Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet, in a solid series
I have been promising Simon I would read and review his latest MM novels for some months now, but have avoided doing so until I could give the books the time they deserves. I have just returned from holiday where I managed to read MM2 and MM3.
I think the writer has done a fabulous job on both, but book 3 is my favourite by far. I especially enjoyed the depictions of...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by A.J. Armitt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Weak in the city
Slightly disappointed by comparison with Marius I and II. Turney is great at describing battles but the parts of this book set in and around Rome are weak. He does not seem to have studied city life in Rome in enough detail, especially when compared with the Falco books. An example is the paucity of household slaves throughout especially in the bath-house and...
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by fasi


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great Sword and Sandels book, 21 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book (the third) in the series is along with number two certainley the best. If its tons of action and adventure Roman style your after this is the place. Realistic and exciting I cant recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 24 Nov. 2012
By 
S. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great read, I would definitely recommend this book to any historical fiction fan. I would put him up there with Scarrow and Cornwall. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
top marks very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marius' Mules trilogy, 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
At least by book 3 he's distinguished 'lightening' and 'lightning', but surely 'belay' is a nautical term far removed from BC Roman legions; one of several anachronisms. I accept that JC was an egomaniac using his decent grasp of generalship to make his name by conquest, but the idea that after a major battle with massive losses to men and equipment he could have his army on the move within a day beggars belief; as does 'the eaves of the wood'. A good yarn, increasingly unrealistic, and in places horribly ungrammatical and slovenly proof-read - if anybody even bothered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great series of books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
alol round good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
Love this series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marius mules galliia invicta, 28 Nov. 2011
Not quite finished it yet ,but just as good as 1and 2 if not better cannot get enough of Fronto and the 10th legion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
By 
A. D. Watts (Essex.UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta (Kindle Edition)
excellent read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marius' Mules III: Gallia Invicta
£1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews