Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2012
I'm a mobile games developer, and a big fan of Android, and had high hopes for this device.

I wasn't disappointed.

I did my research, and had lots of experience with Android devices, so knew their limitations. But when I saw this device drop so drastically in price I couldn't resist. It also helped that my girlfriend had been angling for my current handset (Samsung Galaxy S - not my first choice!) so I had a good excuse to treat myself too.

Good selection of new games - Need for Speed Hot Pursuit is my current favourite
Lots of free or cheap emulators for old consoles optimised for Xperia Play (PSX, Megadrive/Genesis, NES, etc)
It runs Android - an app for every requirement (usually free) nuff said
Android OS has barely been tweaked by Sony - it's very stable
Even does everything a phone needs to - calls, texts, alarm...

Not thin - it's got a freakin gamepad, what do you expect?
Battery life is normal for smart phones - one of the best I've had but still two days tops
Whole Playstation certified Android is likely to be a slow start - don't expect too much too soon
Weak PSN account integration at present
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 21 November 2011
this is one of the best phones i have every owned if you ever get bored just flip up the game pad and then play it is easy to use every thing is easy to find when you pull your fingers together on the main screen i reconmend you buy this phone thank you sony ericsson
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2012
I got this phone because it was a really good gaming phone i would recommend phone over the iphone 4 there are many reviews show how this phone is a lot better then the iphone, i have seen this in action because i have a friend with an iphone and he broke his iphone 2 and it was to do with crashing.

the graphics are brillian to watch the really good thing about this phone is that you get a controller attached to the phone so if you are a gamer you will enjoy more screen for gaming because there wont be any touch screen controller on the screen.

I give this phone 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 28 October 2012
was lookin at i phones then decided to get something a bit cheaper and went with this phone because i thought it was a different, i actually love the phone itself being able to go up to people and go "can your phone do this!" nope didnt think soo, however it does feel now as the phone is slightly dated that there are not many updates but there are still plenty of aps, i love all the buttons on the phone and the tactile analogues are really cool (once you are use to them), how ever games for it are verry limeted but when a game that uses all the phones buttons is released it's awesome!(recomend downlaoding dead trigger for it, as it's free and uses the analogues), apart from those let downs it's a great phone plenty quick enough for games and music, great phone i like it! psp games are non downlaodable on this phone!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 3 March 2013
This phone , l thought , was getting a little long in the tooth for 2013, l was a bit right but not enough to matter,its a good phone and a good place too play games,,at this reduced price as against an original £400 it is a real steal and well worth a punt ,,lf you allready have lots of android games you will find that a lot ,,,( but not all) work with the gamepad.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 February 2013
Sure, it's not the most powerful phone on the market, but it is capable of doing exactly what I wanted with it: emulators.

Plays GBA games perfectly using GameBoid.
Play PS1 games perfectly with FPSE (paid - worth it)
The build quality is excellent and the gamepad is so useful.

Comes with Android 2.3 (Gingerbread) and Sony's skin. Battery life is bad and Facebook is integrated into everything. If you buy this phone then you MUST root it and freeze (using Titanium Backup) many apps - Google for what should be frozen / removed for Xperia Play.

Easy to flash a new ROM to, I'm using CyanogenMod 9 (Ice Cream Sandwich).

A++ Would buy again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2012
haveing had this phone before i can clearly say its by far the best phone ive ever had, as with any phone its not without its faults and as a reasult they were actually all called back and taken off the shelves, despite that youd easyily get 2-3 years constant useage out of this phone. its by far the easyest phone to use ever and the games run smoothly.
i do STRONGLY advise ignoring those that say to upgrade the memory, ive NEVER known one to pass 8gigs and run smoothly i thought the same at first and upgraded to a 12 gig card, only to find 10 used gigs slowed the phone and even caused it to crash several times, this was the same for other people i know who bought the phone untill the memory usage was dwindled down to around 8gigs.
the battery life is actually very good and did allow me roughly a solid 3 to 4 hours straight on a game which is good considering games on phones now days will give you about 2 hours max ¬_¬
the good by far out weighs the bad on this phone, 10 fold.
5/5 not sure its worth the price but it is the best phone ive ever had.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 1 December 2011
This is my favourite phone ever. The games are run awesome. It feels sturdy and is fun to use. My only criticisms would be the hardware keys on the front and the fact that some of the SE programs start services that run in the background which uses up memory. Dont let these things bother you though. It is worth it and with Ice-cream sandwich coming soon, it will only get better. I just downloaded FIFA 12 and it looks amazing. You wont regret buying this.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 25 November 2011
incredible phone, great weight so its not like holding air, it would be terrible if it wasnt heavy. performs great for gaming, and the 4 inch screen makes it simple for texting and typing. buttons really nicely set out and love the back triggers,they sort of go in and down rather than just in, if you know what i mean! only thing i can say i dont like about the phone is the volume rocker, its in the middle of the phone rather than slighty further up, but that couldnt be avoided with the triggers. all in all the best phone on the market! and with this HUGE discount, i cant recommend anything else!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 August 2013
A decent phone for a short while until it gets a little use. The screen slides out to the side which enables it to play games but the hinges that allow the sliding are terrible and cause the problems with the screen such as it will only light up when it's in a certain spot, which if you're a billionth of a millimeter off then the screen refuses to work. First time round my screen went all distorted like the pixels got rearranged, and after that problem was fixed it started doing the a fore mentioned problem and just refused to light up, and when it did it was extremely dull and had to be held in certain lighting conditions to be seen which is a real pain. Sony Ericsson, suart it art
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.