 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
A fantastic, time consuming, piece of joy !.. I bought this on a whim, as I haven't built a model for a number of years. The end result was very pleasing, but not as pleasing as the time sat back and gently crafting parts in to a unit or painting pieces. Just like a jigsaw, the picture starts to emerge, but unlike a jigsaw, some of the parts need to be properly finished by hand before sticking to each other...Overall the secret to this is monk like patience with a huge dose of piece and quiet. My top tip would be to apply the supplied paint in thinned out washes rather than straight out the pot gloop. Washes don't show paintbrush lines and they build the colour up. Then apply a coat of brush on lacquer. ( a £5 bottle will last forever). This will seal and protect the decals, and help the acrylic (water based + no mess) paint from being scratched off. My finished model is now hanging from the ceiling in the office and it's providing a world of wonder for others too now.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fine for price, 20 Aug 2014
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
I'd done a few of these 1/24 kits as a kid, so lovely memory to do one now with my son. At this price it's a good value kit considering size but for those with modelling experience, be aware that on this particular kit the detail, quality and fit of all parts is far from the standard of even a 1/48 scale Tamiya kits (and poorer than I remembered but then that could just be memory!), so some cutting, filing and filling of gaps required. Still fun though but a little less satisfying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airfix A50141 Battle of Britain Memorial Flight Supermarine Spitfire MkVb 1:24 Scale Plastic Model Gift Set (Toy)
my most faviret plane made by mr rj michell best plane ever made
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews