Customer Reviews


258 Reviews
5 star:
 (222)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENTLY MAGICAL
Onwards and upwards, the best season yet - tone ever darker, threats ever more real. Time and time again Camelot faces danger as Morgana, now openly evil, conjures up ancient forces to help her secure its throne. Here are thirteen episodes crammed with excitement, witchcraft and seriously scary moments - not least those screeching, swirling Spirits of the Dead. (BBBC1...
Published on 17 July 2012 by Mr. D. L. Rees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch out for changes made to box-set design.
Shame that they decided to change the style box set half way through, subtle changes to the size and design compared to Series 1 & 2 mean that they look completely different on the shelf. Very annoying hence three star. Still very good price and excellent series.
Published on 23 Jan. 2013 by Lee.H


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGNIFICENTLY MAGICAL, 17 July 2012
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Onwards and upwards, the best season yet - tone ever darker, threats ever more real. Time and time again Camelot faces danger as Morgana, now openly evil, conjures up ancient forces to help her secure its throne. Here are thirteen episodes crammed with excitement, witchcraft and seriously scary moments - not least those screeching, swirling Spirits of the Dead. (BBBC1 screened the series later in the evening than before, a hint to parents of more adult content.)

Thankfully there is still humour, much of it in the banter between Merlin and Arthur - a great double act. Many sequences are also very moving - as when Arthur and knights mourn those dead or believed to be.

As the young Merlin, Colin Morgan is superb - totally likeable and self-effacing, conveying so much with just a look. Arthur increasingly appreciates his loyal (if clumsy) servant's worth. (Not before time, many would say.) Bradley James impresses as Arthur strives to be the king Camelot deserves, he winning over those who previously held him in contempt. (Lindsay Duncan and Ben Daniels are excellent as two of those converted.) How splendid Gaius (Richard Wilson) is still around, his scenes with Merlin a particular pleasure. One to hiss is Arthur's seemingly devoted uncle (Nathaniel Parker) - he in fact plotting much villainy. (The actor features prominently in out-takes.)

Bonuses include commentaries, deleted scenes and an interesting feature on the making of this season.

The series' continued success owes everything to the converging of talents - crackling scripts, so ingeniously plotted; a fine cast doing them full justice; breathtaking special effects; music that even further enhances. Full marks also to whoever had that brainwave of making Merlin and Arthur the same age! The device works a treat, at once allowing the old legends to be shown in a refreshing new light.

In short, the series is a triumph. No wonder fans the world over are under its spell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous Series, 22 July 2012
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely love the whole Merlin thing and now have all the series on DVD. Never get tired of watching episodes, it's so addictive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, dissapointed with the end, 5 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 4 of Merlin is darker than the past series and I love it for that. Morgana's powers become greater and her allies increase in numbers. Arthur and Gwen experiece some hardship in their relationship. Merlin more regularly takes on his old alias Dragoon. The series as a whole is very good and the episodes are gripping.
Only three things I wasn't impressed with this series (WARNING-SPOILERS):

1) The finale. Morgana attempts to take over Camelot with her army. This is mostly very similar to the series three finale, with one big difference: the witch doesn't really get to fight. Unlike in the series three finale when Morgause takes on Arthur, Morgana simply has her powers bound by Merlin and runs. I couldn't help but be very dissapointed at that... it just seemed a bit too easy.

2) Merlin has a magical move where he throws the enemy off their feet and knocks them out. This is starting to get old and makes for a few very anticlimactic endings.

3) A lot in Merlin isn't accurate to the legend and usually I don't mind that... but I didn't like that Merlin had to magically cast the sword out of the stone for Arthur. In the legend, the one true king is the only one able to lift the sword from the stone, while in Merlin he simply uses this story as a way to build up Arthur's confidence by fooling Arthur. As I said, I'm usually not bothered by how close to the legend Merlin is, but I strongly felt they should have kept that VERY significant scene the way the legend told it.

However, overall this series deleivers another great load of enchanting episodes and magical adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tomatoes in the 5th century?, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent family programme full of humour and silliness. I occasionally get surprised by how readily available tomatoes are in Arthurian England some 900 years before Colombus reached America, but I don't watch it for the historical accuracy :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin Series 4, 26 Aug. 2012
By 
Mrs. G. Barr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I love all of the Series of Merlin, the stories and the right cast makes this the best on tv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic boxset, 24 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This is such a wonderful series. Full of magic (obviously), love, danger and lots of humour. The relationship between Merlin and Arthur is probably the best thing about the series. Colin and Bradley have brilliant comic timing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin 4, 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say, this series was great to watch on TV and now we can rewatch it whenever we like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 (DVD) Summury and comments, 4 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I am more than happy with my purchase for Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 (DVD). The item arrived in excellent condition plus, I found no faults with any of the DVDs. One thing I will say however is that the bonus feature DVD was missing. This wasn't an essential for me though and I can't say it's occurred with any of my other purchases with amazon. On the whole, I am happy with this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Entertainment, 17 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My family enjoys the production of Merlin so much that we purchased a Regoin 2 DVD player even though we live in Region 1. We just couldn't wait for the Region 1 versions to be distributed. Wonderful sets, particularly the castle and its interior and great stories. Just don't kill off Gwenivier! Every time Gwen gets into trouble, we hope the story writers don't follow the lead of Robin Hood with Maid Marion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Merlin Magic, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Have loved the Merlin Series from the first showing. The series has progressed
and the story lines are excellent - magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD]
Merlin - Complete BBC Series 4 [DVD] by Alice Troughton (DVD - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews