Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the notes?
Excellent music, but packaging is woeful. No notes at all about the songs or their composers except in minute difficult to read on the rear of the CD holder. I know some of the songs and where they originated but not all of them. This has been a serious problem since the demise of Vinyl, very limited information on many CD's. I also purchased Leonard Cohens' Old Timers,...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Kernow

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norah in excellent voice on these country covers...
After a gap of six years since the first Little Willies album they are back for more straight ahead country covers and one original instrumental. The sound and playing is again excellent and Norah Jones' voice is in good form - both on her usual mid-tempo ballads such as "Remember Me" and also on the faster numbers like Loretta Lynn's "Fist City". There is a nice...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by G. E. Harrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Norah in excellent voice on these country covers..., 9 Jan 2012
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
After a gap of six years since the first Little Willies album they are back for more straight ahead country covers and one original instrumental. The sound and playing is again excellent and Norah Jones' voice is in good form - both on her usual mid-tempo ballads such as "Remember Me" and also on the faster numbers like Loretta Lynn's "Fist City". There is a nice restrained version of Dolly Parton's much-covered "Jolene" and even the novelty number "Foul owl on the prowl" by Boomer and Travis (as featured in the film 'In the heat of the night') comes out sounding very good and giving guitarist Jim Campilongo a chance to play a nice solo.

I found many of the album's other songs a bit average, I'm sure that the band really enjoy doing well-known country songs like Willie Nelson's "For the good times" but I'd prefer to hear things with a bit more of a twist. For me I tend to loose interest when Norah isn't singing lead and I'm not really convinced that her and Richard Julian singing together works. For example the tune of Hank Williams' classic "Lovesick Blues" gets lost in tricky harmonies and super-slick guitar runs. I'm afraid that all-in-all I did prefer the first album which had a more interesting collection of songs and more variety of sounds and styles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where's the notes?, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
Excellent music, but packaging is woeful. No notes at all about the songs or their composers except in minute difficult to read on the rear of the CD holder. I know some of the songs and where they originated but not all of them. This has been a serious problem since the demise of Vinyl, very limited information on many CD's. I also purchased Leonard Cohens' Old Timers, excellent sleeve notes in a booklet with complete lyrics, recording information etc. The way it should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return Of The Little Willies, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
Last year's release Featuring Norah Jones confirmed that she is a most versatile performer, very much at ease with a variety of musical styles and in particular with country music. She performed duets with Dolly Parton, Ryan Adams, Gillian Welch and Willie Nelson after whom, it is said, The Little Willies are named.

She had already shown that she was an accomplished country artist with the Little Willies debut album in 2006, her collaboration with four other New York based musicians. Now, six years later, they are back with another collection of eleven country covers and an original instrumental by guitarist Jim Campilongo.

While not as immediately appealing as the debut album there are solid performances of some fine songs. In particular, Norah's bluesy and heartfelt reading of Scotty Wiseman's beautiful ballad, "Remember Me" with its spare piano accompaniment, is worthy of special mention.

She doesn't disappoint either with Kris Kristofferson's evocative "For The Good Times" as she squeezes every ounce of emotion from the lyrics. Meanwhile Richard Julian contributes lump in the throat vocals to a fine reading of the Willie Nelson penned "Permanently Lonely" and a spirited performance of the Johnny Cash number "Wide Open Road".

The Hank Williams signature song, "Lovesick Blues" is performed impeccably with Jones and Julian combining beautifully against a sparse acoustic background. The album finishes with Norah singing a slow but inspired version of Dolly Parton's "Jolene" with Campilongo's gentle guitar ushering in the end of the piece. Simply gorgeous.

I'm not sure about the Willies version of Ralph Stanley's "I Worship You" or the Campilongo instrumental "Tommy Rockwood". I think, too, that Norah's smoky, blues infused voice is better suited to emotive country ballads rather than the rollicking sounds of Loretta Lynn's "Fist City" or Lefty Frizzel's "If You've Got The Money" but that is a minor quibble. What is undeniable is the artistry and enthusiasm of the group and the obvious enjoyment that the members derive from playing and singing together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent jazz-country album, 28 Nov 2012
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
Following six years after their first album as the Little Willies, this second album was worth the wait. Norah Jones is the main vocalist, but Richard Julian sometimes joins her as duet partner, and he also gets to sing solo occasionally.

While most of these songs are covers, they aren't always the obvious classics that everybody knows. I worship you (Ralph Stanley) and Diesel smoke dangerous curves (a minor country hit for Red Simpson).are far from obvious choices, but they deserve their inclusion.

The ensemble took their name from Willie Nelson, and the song selection shows his influence as he wrote and recorded Permanently lonely, and also had huge country hits with If you've got the money I've got the time (originally a #1 country hit for Lefty Frizzell, it also became a #1 country hit for Willie Nelson) and Remember me (a #2 country hit for Willie Nelson). I think Willie also recorded For the good times, though the song is associated with other singers - Kris Kristofferson (who wrote and first recorded it), Ray Price (who had the country hit) and Perry Como (who had the pop hit).

The other famous songs here are Lovesick blues (originally recorded by Elsie Clark in the 1920's, but more commonly identified with Hank Williams and also a sixties #1 pop hit in Britain for Frank Ifield), Jolene (the Dolly Parton classic) and Fist city (one of Loretta Lynn's major country hits of the sixties).

Wide open road is an early Johnny Cash song, though it was not one of his hits. Nevertheless, it will be familiar to most fans of Johnny Cash.

Foul owl on the prowl doesn't really belong here, but I like it anyway. I'd never heard the song before buying this album, although I recognize the songwriters (A and M Bergman with Quincy Jones).

This album won't suit everybody (and if you've heard Norah's solo albums but nothing by the Little Willies, this will come as shock) but to my ears, this is a most enjoyable album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it, you'll love it!, 20 Feb 2012
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albums I have listened to for many a long year. It was the featured album of the week on Ken Bruce's show on Radio 2, and I purchased it on the strength of hearing it on the radio in the car. Country music is my guilty pleasure, but I'll not be shy about recommending this album to anyone who'll listen to me. Norah Jones has the most velvety voice which is so well-suited to the songs she's singing here. It's a feel-good mix of songs you know and ones you don't. "Wide Open Road" is the best for belting out in the car, driving along the motorway! If they ever decide to do a tour in the UK, I'll be first in the queue for a ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deserves a better choice of songs, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
As with the previous Little Willie's album it is a mixed bag mainly due to the strange choice of material. Surely there is a great number of far better country songs than some of those presented here? The performances are excellent despite the disappointment that Norah Jones does not feature on the vocal on 'For the Good Times'. Please pick some better songs for your next album your combined talent deserves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super!, 6 Dec 2013
By 
cK! "cK!" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For the Good Times [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This is a fantastic Album. Great sound and great music. Most of Norah Jones recordings are all good... The moment it spins you know a lot of hard work has gone in to the Music, recoding, mastering ,,,,,,,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anything by this group is OK, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
The second CD by this group and is just as good as the first. I just love listening to them in the car. I think it lifts the mood, they are without doubt a very talented group of musicians and singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
This is the second album from "The Little Willies"
They do great takes on classic country material.
This collection has songs by Hank Williams, Townes Van Zant
Kris Krisofferson and of course the Fab Willie Nelson
They got their name when Norah Jones and the boys toured with WILLIE
about 8 years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Norah Jones, 28 Jan 2013
By 
G. Gregory (Lancs UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For The Good Times (Audio CD)
Not the best album she as done, but one or two good songs, such as Jolene, Stick to the 'good' songs and arrangements
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For The Good Times
For The Good Times by The Little Willies (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews