Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series
This is the second in the series by Quentin Bates featuring Sergeant Gunnhildur, otherwise known as Gunna, and is set in Iceland. The first book; Frozen Out was published in January 2011, you can read my review of it here.

Cold Comfort was published by Constable Robinson in March of this year. Gunna has been promoted and is now working in the Serious Crime...
Published on 3 April 2012 by Lincs Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A leisurely but worthwhile read
This is a slow moving, low key and somewhat confusing story about a female detective in Iceland. I read the first Gunnhildur book which was very much like this one. Lots of characters with unpronouncable names makes for some confusion and the plot is very involved. However, I still enjoyed the book partly because it seemed very realistic with well drawn characters who are...
Published 21 months ago by Natassia J.


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, 3 April 2012
By 
Lincs Reader (Lincolnshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This is the second in the series by Quentin Bates featuring Sergeant Gunnhildur, otherwise known as Gunna, and is set in Iceland. The first book; Frozen Out was published in January 2011, you can read my review of it here.

Cold Comfort was published by Constable Robinson in March of this year. Gunna has been promoted and is now working in the Serious Crime Unit in the capital city of Reykjavik, a big change from her previous posting in a small, slow-moving town.
Gunna finds herself heading up two separate crime investigations, at least they seem to be pretty separate at first, but deeper investigation soon turns up quite a few links between the cases. The first case seems pretty straight forward; a prison inmate has escaped and is dealing out his own form of punishment to his old acquaintances. The second case is a murder - a C list celebrity who has been discovered murdered in her flat.
As with Frozen Out, this is a well thought out story, with an intricate and well woven plot line. I enjoyed the twists and turns of the story, I enjoyed getting to know a little more about Gunna (although she's very close, and doesn't reveal much). Just one minor issue for me, as with the first novel, is the long Icelandic names of the characters. It's very easy to get them muddled up, many of them sound the same and look the same, and it was quite some time into the novel before I got to grips with just who is who.

This certainly does not spoil the book at all. Gunna is a great heroine and the tantalising glimpses into her past history and her current private life certainly set the reader up for more to come in this series.

I will certainly be following Gunna's next move and look forward to more in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reykjavik's finest?, 26 Aug. 2012
Nick-named `Graskeggur' by his Icelandic grandmother, as the letter `Q' doesn't exist in Icelandic, Quentin Bates is a writer for an obscure nautical magazine. Thankfully, he is a talented fiction writer, and not just adept to explaining port from starboard.
Cold Comfort is his second work of fiction, and once more features Sergeant Gunnhildur as she investigates crimes, this time in modern day Reykjavík. Gunnhildur also has a team, I should add, but the book is hung around her as the central character. Gunnhildur is investigating the murder of a fitness guru / slight shady local celebrity Svana Geirs, whilst at the same time chasing an escaped convict. There are some other goings on, but I'm not about to reveal them, nor any more of the plot either.
Gunnhildur is a more than plausible character, with a back-story and intimate details (for example, some suggestive texts on her mobile phone) to back this up. Her world, too, feels realistic and is a well-portrayed slice of Reykjavik life, complete with post-financial crisis nuances, such as her unit being short-staffed and her on-going battle to get to her rightful pay grade. Further nods to Reykjavik life lie within the importance of iPhones and Blackberrys, the near constant drinking of coffee and in case you should forget, the ubiquitous `Hę' at the start of each conversation.
Is this just another piece of Nordic Noir Crime writing? No, I don't think so. I think Bates has sidestepped that genre, the world of Jo Nesbų and Arnaldur Indrišason. Instead he chooses a more traditional set of rules and plot lines, and serves it with a portion of dark humour. The combination is one which feels like right. It doesn't feel as bombastic or drawn out as the aforementioned crime writers; it has a more gentle, real life feel to it. I suspect hard research with the Icelandic Police and a year of living in the country has paid off in this respect.
The dark humour runs through the entire story; a character receives a reminder through the post to service a jeep his financial hardship has just forced him to sell, and Gunnhildur herself has echoes of the Coen brothers' Marge Gunderson in Fargo. `Are you sure he didn't fall on something and then drive himself to hospital afterwards?' she asks at one point `What? With a hosepipe gaffer taped to the exhaust?' comes the reply.
Like I say, I'm not about to blow out the plot here. That's not for me to say. What is for me to say is that this is a bloody good read, especially if you have a thing for the northern most capital city in the world, and fancy a bit of dark humour with your crime investigations. Good work, Graskeggur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cold Comfort--Quentin Bates, 2 April 2012
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
There is much to enjoy in this second novel featuring
the fascinating Sergeant Gunnhildur.She has been moved
from her rural post to head-up a new serious crime unit
in the capital,Reykjavik.
She and her small team are faced with both tracking down
a violent escaped prisoner,and dealing with the murder of
a female socialite TV personality.As the somewhat complex
plot develops ,figures in the political and business elite
become suspects.
Aside from an engaging plot, this novel touches on the many
ways in which the financial crash affected the whole rubric
of Iceland and its citizens,and also there is the marvellous
character of Gunnhildur-caring,sharp and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Likeable people, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Gunnhildur, her family, colleagues and boss are likeable people. The boss is supportive. This is unlike so many crime novels where the main character is flawed, others antagonistic etc. The story is good and overall just a good, interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Chilly Tale, 30 Sept. 2013
By 
GelS (Walton-on-Thames, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This book, set in modern Iceland, features Gunnhildur ('Gunna,' as most Icelanders seem to have diminutive nicknames), a female police detective sergeant promoted from a coastal village near Reykjavik to a posting in the city. Gunna balances being a single, widowed mum with police work that depends on thoroughness and diligent effort rather than flashes of inspiration. A small-time TV celebrity is found murdered in her apartment and the following investigation reveals a tangled web of corruption and deceit amongst politicians and businessmen, with some rather unpleasant members of the criminal fraternity involved. This new (to me) genre of Scandinavian literature expands on the Swedish, Danish and Norwegian books I've loved, with the twist of being created by an Englishman with extensive knowledge of the country. I'm not sure how I discovered the Gunnhildur series, probably an Amazon deal, but I've moved straight from finishing 'Cold Comfort' to 'Frozen Out,' which probably reflects my enjoyment of the style. So far (70%+ and loving it as well), it's an interesting and satisfying way to read a series. Although there's plenty waiting to be read in my Kindle, Mr Bates will feature in future browsing of Amazon's 'shelves'. It's interesting that this female protagonist has not been created as anything but a basic ('large, with a face to frighten horses') person with normal personality traits, rather than a glamorous vixen - almost a feminist approach; very interesting and realistic. The use of some English slang in the dialogue actually adds to the realism for me. The sombre subject of the story is lifted by the humour and banter amongst the police officers, giving a depth and realism to the characters (as it's a Scandinavian story, much coffee is consumed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COLD COMFORT, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
good story, excellent atmosphere well- worth reading It brings the feel of the country and its inhabitants into sharp focus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it but I agree with the other reviewers about the difficulties with names. Since this is intended for English speaking audiences maybe the author shoul choose some simpler Icelandic names in future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cold Comfort, 6 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second Quentin Bates book I've read, having very much enjoyed the first one. The author seems to be settling into his stride here with his Icelandic detective Gunnhildur. Interesting complex plotting where the murder of a minor celebrity leads to a further investigation into the fraudulent dealings in the world of high up Icelandic politicians and businessmen, well rounded, believeable characters (especially the tough but compassionate Gunna), good writing and dialogue. An added bonus is that, despite being set in Iceland, there's no torture involving people or animals - several murders, but no sadism! Can't wait to read the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Kindle Read!, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoy reading about Iceland and enjoy Bates' books, but I find something less than realistic as I read. Maybe due to a man writing about a woman's feelings or emotions. Yet, I have enjoyed the first two books in his Gunnhildur series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 8 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Cold Comfort (Officer Gunnhilder Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book some time ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. As other readers have mentioned it gets a bit confusing with the Icelandic names, so I now start with a piece of paper and as each character is unfolded I make a note of the name and who they are. It makes reading so much simpler and more enjoyable, rather than to have to keep flipping backwards and forwards to see who is who. I won't repeat synopsis of plot but suffice to say its a good light read , and well written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews