Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a definition of cult-classic, 'Repo Man' is it!!
I grew up watching the fantastic BBC-TV programme 'Moviedrome', which was basically director Alex Cox introducing favourite films in his own quirky style including 'Something Wild','Carnival of Souls' & 'Django Kill!' I enjoyed Cox's own films, 'Sid and Nancy','Highway Patrolman' & the classic 'Walker' - but it's 'Repo Man' that remains my favourite work of his thus...
Published on 5 Jun 2005 by Jason Parkes

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're a white suburban punk just like me.
There's no doubt that this film is worthy of cult status, and to many this is one of those all-time-classics. For me though, it's a good film, but doesn't quite hit the mark as a great film.

Some elements of the film are beautifully done; the generic packaging of food products, the bleak urban feel, and the seemingly apathy to violence and death make for a...
Published on 26 Mar 2008 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want a definition of cult-classic, 'Repo Man' is it!!, 5 Jun 2005
By 
Jason Parkes "We're all Frankies'" (Worcester, UK) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I grew up watching the fantastic BBC-TV programme 'Moviedrome', which was basically director Alex Cox introducing favourite films in his own quirky style including 'Something Wild','Carnival of Souls' & 'Django Kill!' I enjoyed Cox's own films, 'Sid and Nancy','Highway Patrolman' & the classic 'Walker' - but it's 'Repo Man' that remains my favourite work of his thus far...
The only film as odd as this to come out of a major Hollywood-studio was the same year's 'The Adventures of Buckaroo Banzai Across the Eighth Dimension'- which makes an ideal double-bill with this! 'Repo Man' is science-fiction, though science-fiction in a manner not unlike Jean-Luc Godard's 'Alphaville' (1965). As Godard's film used contemporary Paris as a future dystopia, so you get the feeling that Cox did the same to downtown-LA (the locale of its setting is often noted as an infleunce on 'Pulp Fiction', as well as Dennis Hopper's underrated 'Colors' & the charming 'Falling Down').
'Repo Man' offers an 80s-take on dystopia, a post-Reagonomic consumer-hell where dope-smoking baby-boomer parents are hypnotised by the TV, where nihilistic punks steal & where a strange man drives around with a neutron-bomb in the boot of his car, that the FBI are after as part of a wider UFO-conspiracy! Amid all this is Otto, your average punk-loser, who after his girlfriend cheats on him and he gets sacked from his supermarket job (note the way the products are labelled 'beer','london gin' etc- a conceit John Lydon nicked for PIL's 'Album' in 1986)- crossing paths with Bud (Harry Dean Stanton), who is a 'Repo Man'...
The film is an absolute trip from there, nodding to scientology, apocalypse, 'A Clockwork Orange'(the speeded-up sex scene in the car nods to another rapidly delivered sex scene in Kubrick's film), US-punk (The Circle Jerks appear as a band in a bar-scene), UFOs (pre-X-Files & Men in Black), 'Kiss Me Deadly' (the glowing mystery in the boot- another thing that turned up in 'Pulp Fiction'!)& William Burroughs (listen out in the hospital scene for a reference to Dr Benway, a major character from 'The Naked Lunch'!) There's also a great tunnel-shot that would recur in Jim Jarmusch's 'Ghost Dog: The Way of the Samurai'- probably as it shared the same cinematographer Robby Muller (most famous for his work with Wim Wenders).
There's not a film like 'Repo Man', which is charmingly odd and improves with every viewing like the aforementioned 'Buckaroo Banzai', Godard's 'Weekend', Rafelson's 'Head' & Linklater's 'Slacker.' It also belongs to an interesting breed of US-filmmaking - ironic, post-modern, alternative, and should be regarded alongside 'Suburbia','The Decline of Western Civilisation','Rumble Fish','Stranger Than Paradise','River's Edge','Out of the Blue' & 'Heathers'. Noy one for fans of the Brat Pack, though ironically the lead is best known for 'The Breakfast Club' & 'St Elmo's Fire' (what went wrong???)Look out for a cameo from former Monkee Mike Nesmith, who also produced it...
"I blame society..." !!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Repossess this ASAP!, 3 July 2003
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A DVD version of this grossly underrated cult film is long overdue. I managed to get my hands on an advance copy last week & I've watched it four times since.
Anyone reading this review is probably a fan so I wont go into too much detail about what happens, but for those new to the film here is a rundown of the events: The story follows geeky no-hoper Otto, a disenfranchised teen punk in 1980's America who takes a job as a car repossessor because he's broke. He ends up on the trail of a Chevy Malibu along with a host of other irreverent & interesting characters, the very people who give this film it's deadpan humour.
The film is intended to reflect the feeling of loneliness and alienation that a whole generation of Americans suffered under the Reagan administration and it is a complete success. Director Alex Cox uses distant camerawork & large sets, along with bizzare country & Western style music to great effect.
Emilio Estevez is perfect for the role of Otto, he acts with a real flippancy that many actors would struggle with. He is completely believable as the obtrusive and uncaring repo man and he tackles the role with the neccessary lack of enthusiasm. It is Harry Dean Stanton though who steals the show as the bitter and strung out Bud, a time-seved Repo Man who takes Otto under his wing. The supporting cast also add to the experience and provide many a good gag.
The DVD extras are the reason that this doesnt get 5* here. I was dissappointed with what was on offer, but dont let that put you off what is a brilliant film experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You're a white suburban punk just like me., 26 Mar 2008
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
There's no doubt that this film is worthy of cult status, and to many this is one of those all-time-classics. For me though, it's a good film, but doesn't quite hit the mark as a great film.

Some elements of the film are beautifully done; the generic packaging of food products, the bleak urban feel, and the seemingly apathy to violence and death make for a great dystopian atmosphere. This means that although the film is filmed/set in the 1980's, it has a futuristic look to it, almost like Mad Max.

The dystopia is developed further as the main characters have little or no ambition, whenever someone discusses what they want from life it's never anything more than committing crime or becoming a `fry chef' in a fast food place. The masses are pacified by television, brainwashed into giving money to the TV Evangelists. The radiation affected Parnell launches into an insane tirade, during which he mentions a friend who worked on the neutron bomb and how working on something so immoral can drive a man insane. This is dark, it's also a prod in the morals.

Other than Otto and Bud, the characters seem pretty two-dimensional, but they are entertaining. At one point there's a good camaraderie between the two, but the pathos seems to get lost somewhere and by the end of the film I cared little for any of the characters.

In a nutshell: Well worthy of a watch - you'll either love this film or you'll feel pretty neutral to it. I'm in the latter camp. There are some fantastic ideas, and these are often implemented in an understated way so as not to seem gimmicky or obvious. I appreciated what is being said, and I tend to agree, but I think it could have been said better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest movie I've ever seen?, 28 Aug 2000
By 
This review is from: Repo Man [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ever since I first saw this movies it's always been one of my favourites.
Full of laughs, bad suits, one-liners, punks and weirdness. Is it just a movie? I like to think of it more as a life mission statement.
In fact there is absolutely nothing that could be improved in this movie - its perfect. (It's also cheap so take the risk!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure class, 10 Mar 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
A film I watched many times in the late 80's and rediscovered recently.

A classic. Great soundtrack, some incredible set piece scenes with a wierd sense of humour.
It's the cult film that defines cult films for me - you can watch it over and over and keep spotting clever details, or you can sit back and be blasted by the soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little-known gem, 26 Dec 2009
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I first came across this film on Alex Cox's Moviedrome series on TV. I'm certainly glad I did as this quirky film has kept me amused again and again. The addition of the science fiction wierdness to the harshness of the repo man's life gives a very entertaining mix that I have not seen repeated in any other film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Repo Man..., 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
...of course it gets 5 stars. If you have not seen Repo Man, get to it. If you have only seen Repo Man under ten times, you need to watch it another 50 before you can call yourself a normal person.

Pros: It's Repo Man

Cons: Harry Dean Stanton cannot live forever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life for a Repo Man's always intense..., 13 July 2012
By 
L. Davidson (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I first watched "Repo Man" in the mid 1980's and when I saw a DVD of the film in HMV at a bargain price I snapped it up quickly to watch again 30 years later. The film has aged reasonably well. It is a punky,cult classic full of unhinged characters, random events and a crazy plot. A young Emelio Estevez gets recruited by Harry Dean Stanton to be a trainee repo man and as he goes about his new job, he gets embroiled in a bizarre storyline involving aliens as the film goes totally off the wall. "Repo Man" is a deliciously random and original movie that I enjoyed watching again all those years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repo Man Repossessed, 17 April 2012
By 
Phil C (Nuneaton, Warwickshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Repo Man [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
From a distance of a couple of decades, "Repo Man" remains a film with attitude: In part a portrait of gritty urban reality, in part a whacked-out fantasy - Emilio Estevez's Otto goes on a strange journey from street punk to car repossessor to discoverer of extra-terrestrial life. Harry Dean Stanton's hard-bitten portrayal of his senior partner in the repo business threatens to steal the film, but the tone is less "Taxi Driver" and more "Shaun Of The Dead", ordinary people being forced into extraordinary situations and actions with an often vicious and anarchic sense of humour thrown in for good measure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky and Cool., 21 Mar 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Repo Man [Masters of Cinema] [Blu-ray] [1984] (Blu-ray)
I used to enjoy BBC2's Moviedrome cult film offerings back in the late eighties which was hosted by the director Alex Cox, although the movies were not actually chosen by him. These films did pose the question "but what exactly is cult?". Cox himself comes into the cult bracket. He eschews Hollywood conventions and concentrates on the anarchic and eccentric elements of human nature. He works on a shoestring budget and his films sometimes have the look of a home movie. Now you can still do all this and make a poor film, but Cox to his credit seldom makes a truly bad film. When offered the chance to drink from Hollywood's moneyspinning poison chalice he sticks to his own absurdist visions.

This son of Liverpool now resident in the US brings all his offbeat talents to bear in his astonishing writer/directorial punk debut film "Repo Man"(1984). The film is pretty difficult to give a synopsis on. It has a surreal plot involving the CIA, aliens, some incompetent Mohican stick up guys and a motley crew of repossession men, ie legally sanctioned car thieves. Emilio Estevez is the young punk who is drawn into their circle by the lure of money. Things then get kinda weird and crazy, but even so there are a lot of savvy jokes at the expense of Ronald Reagan's America. Cox wears his heart on his sleeve and puts plenty of attitude into proceedings. The film which is full of foul mouthed tirades may not be everyones cup of tea, and there will be those who fail to see the joke, but then Cox is the sort of political director who will always divide audiences. Cox put together a very decent ensemble cast and got some fine performances out of Harry Dean Stanton, Estevez and Sy Richardson. The film also adds some nice oddball touches. Look at the branding of items like beer cans and the final credits to see what I mean! Cox even pays homage to his beloved spaghetti westerns in one scene where Stanton remarks in a shop "its too quiet", queue the Mohicans. Masters of Cinema have given this film a new lease of life, and deservedly so. Cox himself gives his usual idiosyncratic introduction to the film, something he has done for other DVD's over the years. This is the sort of offering that appeals to wannabe film buffs like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Repo Man [Masters of Cinema] [Blu-ray] [1984]
£14.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews