Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting documentary about the greatest band on earth
Great documentary about the greatest band on earth.
Taking the viewer back and forth between the Joshua Tree years up to now...seeing how US saw all those years and all those changes, getting a glimps at how it's like to do music when you're U2 .
At one point I'd wished the film to last on and on, to just jump onto the recording studio and start playing with...
Published 23 months ago by AO

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very boring documentary about the worst band on earth
This is about Tongue Beppe the album Ewe Chew made about the Eastenders character who Bonio was obsessed with years ago when all he did was watch telly and eat burgers and curries.
It's a concept album in the vein of Emerson Lake and Palmer.
The documentary follows Bonio around for a day and he ends up in a sex shop in Berlin eating kebabs and chips and talking...
Published 7 months ago by Kim Fowley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting documentary about the greatest band on earth, 12 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Great documentary about the greatest band on earth.
Taking the viewer back and forth between the Joshua Tree years up to now...seeing how US saw all those years and all those changes, getting a glimps at how it's like to do music when you're U2 .
At one point I'd wished the film to last on and on, to just jump onto the recording studio and start playing with them.
Hope to see more of similar films about them and their music !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, 18 Aug. 2012
By 
T. KELLY "timjkelly23" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
U2 know their last 2 albums were not very good. This was the time to go back and explain the making of the brilliant Achtung Baby. I wont go into detail because you should really own this Documentary. Its a very honest account from one of the biggest bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great documentary!!, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
great documentary about one of the best albums of all time!! the only dissapointment is that it spends alot of time on u2s past and not enough about the album itself!! but it's good to see u2 from recently giving some of the tracks a makeover and very interesting to hear their views on their work!! not really enough about the making of the album though!! not excellent but in my opinion very good!! worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Documentry!, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Very well thought out piece of film making and interesting insight into one of the worlds most enduring bands. A real pleasure to watch, and loved the bit about Bono's approach to song writing!
Well worth getting if your a fan, or know someone who is! (They'll be your biggest fan if you do! :-) )
Only gripe is coverage of Glastonbury performance; there wasn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
This documentary took me back in time. I have followed U2's career since I was a little girl when my older brother was given "Boy" as a casette tape for Christmas in 1980. The film was very interesting as it gave the viewer some sort of insight in the making of Achtung Baby and the difficulties the band was going through at the time. Maybe that's why I consider Achtung Baby their "darkest" album. And maybe, the most beautiful one in many ways...(no, I am not forgetting The Unforgettable Fire and/or The Joshua Tree:-))
I have just received U22 today - a cool 2 cd set with clear crisp sound even though it's live recordings (from the 360 tour)- I love it! Somehow "From The Sky Down and U22 have made me re-discover U2 and I will definately go and see them again next time they come around even if they don't come to Denmark - I've travelled elsewhere to see them before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5star U2, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
How could I rate it but anything else, when I'm a big U2 fan?! Bought it for a friend who is a fan too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Peek Behind The Curtain., 9 Sept. 2012
By 
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
Originally included in the Super and Über Deluxe "Achtung Baby" 20th Anniversary editons,"From The Sky Down",now released separately on DVD and BluRay with a few extras,seems tantalising at first. Beginning with the band about to take the stage at Glastonbury 2011,you are soon taken back in time to the world of Berlin just after the wall came down and join the main collaborators as they reminisce about one of U2's classic albums. As other reviewers have written,it would spoil any potential viewing to go into too much detail regarding this documentary about "Achtung Baby". So I'll keep my words brief and offer an opinion.

Personal? Yes. Informative? Yes & no. Does it reveal anything you don't already know? Yes,but not as much as a devoted fan would want. If you're looking for a classic album style doco like the one for "The Joshua Tree",you won't find that kind of detail here. Maybe the film makers were told what they can/can't talk about or have decided on giving a casual insight into the U2 creative process that would appeal to general audiences as well as fans. Interspersed with interviews and a few modern day performances,for me,it all seems too brief and sanitised. When it finished I thought.."is that all there is?". We're talking about one of the most influential albums of the last 30 years so I did expect more info than what is revealed here. Even if some of the content is rare and previously unseen you feel like there is so much more that U2 don't want you to see or discuss. I guess we can't expect them to give away any trade secrets but to finish the doco's timeline pretty much when the album was released and to only briefly mention the massive tour that was ZooTv,it feels like I've just watched part one of a two part series Then again,I do love this kind of fly-on-the-wall stuff about music so maybe I'm just expecting too much. As the film ends and the credits roll you zoom forward in time to where it began and see their opening number at Glastonbury,"Even Better Than The Real Thing",bringing you back to the 21st century.

"From The Sky Down" is very enjoyable if not essential viewing for U2 fans. If you're into how musicians craft and create their work,you'll pick up a few pointers but U2,even though they're very proud of this album,give me the impression they don't want to talk about it too much. Just a little peek behind the curtain then please move on to the next window.

"Sweetheart,You're So Cruel!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making of a classic, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
very good insight into the making of the classic album- Actung baby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful documentary on the workings of a major rock band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's U2 no more to be said, 12 Dec. 2014
By 
Finbarr Smyth "macfisto" (eire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011] (DVD)
It's U2 no more to be said
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From The Sky Down [DVD] [2011]
£7.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews