Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (148)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the front cover!!
Please, get past the front cover. This book has so much more to say than the ice cream girl suggests.

Not only is it laugh-out-loud funny (there's a thing with a Toilet Duck, I'll say no more) but it deals with the really serious issue of how some men make women feel about how they look.

And how they eat.

And the hypocrisy of not-very-fit...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Lizzie C

versus
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great easy read!!
This book is an easy read and you wont want to put it down as I was glued to find out what happened. You will fall in love with the main character Sophie Klein and feel every emotion that she goes through as most people know about getting their hearts broken. I was a little disappointed in the ending as I would of liked to of known more and it ended quite suddenly. There...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by SS83


‹ Previous | 113 14 1528 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wise and witty..., 22 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Kindle Edition)
As a general reader of 'macho-inspired' literature - Fleming, Hemingway, et al - it wouldn't normally occur to me to read what appears, at first sight, to be a typical example of chicklit, but I must admit I am more than pleasantly surprised having happily rattled through this novel.

Whilst it does deal with the sticky (excuse the pun - the subtext of the book is a love and appreciation of puddings) issue of relationships from a female-centric perspective, it does so in an intelligent and sometimes painful way. It's also pretty damn funny.

I appreciate this is a work of fiction, but it contains so many home truths about modern love and romance that it simply must have more than a slug of autobiographical influence - all of which lends it a highly believable and confident tone, and easily lifts it above shallow examples of the so-called chicklit genre.

It's a cracking debut, and I look forward to the next promised novel from Ms Newman with suitably baited breath...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not my usual but loved it!, 14 Aug 2012
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
Read this on a friends recommendation whilst layed up with a footballing injury ( I am asserting my manliness at the outset. Despite a small amount of apprehension at the feminine chick lit nature of the blurb...girl meets boy, blah blah blah...I had finished Steve Jobs' autobiography and completed all of the suns crosswords so thought what the hell il give it a go and I wasnt dissapointed...ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE BOOK! read it in 2 days, couldnt put it down! Saw similarities in myself with the villain of the piece but other than that was very happy with my friends recommendation and should I ever find myself injured again after sporting activity will read any sequels or future work from the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fun read but am i missing something, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Kindle Edition)
I have this on kindle. It's a fun read and a page turner. But I seem to be missing a few paras or a chapter - there is a key incident (the outburst) which doesn't seem to be there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read..funny and interesting, 10 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
Thoroughly enjoyable and highly recommended book. I found the storyline interesting and the tone of the book was believable, highly recommended!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely excellent, 9 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
Absolutely excellent, very true to life and could not put it down. Was so much better than your average chick lit. The characters were believable and realistic, so you will laugh and cry along with the ups and downs of the main character Sophie. Very much like Nora Ephron's 'Heartburn', so if you loved that, you will love this too. Would definitely recommend to anyone who has every been dumped, or just generally messed around by a man!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and true to life!, 4 July 2012
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
I have just finished this book-and what's more, I finished it in 2 days! Couldn't put it down! I loved this book because usually with girly relationship books, the story line centres around the break up - whereas this book centres around the actual relationship between Sophie and her new boyfriend, and how the relationship goes through its ups and downs. Very addictive, very humourous and very true to life!!! READ IT NOW xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy!, 2 July 2012
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by a friend and I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. It is not a book that I would normally read; however, saying that I would encourage others to do so. At times it does make for challenging reading, with both the main characters reacting to situations in pretty uncomfortable and destructive ways but this book was not just about exploring the negative impact some people can have on self perception, more importantly it was about the positive effect of good friends and really good food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant first novel, 25 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
This is a really brilliant book. I hate trying new authors incase I am disappointed but this book did not let me down. I read the reviews first and decided to give it a try. Dont be put off by the front cover, this is not a fluffy book. It is very well written and you really empathise with the main character Sophie, when her involvement with a man goes 'pear shaped'. Food bits are fun but mainly I found this quite a sad book (there are funny bits tho). It is very thought provoking and easy to read and get into. Cannot wait for Stella Newmans next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pear Shaped novel purchased via Kindle, 22 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Kindle Edition)
Really pleased with the price of this download. The story was great & really kept my interest. Would recommend this author - was a brilliant read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER!, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Ms. J. C. Avery "jennifer67" (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pear Shaped (Paperback)
I absolutely loved this book right from the very first page. Sophie Klein is a fantastic character, who at first appears to know herself very well but is sent more than a little bonkers by falling in love with James...
I literally laughed out loud throughout this book, especially when things go very much downhill and she pretty much has a nervous breakdown. Its ever slightly tongue in cheek and i love the way she describes her feelings and thoughts about stuff.
The food element is also brilliant, as a foody myself, i loved the in depth descriptions and obvious passion for food from both Sophie as the character and the author.
The cover really lets it down as i would never be drawn to such a non descript cover, and would think it typical chick lit but it really is far better than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 113 14 1528 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3a3dd74)

This product

Pear Shaped
Pear Shaped by Stella Newman
2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews