Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted
I'm a mobile games developer, and a big fan of Android, and had high hopes for this device.

I wasn't disappointed.

I did my research, and had lots of experience with Android devices, so knew their limitations. But when I saw this device drop so drastically in price I couldn't resist. It also helped that my girlfriend had been angling for my current...
Published on 10 Jan 2012 by Mr. J. Brown

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great to start with but the camera has packed up already!
I bought this and it was fine for a while but then it started to do weird things and now the camera has packed up!!!! Not a happy man as I spent 150 on a phone which has gone wrong already.
Published 7 months ago by Jim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I wanted, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. J. Brown "Gurtak" (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
I'm a mobile games developer, and a big fan of Android, and had high hopes for this device.

I wasn't disappointed.

I did my research, and had lots of experience with Android devices, so knew their limitations. But when I saw this device drop so drastically in price I couldn't resist. It also helped that my girlfriend had been angling for my current handset (Samsung Galaxy S - not my first choice!) so I had a good excuse to treat myself too.

PROS:
Good selection of new games - Need for Speed Hot Pursuit is my current favourite
Lots of free or cheap emulators for old consoles optimised for Xperia Play (PSX, Megadrive/Genesis, NES, etc)
It runs Android - an app for every requirement (usually free) nuff said
Android OS has barely been tweaked by Sony - it's very stable
Even does everything a phone needs to - calls, texts, alarm...

CONS:
Not thin - it's got a freakin gamepad, what do you expect?
Battery life is normal for smart phones - one of the best I've had but still two days tops
Whole Playstation certified Android is likely to be a slow start - don't expect too much too soon
Weak PSN account integration at present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars xperia, 21 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
this is one of the best phones i have every owned if you ever get bored just flip up the game pad and then play it is easy to use every thing is easy to find when you pull your fingers together on the main screen i reconmend you buy this phone thank you sony ericsson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sony experia play, 25 July 2012
By 
Neil Lawson (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
haveing had this phone before i can clearly say its by far the best phone ive ever had, as with any phone its not without its faults and as a reasult they were actually all called back and taken off the shelves, despite that youd easyily get 2-3 years constant useage out of this phone. its by far the easyest phone to use ever and the games run smoothly.
i do STRONGLY advise ignoring those that say to upgrade the memory, ive NEVER known one to pass 8gigs and run smoothly i thought the same at first and upgraded to a 12 gig card, only to find 10 used gigs slowed the phone and even caused it to crash several times, this was the same for other people i know who bought the phone untill the memory usage was dwindled down to around 8gigs.
the battery life is actually very good and did allow me roughly a solid 3 to 4 hours straight on a game which is good considering games on phones now days will give you about 2 hours max _
the good by far out weighs the bad on this phone, 10 fold.
5/5 not sure its worth the price but it is the best phone ive ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Ericsson Xpeia Play, 10 Aug 2012
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
I got this phone because it was a really good gaming phone i would recommend phone over the iphone 4 there are many reviews show how this phone is a lot better then the iphone, i have seen this in action because i have a friend with an iphone and he broke his iphone 2 and it was to do with crashing.

the graphics are brillian to watch the really good thing about this phone is that you get a controller attached to the phone so if you are a gamer you will enjoy more screen for gaming because there wont be any touch screen controller on the screen.

I give this phone 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like it!, 28 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
was lookin at i phones then decided to get something a bit cheaper and went with this phone because i thought it was a different, i actually love the phone itself being able to go up to people and go "can your phone do this!" nope didnt think soo, however it does feel now as the phone is slightly dated that there are not many updates but there are still plenty of aps, i love all the buttons on the phone and the tactile analogues are really cool (once you are use to them), how ever games for it are verry limeted but when a game that uses all the phones buttons is released it's awesome!(recomend downlaoding dead trigger for it, as it's free and uses the analogues), apart from those let downs it's a great phone plenty quick enough for games and music, great phone i like it! psp games are non downlaodable on this phone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 1 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
This is my favourite phone ever. The games are run awesome. It feels sturdy and is fun to use. My only criticisms would be the hardware keys on the front and the fact that some of the SE programs start services that run in the background which uses up memory. Dont let these things bother you though. It is worth it and with Ice-cream sandwich coming soon, it will only get better. I just downloaded FIFA 12 and it looks amazing. You wont regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 25 Nov 2011
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
incredible phone, great weight so its not like holding air, it would be terrible if it wasnt heavy. performs great for gaming, and the 4 inch screen makes it simple for texting and typing. buttons really nicely set out and love the back triggers,they sort of go in and down rather than just in, if you know what i mean! only thing i can say i dont like about the phone is the volume rocker, its in the middle of the phone rather than slighty further up, but that couldnt be avoided with the triggers. all in all the best phone on the market! and with this HUGE discount, i cant recommend anything else!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its good., 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
This phone , l thought , was getting a little long in the tooth for 2013, l was a bit right but not enough to matter,its a good phone and a good place too play games,,at this reduced price as against an original 400 it is a real steal and well worth a punt ,,lf you allready have lots of android games you will find that a lot ,,,( but not all) work with the gamepad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great to start with but the camera has packed up already!, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
I bought this and it was fine for a while but then it started to do weird things and now the camera has packed up!!!! Not a happy man as I spent 150 on a phone which has gone wrong already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BAD, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Ericsson Xperia PLAY Sim Free Smart Phone with 8GB Memory Card (Electronics)
Sluggish, lacking in games, fails to make use of the game pad. The way to get the most out of this device is to download an emulator and play SNES games or some N64. Battery life is poor, barely lasts the day with medium use and with wifi/data plan further decreases the power bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa845ea08)

This product

Only search this product's reviews