Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is the Ultimate Musicals Album! Great gift and value.
I originally bought this for my Nan for Christmas but I've kept this one for myself and bought another for her! I can't believe the value - 8.49 for 38 of the best Musical songs over 2 CDs. It truly is the ultimate collection with all the classics such as 'Singin' in the Rain', 'Oklahoma', 'I Dreamed a Dream', 'Over the Rainbow' and so many others. Sometimes you get...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Miss S. Hocking

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Error on disc 2
I have found exactly the same problem as jayvee(see reveiw) in that on disc 2 track 6 plays as stranger in paradise(instead of big spendor),and also plays stranger in paradise again at track 11.Interestingly on the Amazon track listing reveiw,when playing track 6 big spendor, it also plays stranger in paradise!I can only conclude this is a mistake that covers all the...
Published on 27 Dec 2011 by Gary S


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really is the Ultimate Musicals Album! Great gift and value., 22 Nov 2011
By 
Miss S. Hocking (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
I originally bought this for my Nan for Christmas but I've kept this one for myself and bought another for her! I can't believe the value - 8.49 for 38 of the best Musical songs over 2 CDs. It truly is the ultimate collection with all the classics such as 'Singin' in the Rain', 'Oklahoma', 'I Dreamed a Dream', 'Over the Rainbow' and so many others. Sometimes you get collections and they miss out the best songs or have rubbish covers but there are so many of the original artists on here like Elaine Paige and the original cast of Billy Elliot. There are some very good versions of the classics too such as Katherine Jenkins. A fresh twist on great original classics.

I am absolutely thrilled with this purchase. The perfect gift for Christmas for any Musical lover or in fact any music lover in general as there are some absolute beautiful classics on here sung by some of the best artists. Buy one now whilst it's at this great price, I promise you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Error on disc 2, 27 Dec 2011
By 
Gary S (cornwall, u.k.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
I have found exactly the same problem as jayvee(see reveiw) in that on disc 2 track 6 plays as stranger in paradise(instead of big spendor),and also plays stranger in paradise again at track 11.Interestingly on the Amazon track listing reveiw,when playing track 6 big spendor, it also plays stranger in paradise!I can only conclude this is a mistake that covers all the recordings that have been produced.This is particularly disappointing as the discs are produced by DECCA,one of the most respected recording studios.
Having said all that,the discs contain some good material and are well recorded.
I own many hundreds of cds and have never had such a mistake on a cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Listening, 28 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
Very much easy listening with many popular numbers sung by well known artistes.
My initial copy was faulty-one track being omitted and replaced by a duplicate of another track.Report to Amazon brought the usual very prompt response and replacement. The replacement is perfect and being enjoyed greatly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music of the Night, 6 Jan 2012
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
I bought this album for my husband as one of his Christmas presents. The album was delivered well in time for Christmas so no complaints there.

The album has some really good songs although not all by the original artists. We played it for the first time on New Year's Day. Unfortunately some of the tracks towards the end of the first disc are 'jumping'. I have considered sending it back to Amazon as faulty but I don't have the packaging; whereas if I'd purchased from a store I would certainly have taken it back for an exchange.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Error on Disc 2, 26 Dec 2011
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
On Disc 2 Track 6 there is an error. It shows on the Cover and the Booklet as being BIG SPENDER - Sweet Charity when in actual fact it is STRANGER IN PARADISE. STRANGER ON PARADISE also plays as Track 11 on the same CD.

I would ask you check your CD,s in Stock as this is defeinately an error in the recordiong of this CD

Very disappointed in this Error
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars There is a serious recording error on Disc 2, 14 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
I had this collection bought for me for Christmas and I should love it, because I love musicals.

Here goes with the errors on Disc 2:

Big Spender is missing and we get Stranger in Paradise (without an ending).

Here comes Climb Ev'ry Mountain and now all we get is an ending.

Consider Yourself is missing and we get Some Enchanted Evening again.

You'll Never Walk Alone is missing and we get As If We Never Said Goodbye again.

I Dreamed A Dream is missing and we get Summertime again.

Now another version of Climb Ev'ry Mountain, but still only the ending.

Then another Any Dream Will Do!

Just a minute, now we get Consider Yourself!

Here comes You'll Never Walk Alone!

It turns out that most tracks are there (some of them twice!) but for the full version of Climb Ev'ry Mountain, which is a pity as Lesley Garrett does a beautiful job from what I've heard. Plus Big Spender, which I'm less fussed about.

What a mess! This should be a fabulous recording and the first disc is perfect but really, something has gone badly amiss with the production of this CD.

Update - my husband has just taken this back to the shop and they have given him a refund without any trouble. However, this is the first complaint they have had, which surprises me. I suggest people check their copies of Disc 2 and, if there is an error, don't suffer in silence. Return them and then maybe Decca will come up with a corrected copy of this otherwise lovely collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like musicals you'll love this., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
Delightful!! Why say more when one word sums it up!! Too many words to say what one will do. O.K. GORGEOUS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 17 Mar 2013
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
After reading the reviews for this compilation, which I have just listened to after getting as a christmas present (2011) I am relieved that it is not only my Disc 2 that has a major error (Track 6 = Track 11) and also I did wonder about Climb every mountain thinking it was a rather short song (under 1.30). There are a number of pleasant surprises on the disc. Defying Gravity is the major one (loved it), and also Electricity (Disc 1.) Other highlights include Consider yourself, Music of the Night, I know him so well and Mama who bore me. It's a shame about Track 6, because even though I counted 23 immediately likeable tracks (out of 37) it's a very good compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Duplicated tracks, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
Beware there are duplicate tracks on CD 2 with track 6 and 11 being the same song. Otherwise this is not a bad album for show lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vi CD - An Dulan, 21 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album (Audio CD)
Superb CD of pleasant music which my wife loves to play filling the house with the excellent sounds while she relaxes or works at home. Good purchase on my part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album
Music Of The Night - The Ultimate Musicals Album by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews