Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment if historically dubious
I really like this film and if you want entertainment in this genre then I can highly recommend it.

However if you are a student of the American Civil War then this isn't an accurate source document. Still an interesting watch though!
Published on 27 Sep 2012 by Mr. Christopher Harris

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what they were trying to do
Well, I finally decided to buy the movie, and have now watched it. I don't think I could sit through it again.

It's done on an ambitious scale - it looks like what it claims to be, a presentation of small elements of a major battle, and it gives an overview of the battle which is of wider scope than anything I've seen before. Photography is excellent, as you...
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by Tony Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure what they were trying to do, 12 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I finally decided to buy the movie, and have now watched it. I don't think I could sit through it again.

It's done on an ambitious scale - it looks like what it claims to be, a presentation of small elements of a major battle, and it gives an overview of the battle which is of wider scope than anything I've seen before. Photography is excellent, as you would expect, though I became fatigued by the relentless slo-mo close ups of exploding bullet wounds.

I'm really not certain why I found that it grated. I was not offended by anything as important as the cap badges(!), but the technique of switching between the accounts of the personal view (the selected individuals used to illustrate the story) and the high-level grand plan view leaves a gap in the middle which makes it hard to follow - I would have liked to see more of a narrative at divisional level as well. The blood and gore is probably over-done - we get the idea very quickly that war is horribly brutal, and the constant focus on this aspect gets uncomfortably close to obsession at times. The talking heads were not particularly interesting - they could have been anyone, and most of what they added was well known or obvious anyway. I think mostly it is the over-earnestness of the commentary - moronically explaining "he is now in terrible danger" and so forth - yes, we had sort of picked up on that as well.

I'm left unsure what the film was trying to do, if only to justify the big budget. I don't think it said anything new about Gettysburg, I dont think the micro vs macro view idea works very well, and the gory presentation tells us that war is not pleasant, and then explains it over and over again for the benefit of slower viewers. It didn't really make it as education, and as entertainment it is very much inferior to the Gettysburg film from the Gods & Generals trilogy. I was disappointed - I wanted it to be better than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't even get the little things right., 20 May 2012
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
Immediately from the cover you've got an idea of what's coming. For serious American civil war officianados the soldiers hat badge in the picture is from the wrong decade! So good start for Mr.Scott. The film itself, even with those annoying omissions or errors is watch-able and rather than concentrating on Little Round Top it makes interesting work of the first day in the woodsw to the north of the town with the Iron Brigade and then Culp's Hill on the 1st and 2nd day, also looking at Dan Sickles disastrous foray into the Peach Orchard. It's more bloody and graphic than other popular media expressions of Gettysburg and draws the viewer into field hospitals and the contemporary methods of the day. Yes, buy a copy but remember this is for High School history lessons rather than serious historic reflection. For that you need to read books...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars so so, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Van Meeuwen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointing particularly when considering the directors .I found it very pedestrian and bitty.
It covered no new ground. Very Boring!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gettysburg as heritage rather than history - read Killer Angels instead, 19 July 2012
By 
Stafford Steve (Heart of England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, compared to the movie of the same name the Scotts got the beards right, and yes, war is hell, and yes, war is chaotic, whether for those in command or for those on the front line. And I wonder where this was actually filmed - it seemed more out west than back east, but that's a minor matter. More important is the Scotts' concentration upon the first three days of the battle, with the 4th July a mere afterthought. And there is no attempt to re-stage Little Round Top, done so well in Killer Angels and its subsequent movie Gettysburg. So there is a lot on the seizure of the town, and the attempts various to break through the fish-hook Union line, epitomised by Picket's struggle to break through at Cemetery Ridge, the fighting at the Angle being particularly well presented. There is much on failures of intelligence, front line leadership, battlefield wounds and their aftermath, all of which is suitably gory on a big screen in Blu-ray. But overall it is just another History Channel documentary, with some CGI. Elsewhere the Scotts though have long since raised the bar, so what there is here is nothing special. I suspect that many like me who responded to the prospect of a Scott take on this battle will be just a tad disappointed, or at least felt they should have waited to see it on cable television. The talking heads are fine, but even so there is little debate on the significance or development of the battle as I certainly now expect from something that claims to be History rather than just heritage. So, if this is someone's first encounter with this particular battle it has lots to offer, but what it doesn't do is direct anyone towards what else there is, which is a shame, as even Wikipedia offers suggestions for what else to read (there are none of the extras that I had expected). And this battle is not unproblematic whether in its execution or impact. Instead this documentary is a good example of history as one damn thing after another supplemented by a few what-ifs, and some comments on the human condition in extreme circumstances, all linked together through a general sense that this battle is unusual in its chaotic ferocity, which of course it was not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ITS OK, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
I love the history of the ACW.As a history lesson its not bad but as a history film by Ridley Scott it should have been a lot better.If you haven't had the pleasure of viewing the Film Gettysburg and Gods and Generals buy them rather than purchasing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment if historically dubious, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
I really like this film and if you want entertainment in this genre then I can highly recommend it.

However if you are a student of the American Civil War then this isn't an accurate source document. Still an interesting watch though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thorough account of USA civil war battle, 21 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
A thorough and detailed account of this epic battle, almost too much gore but it brought home the horrors of civil war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for US Civil war enthusiasts, 30 Jun 2013
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic Docu-Movie showing some of the most violent fighting in the bloodiest battle of the American Civil war...The mix of documentry descriptions with some excellent dramatisation really brings to life the full horrors of not just the battle but the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Civil War different perspective, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
A novel look at various events in the US Civil War from the perspective of individuals in the conflict. Interesting for a casual historian of this period. Still worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 July 2014
This review is from: Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyed watching , it makes great history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gettysburg (Ridley Scott's) [DVD]
£9.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews