Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Please sir, I'd like some more.....!"
This is an inspiring book. Intelligently written and well researched, it stirs in you a hunger for a deeper knowledge of God and a hope that actually this can be for you too. Simon's personal story is very moving and his arguments are well thought out and Biblically sound. This is something to stir your heart without leaving your mind behind. His words are good news...
Published on 13 Sept. 2005 by Ginan Tonic

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant BUT flawed
I was very impressed by this book and its quite inspiring. It argues the case for gifts of the spirit in a very convincing manner, evaluating the various counter arguments and destroying them very convincingly.
BUT - Romans 12, Ephesians 4 and the second half of 1 Cor 12 are ignored completely - not even mentioned! So the book misses out all the non "charismatic"...
Published on 22 Jun. 2008 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Please sir, I'd like some more.....!", 13 Sept. 2005
By 
Ginan Tonic (Shenfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is an inspiring book. Intelligently written and well researched, it stirs in you a hunger for a deeper knowledge of God and a hope that actually this can be for you too. Simon's personal story is very moving and his arguments are well thought out and Biblically sound. This is something to stir your heart without leaving your mind behind. His words are good news for the weary Christian and answer something of the deepest cry of your soul to really know and be known by your Maker & to be enabled to give His goodness away to those around you. I commend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Water for the thirsting soul, 6 Sept. 2005
By 
Ginan Tonic (Shenfield, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is such an honest and refreshing book, dealing with the issues around whether God may have more for you in your Christian experience than you had imagined possible. It is intelligently written and very thoroughly researched, drawing both questions and answers from most mainstream Christian thought traditions. The result is a study that is both balanced and comprehensive.
As well as his personal story, which is very moving, Simon Ponsonby draws many illustrations from historical Christian figures and their documented experience of God. Whilst acknowledging the many experiential elements of these encounters with God Himself, he clearly draws the line against hedonism and argues effectively for the way a genuine inward experience of God will always turn you outwards in love and service.
If you are tired of falling in the same ways, feeling like you lack the power to make a difference and you want to know if there is more beyond your present experience, then I would commend this book to you with its resounding "yes, there is!" It will stir both hunger and hope. He argues that this is not something just for historical super-saints and people who occupy platforms at conferences. This is the fullness God intended for you that you may know Him deeply and overflow with Him to the great benefit of those around you. I heartily commend it to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read it, then do it, 3 Sept. 2005
I've known Simon for a number of years now and the theme of this book is one he has come back to again and again in his preaching. There is more to the Christian life - there is always more. We are to be baptised with our baptism and filled with the fullness which is available through the cross, the great door into true living. This isn't just a book for charismatics, it's for any Christian who wants to press deeper into God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars always reaching for more!, 10 Mar. 2011
By 
J. DOUGLAS "Johnny Douglas" (Nr London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Apostle Paul, while rejoicing in what is already ours in Christ, continually prays for more: Ponsonby embodies this cry brilliantly well in this revised title! Inspiration, scripture, story and obstacles to this life of fullness are wisely and well addressed. Often we have no expectation and no appetite. We shy away from yielding our lives fully. We need a holy discontent that drives us to seek more. This is not a mark of immaturity but maturity. Ponsonby handles this reality with scholarly-yet-pastoral strength in a journey through repentance, obedience, unity and prayer.

Chapter six deals with the potentially controversial issue of the "baptism in the Holy Spirit" with the author's declaration that he does not subscribe to a pentecostal doctrine of a "once-for-all second blessing but that there might be a "constantly repeatable, deepening experience of God's Spirit". He emphasises God's sovereignty in dealing with different people in different ways, leading to potentially the best element of the whole book in chapter seven where Ponsonby tells his story of faith and deepening experience. The book is then ably completed by a chapter that deals with the issue of "wilderness". In it he argues that the Spirit is given from the cross. He shows how many in the Bible met God in the wilderness, and offers some correctives to an overly triumphalistic understanding of the Spirit's work. Ponsonby is great at weaving his writing with memorable quotes and vivid illustrations. Technical, solid and pulsing full of hunger and hope in a pursuit of a deeper life in God! Top-class stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More, 16 Jun. 2013
By 
ALUN PRICE-DAVIES (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well written book by an eminent apologist who sets out the argument for a greater experience of the Holy Spirit cogently
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant BUT flawed, 22 Jun. 2008
I was very impressed by this book and its quite inspiring. It argues the case for gifts of the spirit in a very convincing manner, evaluating the various counter arguments and destroying them very convincingly.
BUT - Romans 12, Ephesians 4 and the second half of 1 Cor 12 are ignored completely - not even mentioned! So the book misses out all the non "charismatic" gifts. Shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More, 22 July 2010
By 
Mr. James S. Gordon (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Product arrived promptly and in good condition. A really excellent book, mainly for Christians, with a reasoned and understandable explanation about the work of the Holy Spirit in a Christian's life. Strongly recommended for all those seeking a more vibrant Christian experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ponsonby, 12 Dec. 2009
What a read and I feel that Simon has touch a part in the Christian's life that so many other people miss. That God has so much more for us here and now is such a wonderful thing for all of us to experience. Thank you Simon for writing this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Read it and believe it, 2 Oct. 2010
This wasn't the easy, straightforward read I had expected. On several occasions I found myself reaching for the dictionary for the definition of some of the terms used. However, it is an inspiring and challenging book which achieves a balance between stirring the heart and challenging the mind based on well researched scripture references. Simon's personal story was very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars book purchase, 13 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book is one I know well and have so enjoyed it that this my third purchase of this book and i give them to friend who will also appreciate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews