Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commercial but still awesome
Having read a recent review slating the choice of tracks chosen for this album, I felt compelled to add my own review. Yes there are a huge number of lesser known songs that could have been included on this cd. Yes it does include the Modfather's most commercial and successful hits but this is exactly what this album is all about. It's a celebration of an artist's...
Published on 6 Nov 2006 by Gary Hurst

versus
19 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a chance missed.....................
For anyone who has revered Paul Weller as the supreme musical talent of a generation as I have done this is distinct disappointment. As the Amazon reviewer has pointed out this is PW's first full retrospective.However, it is unfortunate that whoever put this listing together seems to have used the Guiness Book of Hit Singles to decide what tracks should go onto this CD...
Published on 30 Oct 2006 by Billy Hunt


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Commercial but still awesome, 6 Nov 2006
By 
Gary Hurst "Kosmos" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
Having read a recent review slating the choice of tracks chosen for this album, I felt compelled to add my own review. Yes there are a huge number of lesser known songs that could have been included on this cd. Yes it does include the Modfather's most commercial and successful hits but this is exactly what this album is all about. It's a celebration of an artist's catalogue of hits over the past 30 years and what a 30 years this guy has had. Many young people will not have heard most of the earlier stuff, but what a chance to open their ears to some of the best music of an era. The selection of tracks may only rate as 2 star for the most avid Weller fan, but 2 stars for the quality of the music??? Any album that has Down In The Tubestation, Going Underground, Long Hot Summer, You Do Something To Me, From The Floorboards Up....... I could go on and on listing awesome tracks from this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's Entertainment!!, 12 Nov 2006
By 
S. Morgan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
Although you can buy compilations of Paul Wellers work in his various guise of The Jam, Style Council and solo, here we see the Mod Father's ultimate collection. Earlier review was looking for Jam album tracks that were missing - that isn't what this CD is about. This is an extraordinay look back at the depth of the 60plus singles in his repetoire - from Eton Rifles to From the Floorboards Up. Not every single Weller has ever released has been a ground shaking classic, but here is a classic collection of Paul Weller over the last 30 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above the clouds it's written in the stars, 13 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
I actually went for the fans 4CD box set version (featuring 65 plus songs spanning Weller's 30 years) rather than this single CD aimed at the mass market. The box which is under £20 on Amazon is a fantastic bargain with superb packaging. Go and buy it. But this also caught my eye as one for the car, a party or to loan. You won't let the box set sit around amongst the beer & fag ends! And unlike the themed 4CD version, this one mixes Weller's catalogue up - Jam, Council & solo nestling nicely alongside each other. I'd say it's not only a handy primer and also a good companion. Sure as one reviewer said there are some better songs not here, but that's not the point. It does what it says on the tin - Hit Parade - chart stuff contained within. For completest's get Direction, Reaction, Creation (in the new 12x12 hardback earbook form) and you'll have hours of fun. Alternatively buy all the CD Albums. Better still dust off the old vinyl and enjoy the crackles. Simply put, if you like the hits buy. If you haven't sampled his music it's a great way in. Hell Down In The Tubestation At Midnight is worth £17 plus postage on it's own. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why Weller's finest hour will always be with The Jam, 5 Dec 2007
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
I read recently that Paul Weller regarded his time with The Jam as his creative low point, prefering both his solo material and that of the Style Council. I can't help thinking that this is in some way to further scupper any notion that the original 3 members of The Jam might reunite once and for all, after all, why should he revisit material that he regards as inferior?

However, what this Weller collection which covers some of his most famous material from all three stages of his career proves is that he is a songwriter of immense talent, an almost incomparable musician who offers very good value to his audience and that all of his musical phases are at least worthy and admirable. However, it also proves to me that while some of his solo material is excellent, and some of his Style Council stuff is decent, nothing compares to the raw genius of his Jam stuff, augmented by probably the best bassist and drummer of the era, Paul Weller shows in his Jam persona, at the tender age of 19-24, that he was a fantastic songwriter, singer, guitarist and easily one of the the best lyricist Great Britain has ever produced. While his later career is good, nothing beats his period in The Jam, and it seems that he, or at least his record label, agrees for out of the thousands of images they could have chosen for the cover to show the multitude of images he has presented, they chose him as The Jam's frontman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous, 30 Nov 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
Wow! What a legacy, what a great little collection of hit singles spanning Weller's
thirty year career history. The thing about this compilation is, that it's under no
pressure to be fully comprehensive as there are already some very well put
together 'Best Of's' available for his Jam, Style Council and solo stuff. You see
the joy of this cd is, that you grab a handful of hits from all parts of his career
to give a brilliant overview, so with all this variety and killer tunes all on the
one disc you can't really go wrong. To call this a fine collection of music is a
bit of an understatement. This is solid from the floorboards up. Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
best of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent snapshot, 2 Jun 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
'Hit Parade' is a slimmed down edition of a four disc boxset of the same name. If you are a big fan, you may decide to purchase Hit Parade Box Set instead.

What you have here though is a neat little package of Paul's large body of work. This compilation contains highlights from his solo career (represented by ten tracks), his early work with The Jam (seven) and later The Style Council (six). The result is an impressive collection showcasing a legacy of entertainment and classic songs. It's loaded with his most commercial stuff, so don't expect any deep album cuts or rarities. Whilst it's always nice too listen to such things, sometimes it's just as good to hear the famous hits back-to-back that most people will be familiar with - and this 23 song set has plenty of that.

An excellent compilation spanning a musical genius' 30 years in the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 9 April 2014
By 
L. Taylor (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (MP3 Download)
Excellent reminder of younger years. Brilliant memories from a sound guy.
No need to say more. Album speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Weller being Weller, 3 April 2014
By 
B. Thomas (Middlesbrough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Parade (Audio CD)
A great compilation of one of my favourite artists - I have most of these tracks in my collection but for this price this cd was purchased to give me my fix of the modfather in the car - and now one of my most played albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Parade
Hit Parade by Paul Weller
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews