Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When will we see this in Region 2???
Frist up this is a well animated story that moves at a fast pace from the start. Minor plot holes will be missed due to this so don't worry and just enjoy the ride. Just getting sick and tried of Warrner Bros lack of customer care paid to it's UK fan base. They must realy hate us here as they never bother to release these films for our consumption.
Published on 15 July 2012 by Mr. M. Komorowski

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose...
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as...
Published 17 months ago by Theo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When will we see this in Region 2???, 15 July 2012
Frist up this is a well animated story that moves at a fast pace from the start. Minor plot holes will be missed due to this so don't worry and just enjoy the ride. Just getting sick and tried of Warrner Bros lack of customer care paid to it's UK fan base. They must realy hate us here as they never bother to release these films for our consumption.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great JLA stand-alone, 20 Feb 2012
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
Fresh from DC in collaboration with Warner Animation, this is the tale of the Justic League meeting their respective match. From each characters past comes their nemesis (Batman vs Bane, Superman vs Metallo, Flash vs Mirrorman, Wonderwoman vs Cheeta, Green Lantern vs Star Sapphire and finally, Martian Manhunter vs Ma'alefa'ak). Batman in his paranoia, has developed a list of exploitable weaknesses of each JLA member in the event that they go should go rogue. However Vandal Savage finds a way to steal this information to permanently remove the JLA from obstructing his plans for world domination, are the JLA doomed?

Excellently voiced by notable talent and well-directed, this animated adventure kept me interested throughout. I was genuinely intrigued as to how the JLA were going to solve this. The animation holds up well even on Blu-Ray, never looking grainy, despite dark scenes - Warner Animation doing another sterling job.

There are a couple of random Justice League episodes on the disc ("Wild Cards, Part 1 and 2"), a featurette about the scriptwriter: "A League of One: The Dwayne McDuffie Story" (also on the DVD) and finally a look at the next DC animated film - "Superman vs. the Elite". Worthwhile.

All in all, a great Justice League adventure, highly recommended for DC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Adventure!!, 28 April 2012
By 
Fabian Faun (London, England) - See all my reviews
First off, let me just say that, with all interest in Marvel: Avengers Assemble, Justice League: Doom would have made an excellent live-action film. Those not familiar with The Tower Of Babel story arc may find themselves thrown in at the deep end, nevertheless, enjoy the ride!! - you won't be disappointed.
I will try not to introduce spoilers in my review.
Simply put - of all the heroes in the DC Universe, Batman (paranoid cynic), is the only hero to think outside the box. Vandal Savage, the only villain to think along similar lines.
If you're intrigued, then please do yourself a favour and watch this!! The storyline is probably the darkest one yet produced by Warner Bros Animation, so care should be taken if you want any children to view it, other than that provision, it is an excellent watch.
The story: Top notch
The animation: Excellent
The voice cast: A few SYFy stalwarts: Claudia Black, Alexis Denisoff, Nathan Fallion etc.
Once again, an excellent addition to the JLA catalogue!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, I suppose..., 28 Mar 2013
By 
Theo (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
There's not a whole lot to say about this one.

Maybe Bruce Timm set the bar too high with Batman: Animated Series, Justice League, and its follow up series, Justice League Unlimited. Because a great deal of what he's done since then doesn't even comes close to that standard. This piece, for example.

On a purely sensual level, the work is as good as it ever was. The art, the music, the production values: they're all still there. If anything, the artwork's grown still more lavish. We even get to see the old cast of voice actors re-united.

Yay.

But on any kind of deeper level, we're a long, long way from Timm's heyday. The characters are one dimensional, there's no emotional or moral depth whatsoever, and... Just...

Meh.

There are some supervillains who attempt to pull off a diabolical master plan. A diabolical master plan with a twist. If that's enough for you, then yeah, sure. Why not.

Otherwise, I'd have to say we've reached the point where the stuff Timm's putting out really is just for kids. It pains me to say that, more than you can know. But this isn't a film I could honestly recommend to adults.

Theo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 3 July 2014
Great addition to my DCcollection. A must for DC fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived Safetly, 14 May 2014
By 
Ann Marie Mccarthy "book worm" (Gran Canaria, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] [US Import] (Blu-ray)
This was bought as a present for our youngest daughter, she loved it! Thank you! We will definitely come shopping again with you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live action Films Directors pleas watch!, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With these animated features DC always do themselves proud. Each of their outings are not limited to one style of animation and they are often chose to make style enhance content. You can't go wrong with Kevin Conroy as the Batman, each frame is a joy to watch. Any changes to the story or stories are for the format and available time are justified, the characters are true to their origins and no one claims that they are changing the bible and creating something new.

Buy this DVD and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars decent enough kids fare, 16 Mar 2014
By 
M. King (Preston, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Poor villainous master plan, poorly executed.
One dimensional characters, uninspiring fight scenes.
Predictable from beginning to end.
Major fault is how boring it is.
Yuk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun but disposable, 1 Mar 2014
The current crop of animated movies being made by DC are a strange breed. Whilst there are moments of awesomeness (Batman Year One for example) most of them fall into the "its okay" 3 star category. They're decent films you wont regret watching but they tend not to stick in the memory for too long.

Justice League: Doom falls into this same category. It has the head start of being partially based on Mark Waids excellent "Tower of Babel" storyline where Batmans contingency plans to take down his fellow League members are pilfered. It has an excellent voice cast including Kevin Conroy and Nathan Fillion and the animation looks fantastic but it never quite equals the sum of its parts. It definitely is worth a watch (especially as its now available on Amazon Prime) but I cant shake the feeling it could have a little better.

Other random thoughts - Why do the writers of these animations always make The Flash such a jerk? And why isn't Nathan Fillion playing Green Lantern full time? Come on DC, kick Ryan Reynolds to the curb and get this legend a power ring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awsome, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This makes you feel scared for the heroes, which makes a change from most stories. Hope they eventually do a live action Justice League movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] [US Import]
Justice League: Doom [Blu-ray] [US Import] by Lauren Montgomery (Blu-ray - 2012)
17.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews