Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but get Shrek's Thrilling Tales
Its fantastic for Shrek fans but I suggest buying the Shrek's Thrilling Tales which includes Scared Shrekless plus much much more. Can be picked up for about the same price.
Published 14 months ago by claire

versus
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet
I bought Scared Shrekless from a supermarket because at the time the Region 2-PAL version was not available on Amazon UK. Well, now I see that it is, so here's my take on it.

The first thing you need to know is how short it is - just 24 minutes, and I think that includes the end credits. There's virtually nothing else on the DVD other than the film itself, just...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by OEJ


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 10 Oct 2011
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
I bought Scared Shrekless from a supermarket because at the time the Region 2-PAL version was not available on Amazon UK. Well, now I see that it is, so here's my take on it.

The first thing you need to know is how short it is - just 24 minutes, and I think that includes the end credits. There's virtually nothing else on the DVD other than the film itself, just trailers for two other films (Kung Fu Panda 2 & the forthcoming Puss in Boots) and the stage musical Shrek. Subtitles English only. No extras at all - the 'Thriller Night' shown on the US-NTSC version is not included, whatever it is. It's tempting to suggest that the US import might be better value, then, but as I haven't seen it I can't be sure.

Basically it's a collection of (obviously) short stories designed to scare Shrek, as told by the likes of Donkey, the Gingerbread Man and Pinocchio. Shrek himself doesn't feature much. The quality of the animation is excellent and on a par with anything that has gone before in this series. The stories are loosely based on classic films such as Bride of Frankenstein, Psycho and The Exorcist.

It's funny and had the children laughing throughout. It's just so........short! There's nothing to complain about what you get, it's simply that there isn't very much of it and as soon as it ends the children are likely to look at each other and go "Oh. That was quick". It's not exactly brand-new either, being released in the US in 2010 (i.e. about a year earlier) but only just becoming available in the UK in October 2011 for the first time.

We've got all the full-length Shrek films on DVD and each one has been watched a zillion times. This cut-down variant won't be watched that often, I feel. For die-hard Shrek fans only, I'd say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UK-PAL comments, 3 Oct 2011
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I bought Scared Shrekless from a supermarket but it doesn't seem to be available on Amazon yet, at least not the UK-PAL version. So I'm posting this review here as the only option open. Yes, I know it's not the same product but hopefully it will be helpful to anyone thinking of buying the UK DVD.

The first thing you need to know is how short it is - just 24 minutes. There's virtually nothing else on the DVD other than the film itself, just trailers for two other films (Kung Fu Panda 2 & the forthcoming Puss in Boots) and the stage musical Shrek. Subtitles English only. No extras at all - the 'Thriller Night' shown on the US-NTSC version is not included, whatever it is.

Basically it's a collection of (obviously) short stories designed to scare Shrek, as told by the likes of Donkey, the Gingerbread Man and Pinocchio. Shrek himself doesn't feature much. The quality of the animation is excellent and on a par with anything that has gone before in this series. The stories are loosely based on classic films such as Bride of Frankenstein, Psycho and The Excorcist.

It's funny and had the children laughing throughout. It's just so........short! It's not that new either, being released in the US in 2010 but only just becoming available in the UK in October 2011 for the first time.

We've got all the full-length Shrek films on DVD and each one has been watched a zillion times. This cut-down variant won't be watched that often, I feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but get Shrek's Thrilling Tales, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
Its fantastic for Shrek fans but I suggest buying the Shrek's Thrilling Tales which includes Scared Shrekless plus much much more. Can be picked up for about the same price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic!!, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
Classic film featuring everyone's favourite Ogre, that is Shrek!! definitely one to be watched over and over again!! family favourite!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
Brill film would recomend to anyone child or adult great family film came well rapped and secure good packaging aswel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The kids love it!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
Everyone enjoyed it! Great following up the the movies. its worth adding to the movie collection. really funny. I'm pleased we have own it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
I love shrek more that my kids i would say but I expected a bit more scary action that this and my kids would agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 22 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
very happy with this item shame about the post and packageing costs they were expenscive on this item as it only costed me a penny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
great film son loved it only problem was not long enough lol but soon liked it

4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars kidtastic, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scared Shrekless (DVD)
bought this for my kids and they love it a nice installment for any shrek fans out there would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scared Shrekless
Scared Shrekless by Gary Trousdale (DVD)
2.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews