Customer Reviews


524 Reviews
5 star:
 (370)
4 star:
 (94)
3 star:
 (38)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trafficked by Sophie Hayes
This is a brilliant book, written with strong feeling and courage by a woman trafficked from the UK to mainland Europe by a man posing as her friend. It is a must-read, because although the subject of Human Trafficking is gaining momentum, and the message is getting out there that this really does happen, there is very little information about British girls or women being...
Published on 8 Mar. 2012 by Jo

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Truly heartbreaking
I found this book truly sad, that a girl could be so conditioned to believe exactly what she was told and to allow herself to be brainwashed and forced into this life. I disagree with reviewers who say that this is a book of fantasy and exageration, and think this is a real insult to Sophie who has been strong enough to write this book and get her life back on track...
Published on 7 Sept. 2012 by Doris


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trafficked by Sophie Hayes, 8 Mar. 2012
This is a brilliant book, written with strong feeling and courage by a woman trafficked from the UK to mainland Europe by a man posing as her friend. It is a must-read, because although the subject of Human Trafficking is gaining momentum, and the message is getting out there that this really does happen, there is very little information about British girls or women being trafficked.

Please read it and tell your friends and family about it.......everyone needs to know about this awful crime that has been under the radar for too long and is, finally, being brought out into the open.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading, 5 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Kindle Edition)
Reading this at first, it was hard to see how anyone could get suckered into the life which befell Sophie and hard to understand why she didn't tell someone, or make her escape, despite the threats to harm her family. However, gradually, you come to realise that this is how scum like Kas, the trafficker, operate - they completely brainwash their victims and wear them down, having first wormed their way into their affections. It's a truly dreadful story and one which should be told loud and clear, in order to stop other girls suffering Sophie's pain and distress.The aftermath of an experience like this must be horrendous - it must take years to get your mind back to normal, if ever, and you have to feel for Sophie and her family.

The story was a little repetitive at times, and I admit to skimming the pages occasionally - maybe I just didn't want to open my eyes to everything that happened to this poor girl. This book is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trafficked A MUST, 5 Feb. 2012
Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade

I have been aware and involved in anti trafficking for over 4 years, but this book gives a whole insight into the way a victim can be groomed, broken down and controlled. Brought tears to my eyes.
I have had the privilege of meeting with Sophie, and after reading this have EVEN more respect for her. Sophie to be able to come through this and then face and move on from all that happened, SO proud of you!
If you have you know trafficking happens, if you think no not in England then this book a must.
And for every teenage girl, let them read, really this could be a life saver.
At times you may need to pinch yourself as it is a true story.
Thanks Sophie for sharing your heart, your story, truly compelling and thanks for charities like Stop the Trafik
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


121 of 128 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-breaking and courageous, 27 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Kindle Edition)
Last year I wrote Trafficked: The Diary of a Sex Slave to try and raise awareness about trafficking, so after my research for it I was expecting a lot of the horrific ordeal that Sophie describes in her book, but many others will not be. The truly scary thing is that trafficking is a huge global problem, and yet many people aren't aware of it, or they often assume that it happens just to people from poor countries. Sophie's story shows this isn't the case. She is an educated British woman who, like a lot of us, had emotional baggage that made her more vulnerable. She put her trust in the wrong person. A mistake that was a tragedy for her and could've cost her life. It proves that a normal person who accidentally slips up could be in the same situation. It could happen to you, or your daughter, or your sister, or your wife. In fact, it's going on under your nose right now. That woman working on a street corner or in a sauna or massage parlour that you see every day could be trafficked. That's why Sophie's story is so important, and together, we can all do something to raise awareness.

This subject is hardly ever in the media so I applaud Sophie for having the strength and courage to share her story, and break the common misconceptions that surround trafficking. Victims hardly ever speak out because they're threatened that their families will be killed. Often they cannot escape because they are brainwashed into believing their captors and they don't know who to trust. Their lives are a living hell.

You will cry while reading Sophie's heart-breaking story, and you will feel disgusted, sick, and angry, but it's a story that needs to be read. No one should have to go through this, and I hope this book and the work she's doing with Stop the Traffik will aid her healing process. She's a truly courageous and inspiring woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 22 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Kindle Edition)
I ordered this book after watching Sophie on This Morning. This is a heartbreaking true story. Sophie describes in some detail what happened to her, I am sure there was a lot more she could have said but feel that it was kept just right. I read this book in one day as I was unable to put it down. Knowing that this had actually happened to another human being is heartbreaking and unthinkable! I cried whilst reading this book, but felt at the end Sophie had moved on so, so far from this dreadful period in her life, and really showed herself to be a truely remarkable person!

Trafficking doesn't just happen to a sterotype as this book proves. Sophie is a truely remarkable lady and I hope that this book might in some way help her move on from this terrible and unthinkable experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Think it will never happen to you, or your daughter? Think again!!, 5 Mar. 2012
Sex Trafficking is a Crime Against Humanity! Yet this criminal enterprise is an under-reported abomination that is shrouded in shadow and secrecy. Very few people are even aware that Human Trafficking, or Sex Trafficking, even exist; let alone that combined, they are the second largest criminal enterprise on our planet. Those in the west, that are aware, suffer from the misconception that only those in third world and impoverished countries are at risk. The truth as evidenced by Sophie's harrowing account, is that it can happen to anyone, anytime, anywhere!

I am in awe of Sophie. After escaping her brutal enslavement, she could very easily have faded into the obscurity of perpetual victim-hood, her story forever buried under a mountain of shame and psychological damage. Yet this young women has had the courage and strength to share her very personal account with the world. Sophie's narrative shines a very personal and focused light into the shadowy world of sex trafficking, thus bringing invaluable awareness to the rest of us. Her book will, I believe, make a profound difference in this world, by giving insight, and spreading awareness.

You will be shocked, you will cry, you will be very very angry, and at times you may feel extremely uncomfortable reading Sophie's words, but this is a story that had to be told, one that must be read, and should shared with everyone.

This is a book that every young woman, indeed, every parent, ought to read.

I applaud Sophie's strength and bravery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read for everyone, 23 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book after watching Sophie on the TV. I couldn't put the book down. What I was reading was unimaginable and what a brave individual Sophie is. This really isn't the sort of book I would normally read but I will say this - Buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An important, heartbreaking, awareness-raising read, 9 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Trafficked: The Terrifying True Story of a British Girl Forced into the Sex Trade (Kindle Edition)
This frank, hones account doesn't have to try to have a huge impact on the reader. It isn't written to shock or impress, but simply describes a series of events that add up in to a horrifying nightmare. I cannot overstate the feeling of respect and admiration I was left with for Sophie's courage and bravery. Sophie survived through incredible presence of mind, courage and the good fortune to have a loving, supportive mother and step father who couldn't shake the feeling that something was wrong and raced to Sophie's side the moment she felt able to ask for help.

As Sophie highlights herself, it's sobering to think of people going through this who don't have the same internal resources or ability to cope, or family at home who are in a position to come to their aid.

This is an important story that had to be told and I'm so glad I read it. It's compelled me to do research about Stop the Traffik, the charity that helped support Sophie after her return home, and to write to my MP in support of their campaigns, which reflect the many different types of human trafficking. It might be hard to stop this as an individual but governments and law enforcment agencies can make a difference by taking time to really explore and understand the issues, and working together to combat it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Harrowing but inspirational read, 23 Feb. 2012
This is not a light or easy book to digest (as you'd expect from the title). However, it is an amazing insight into how as human beings, we can overcome even the most appalling experiences and still rebuild a new and different life.

Sophie writes in a compelling and honest way and does not hold back with her descriptions of her trafficking experience. Yet, she is never sensationalist or gratuitous and answers many questions that her story undoubtedly provokes - such as 'why didn't she take the opportunities to escape when there was a glimmer of a chance she could get out'? Scarily and chillingly, this demonstrates the power and control exerted in a toxic and abusive relationship.

Moreover, this could happen to anyone. Sophie is an intelligent, sensible and strong young woman, yet she was totally conned by a man she believed loved and cared for her and yet, felt powerless to stop it all.

That Sophie wrote this book and has continued to work through her terrifying ordeal is testimony to her amazing strength and fortitude. We should all take note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A harrowing read and a real life insight in to Human Trafficking. Once you pick it up, you won't put it down!, 2 Feb. 2012
For years I have gone about my daily life and complained here and there about the silliest of things that really don't mean anything at all. After reading Trafficked by Sophie Hayes I realise how lucky I am to have such the simplist things in life. Like the ability to make my own choices, the freedom to do what I want and to have my family around me when I need them the most. Sophie had none of this and I can't imagine what it must have been like for her. I'm a 23 year old guy and will admit I was completely oblivious to this going on around us. Trafficking to me is something I had heard of but never taken the time to understand. I'm saying this because the book is a wake up call for us all. It's written in a way that will keep you hooked until the end and follows Sophie's journey from the moment she fell in love to where it all went wrong. Since reading the book I've been in touch with the Sophie Hayes Foundation and encourage other readers to do the same! If it's happened to Sophie, it may happen again until something is done about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews