Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOE WILL ALWAYS BE A CLASSIC
Another great album Joe.
His voice suited the classics "Marys Boy Child", "When a Child is Born" and "White Christmas", beautiful vocals.
He treated the traditional carols with respect and just sang them wonderfully.
The duet with Rolando was superb, Joe must have Rolando's respect when he is willing to appear on his CD.
An excellent version of "Last...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by Mr. R. Taylor

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Joe McElderry Christmas Album
This is a pleasant selection of semi-classical and Christmas songs. It confirms my opinion that Joe has considerable potential, but his voice needs to mature rather more if he is to become a true 'opera star'. At present he lacks the force and depth of a Domingo or Boe. Given a good singing teacher and if he submits to the rigorous training required, he may well make...
Published on 12 Jan 2012 by Baz


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JOE WILL ALWAYS BE A CLASSIC, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. R. Taylor "Arial Black" (Blyth. Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
Another great album Joe.
His voice suited the classics "Marys Boy Child", "When a Child is Born" and "White Christmas", beautiful vocals.
He treated the traditional carols with respect and just sang them wonderfully.
The duet with Rolando was superb, Joe must have Rolando's respect when he is willing to appear on his CD.
An excellent version of "Last Xmas", I hope he does well with it if he decides to bring it out as a single.
He has even managed to give the ever popular Christmas songs such as "I Believe in Father Christmas" and "Driving Home for Christmas" a new modern twist. I especially like the new upbeat feel of "Driving home for Christmas".
In all, another super album, his second in only three months.
Well Done joe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Gem of an Album!, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
The perfect 'Must Have' accompaniment to your Christmas!
Many Christmas albums are brought out at this time of year but this is really special,, Joe has already proved to be an accomplished and highly talented vocalist..far from the 'run of the mill, here today gone tomorrow' type of artist..This album is heads above others of this ilk and stands testimony of young Joe Mcelderry's amazing and incredible talent.. and he is only twenty..and for me,by far the best singer to have come out of the X Factor stable!

*Might I just add..Gold for Wide Awake, Double Gold for Classic, and Gold already for this album speaks volumes about the talent and likeability of this young charismatic man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Joe McElderry Classic Christmas CD, 29 Nov 2011
By 
Kay Shepherd (Walderslade, Chaham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
I bought this for my self to listen to in the weeks coming up to Christmas and would recommend it to anyone. Joe has a lovely voice and sings some lovely Christmas classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Christmas Album, 3 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
This album is glorious to listen to. Much like Joe's album Classic, it is hard to pick out a favourite track, they are all so perfect. The duet with Rolando, 'O Holy Night' is delightful, their voices really complement each other
The Northumbrian pipes used on 'In the Bleak Midwinter' and 'Little Drummer Boy' give another aspect to these well loved carols, but it is Joe's wonderfully melodic voice which stands out on this album.
I had the pleasure of seeing Joe perform on his recent tour and he was outstanding. I wish Joe every success with this album and many more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 29 Nov 2011
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
An amazing CD from beginning to end, not the same old song choice, with some tradition songs thrown in as well for good measure. Can see it becoming the soundtrack to my Christmas <3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feel the magic, 1 Dec 2011
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
A great mix of traditional carols and festive favourites, all given new life by the Joe treatment - wonderful vocals and some inspired arrangements. There's a lovely version of 'Santo natale', and my personal favourites also include the evocative 'In the bleak midwinter' and the breathtaking 'O holy night' which features Rolando Villazon. There's not a bad track on the whole album - even 'Driving home for Christmas' (probably my least favourite Christmas song ever) is given a fresh, new twist. The production on this album is extremely good, it doesn't sound hastily chucked out (even if it was!), and Joe's beautiful voice sounds stronger than ever. Another superb offering from this lovely lad. Merry Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHUCKA CHUCKA CHUCKA, 30 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
To quote Rolando who duets with Joe on Oh Holy Night.

Hard to believe there could be a fresh interpretation of songs we know inside out and back to front but here you have it.
Joe has a clear relaxing voice and sings all the songs perfectly.
Great complementation from Rolando and choirs on some of the tracks and great orchestral backing with styles ranging from big band to Gaelic and Jazz.
This is one Christmas album you will never tire of hearing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas Magic, 29 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
What a "Fresh" touch Joe McElderry has put on some Classic Christmas Songs & a Wonderful interpretation of lesser known Classics..
Joe's warmth & charming personality are reflected in his Vocals & if this Album doesn't put you in the Christmas Mood nothing ever will...
It's hard to believe, because Joe in winning the 2009 XFactor, has always had a Beautiful & easy to listen to Voice but over the past 2 Years his Voice & his lyric interpretation have grown immensely...
This Album & his previous Album "Classic" both capture Joe's Singing Style so much more then his 1st Album "Wide Awake"...
This "Classic Christmas" Album will touch all ages from 6 to 80...
Once you start playing this Album you won't be able to stop...
Bob, Palm Springs, Ca. USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great album for Christmas, 11 Dec 2011
By 
D. King (Sevenoaks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
Having bought his Classic album a month ago I thought I'd try this as I think Joe has a fantastic voice. The standout track amongst all the others is Driving Home For Christmas. What a voice, very well done Joe. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Josie, 8 Dec 2011
By 
J. Harris "music fan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Classic Christmas (Audio CD)
I bought this album and I love it.
It has a good mix of Classic Christmas songs as well some more uptempo Christmas songs.
My favourites are I Believe In Father Christmas, Driving Home For Christma and When A Child Is Born, but I can't help but be moved by the beautifully sung Silent Night on this album.

A good buy and an album that will be played for many years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Christmas
Classic Christmas by Joe McElderry (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews