Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, in a solid series
I have been promising Simon I would read and review his latest MM novels for some months now, but have avoided doing so until I could give the books the time they deserves. I have just returned from holiday where I managed to read MM2 and MM3.
I think the writer has done a fabulous job on both, but book 3 is my favourite by far. I especially enjoyed the depictions of...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by A.J. Armitt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak in the city
Slightly disappointed by comparison with Marius I and II. Turney is great at describing battles but the parts of this book set in and around Rome are weak. He does not seem to have studied city life in Rome in enough detail, especially when compared with the Falco books. An example is the paucity of household slaves throughout especially in the bath-house and...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by fasi


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars another great read, 9 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Part III is as good as its predecessors. A novel based on fact, larger than life characters, lots of action. Unable to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marius' Mules trilogy, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
At least by book 3 he's distinguished 'lightening' and 'lightning', but surely 'belay' is a nautical term far removed from BC Roman legions; one of several anachronisms. I accept that JC was an egomaniac using his decent grasp of generalship to make his name by conquest, but the idea that after a major battle with massive losses to men and equipment he could have his army on the move within a day beggars belief; as does 'the eaves of the wood'. A good yarn, increasingly unrealistic, and in places horribly ungrammatical and slovenly proof-read - if anybody even bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius Mules Gallia invicta, 26 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Nice to see Fronto at work in different surroundings and not such easy wins for the Romanski. Better than the last book in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turney does it again, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Can't believe there is only one more book to read!!! :( ... getting better and better each time. Conclusion shall be interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Enjoying this series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another insight into 'The Romans', 7 Jan. 2013
By 
D. P. Latham "bassman" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
A follow on, obviously, from book 2 but, interestingly, we had more time with other characters rather than the main guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Well written just like all books in the series now on the forth. SJA Turney books are worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still going strong, 20 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Another great installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
top marks very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta
£2.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews