Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commercial but still awesome
Having read a recent review slating the choice of tracks chosen for this album, I felt compelled to add my own review. Yes there are a huge number of lesser known songs that could have been included on this cd. Yes it does include the Modfather's most commercial and successful hits but this is exactly what this album is all about. It's a celebration of an artist's...
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by Gary Hurst

versus
19 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a chance missed.....................
For anyone who has revered Paul Weller as the supreme musical talent of a generation as I have done this is distinct disappointment. As the Amazon reviewer has pointed out this is PW's first full retrospective.However, it is unfortunate that whoever put this listing together seems to have used the Guiness Book of Hit Singles to decide what tracks should go onto this CD...
Published on 30 Oct 2006 by Billy Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars I Love this CD!, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
I played Paul Weller's Hit Parade CD constantly for weeks in my car. It's so good I bought it for friends too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant songwriter., 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
I have loved Paul Weller's music since birth.This cd is a good starting point of the stars career,in my opinion Weller's best musical period was when he was in The Jam.I am listening to The Bitterest Pill as i write this review.
I think he has tried to evolve his music over a period of time,and you can't blame him for that.All in all the modfather is arguably Britain's finest ever songwriter.Give this cd a go you might surprise yourself.Bravo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Show Weller's Stength, 25 July 2012
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
This collection shows Weller's strength through all 3 incarnations. People who dismiss The Style Council because the band didn't sound like the Jam should give this a whirl. Truly great from start to finish and shows Weller has no peers when it comes to crafting songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
this is a excellent album if you like paul weller

and have not got this go buy it today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great place to start your Weller collection, 8 April 2010
By 
Greg Farefield-Rose (Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
For the first time, Hit Parade brings together the three ages of Weller onto a single CD. Featuring seven tracks by The Jam, six by the Style Council and 10 by Paul as a solo artist, the compilation obviously only scratches the surface of Weller's vast repertoire but is a very good overview or greatest hits set by this major artist.

Obviously virtually all of Paul's biggest hits are present on Hit Parade but are these necessarily his greatest and most significant songs? By and large, they are with particular highlights for me including The Eton Rifles and Town Called Malice by The Jam, the brilliant Shout To The Top by the Style Council and Changingman and Wild Wood from the solo years. Not being one to particularly enjoy looking backwards, I imagine that Paul was especially thrilled that two tracks from his (then) most recent LP As Is Now are also included on Hit Parade. Even more proudly, the tracks in question - the exhilarating From The Floorboards up and Come On / Lets Go - stand up to anything else featured on this compilation.

The only real omissions from Hit Parade for me are singles representing Weller's early punk years (In The City would have been the best choice) and a track from his first solo album such as Into Tomorrow which signified the beginning of his creative rebirth following the downward trajectory of the later Style Council years. Neither song was a particularly big hit though they were highly significant releases and warrant inclusion on that front.

Good as Hit Parade is, it doesn't really do Paul Weller justice in the way that a two CD set also including further singles as well as key b-sides and album tracks would. Unfortunately Paul hasn't been featured in the excellent Essentials series yet so the best path for those wanting more Weller is a compilation of each of his three main acts. For those just wanting a one-CD overview however, Hit Parade is a very good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For All, 20 Jan 2010
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
Whether you're new to Weller or an old fan, this is an essential CD for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (MP3 Download)
Nice to here Weller of old. Great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a chance missed....................., 30 Oct 2006
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
For anyone who has revered Paul Weller as the supreme musical talent of a generation as I have done this is distinct disappointment. As the Amazon reviewer has pointed out this is PW's first full retrospective.However, it is unfortunate that whoever put this listing together seems to have used the Guiness Book of Hit Singles to decide what tracks should go onto this CD rather than listening to his music.

For the uninformed this might seem a good selection but it misses most of Weller's finest songs. Surely the first full retrospective should have been a celebration of his finest work not his most commercially successful. If I were to pick my favourite Weller top 30 only 10 of this selection would make it in there.

It virtually ignores the Jam's first three years as it does the Weller's first two solo Albums . Where are 'In The City', 'When You're Young', 'Strange Town', 'All Around the World' and 'A- Bomb In Wardour Street' let alone album tracks/ b-sides such as 'Away From The Numbers', 'In The Street Today', 'Art School', 'In The Crowd', 'Little Boy Soldiers', 'Dreams Of Children', Tales From The Riverbank', Butterfly Collector and so on.

I won't bore you with detailing the flaws in the Style Council and later selections but the same is true (Into Tomorrow, Above The Clouds, Kosmos, Shadow of The Sun etc etc all missing).

This should have been a double CD celebrating the greatest UK song writer of the last quarter of the 20th Century. Instead it is a typically shallow example of 21st Century commercialism. That said if you like it and you want more there is plenty of great Weller music out there for you to still discover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best of Paul Weller, 11 Dec 2006
By 
Steve Keen "therealus" (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
Is this meant to be a Best Of? It's not. Nothing from In The City or This Is The Modern World; only Tube Station from All Mod Cons.

Mr Weller has moved on since the disbandment of The Jam, but it's not been upwards. There's some of the better later Jam material like Eton Rifles and Beat Surrender here, but any later than that is easy listening for those who don't want to be excited by the fast and fresh early material like the title tracks from the first two albums or the real venom-filled classics such as David Watts, Billy Hunt or A-Bomb In Wardour Street from All Mod Cons. For slower stuff Tonight At Noon or English Rose, also not included here, are streets ahead of the pedestrian Speak Like a Child or Long Hot Summer.

Generally disappointing choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Parade
Hit Parade by Paul Weller
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews