Customer Reviews


609 Reviews
5 star:
 (552)
4 star:
 (47)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to Saint Marie
Welcome back to the fictional Caribbean island of Saint Marie (shot on location on Guadeloupe). Once again we are treated to a series of whodunnits, although where the first series was more centred around tourists on the island committing crimes, this time around the crimes involve mainly those who live on the island.

From solving murders on a plantation, a...
Published 18 months ago by M. Dowden

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Death in Paradise sr 1 2dvd set
after watching the second series on TV,I purechased this set,

it sets the characters,and story line,

excellent viewing,ideal for a cold winters evening
Published 16 months ago by Johnw


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Back to Saint Marie, 26 Feb 2013
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Welcome back to the fictional Caribbean island of Saint Marie (shot on location on Guadeloupe). Once again we are treated to a series of whodunnits, although where the first series was more centred around tourists on the island committing crimes, this time around the crimes involve mainly those who live on the island.

From solving murders on a plantation, a luxury spa, amongst students and explorers, a fundraiser, and involving an ex-colleague from London, you can be sure the team will get their person. Ben Miller is in excellent form again as the detective who walks around in a suit and tie, with his case, moaning about the heat. And it is so funny when he won't be phased by a hurricane coming to the island, after all what can it be like for someone who went through 'The Fish', our 1987 version.

With Camille showing signs of wanting something a bit more serious with the chief, will he pick up on these? Also here we have Fidel going for his sergeants exam, as well as Richard having to travel back to London to escort a prisoner. In the last episode you will find out whether Fidel passes, and whether Richard will return.

All in all, like the first series this is fun to watch and works your brain as you try and work out who the perpetrators are. In some respects this is back to the old days, where the criminal was exposed in a denouement, and you don't have some long back story involving the troubled relationships of the detective. Like most people of my age these were the types of stories that we grew up with, either on tv or in books, and they will always remain to a certain extent popular simply because they are escapist puzzles, where you want to beat the detective to the correct answer. And lets face it, Dwayne and Richard on the motorcycle sidecar look like Wallace and Gromit, which is comedy gold. If you want to put your feet up, watch some entertaining tv, whilst solving puzzles, then you can't really go wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good viewing if you have teenagers at home, 12 Sep 2012
By 
Hakan Sandgren (Southport, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, there are murders all around (another Midsomer, perhaps) but this turned out to be a series that the whole family liked. Inspector Pool's insistence on keeping his 'Englishness' while posted to a Caribbean island could have made this a really silly show but it has been handled very well. The cast is doing very well and the balance between locals, tourists, English officials and the French restaurant owner, Detective Sergeant Camille Bordey's mother, is great. Sara Martins is great as Bordey and the other two police officers at the station play their parts in the mysteries very well. There are plenty of laughs while Pool gets all the facts sorted out in his head. The Poirot/Miss Marple-style final gathering when the finer points are revealed works well here. I am pleased that Pool did not get sent back to London at the end of the series and that a second series is on the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps they do make them like they used to, 23 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent 'pantomime' murder series that could have been written at any time in the last fifty or sixty years. By 'pantomime', I mean unreal. Of course, it's all the better for that, because we have become over-used to gritty detectives with hard-boiled plots. These are more Agatha Christie than John Rankin, and that does require a different approach.

First of all, there's the premise - a Met officer seconded from London to a (rather dangerous) Caribbean island. It's a former French colony that somehow came under British control (odd enough, that, but it does allow voodoo to crop up more than once). I suppose the unreality was inevitable since it's a joint British/French production, filmed on Guadaloupe. The population includes a large proportion of bloodthirsty ex-pat Brits (who may have transplanted from Midsomer village), a sprinkling of French-speakers, and many black Caribbeans who have the sense to avoid the really serious crimes. It is a slight disappointment that the whiff of political correctness is strong - the murderer is usually the white man (or woman) - but this is easily forgiven since the stories are so unreal anyway.

What redeems the series is the chemistry between the four main characters, which is strong. Ben Miller plays a detective who softens and becomes less anally-retentive as the episodes pass by, whilst Sara Martins is a likeable and excellent foil. Most of the crimes are solved by flashes of inspiration, rather than detective work, but that is what we were once used to from the likes of Columbo, and it does not detract from several entertaining 1-hour episodes.

Well worth five stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Second Series, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Brett H "pentangle" (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Death in Paradise manages to be a detective series with a difference - all credit to the script writers that they have been able to come up with a completely unique scenario after all the police series which have been on our screens over the years. Personally I liked the first series from the word go, but I think it has got better as it has gone along and it is certainly now right up there with my favourite television viewing.

At the end of Series 1 we saw Detective Inspector Richard Poole on the dock of the island of Sainte-Marie where the series is set, appearing to be considering remaining on the island. Series 2 sees a continuation of his career on the island, with new murders to exercise his considerable investigative skills. Ben Miller is an excellent choice for the straight laced Poole and plays the part to perfection. His rather unlikely partner is Detective Sergeant Camille Bordey, played by Sara Martins. The chemistry between the pair is quite clear and has grown as the show has gone along. This is a major factor in its success. Mention should also be made of the parts of Dwayne Myers, the oldest member of the team, and Commissioner Selwyn Patterson who was responsible for bringing Poole on board as these characters are also memorably acted.

The episodes are quite varied this time round and range from the white owner of a plantation who is found with a machete in his back, and who has rather a tangled personal life to Camille's friend, a singer, who dies mysteriously whilst performing on a yacht. Poole has his own distinctive style of operation. He quietly investigates, takes everything in and when he is ready gathers everyone together and makes his pronouncement. A different time and background, but in a strange way Poole's style does remind me of Poirot.

At present I do not believe that there has been any announcement of a third series, although the last episode would seem to have paved the way since Poole has chosen to return to the island after a trip to London. Given that viewing figures for Series 2 were significantly higher than for Series 1 it would be quite surprising if a further series does not follow. I certainly hope so!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, 3 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing television series! Not only is the plot well thought out, it is hilarious! I can not wait until series 3 in 2014!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !!!, 4 Feb 2013
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Loved this series.
Entertaining, lighthearted & just for once, no gratuitous sex, violence or swearing.

The second series is shaping up to be just as good ...if not better, than the first.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED VIEWING !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GEM IN PARADISE, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. Sr Harrup "nehpetsrh" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant Comedy/crime drama from the BBC, all the cast act and fit in so well, it took a while to recognise the 'cat' from 'Red Dwarf', but Miller steals the show creating a memorable new detective charactor. If the BBC don't make another series then there is no justice in the media. Clever scripts, superb acting and a wonderful location. If you missed this on tv then buy the DVD - you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one more thing ..., 30 Jan 2013
This is such a good series and builds on the first. However each episode is self contained and could be watched in any order. It has a gentle humour without being gruesome, making this good family viewing (12 cert). Ben Miller is excellent as the stiff Brit, oblivious to the romantic opportunities around him, who couldn't possibly be seen without his suit and tie even in the Caribbean heat. This extends to his flannel pajamas. The rest of the cast are a more laid back contrast, but are no less dedicated.

The stories remind me of Columbo with all the protagonists collected for a final unmasking of the killer, their method and motive. The culprit is usually a surprise to the rest of the team and declares the equivalent of 'it's a fair cop gov. You got me bang to rights'

Marvelous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air., 11 Mar 2013
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I had not watched any of series 1 nor the first 6 of series 2 but a friend who does not normally watch crime stories told me that he was hooked on it. I watched episode 7 of series 2 followed by episode 8. and instantly ordered series one. now going to order series 2.
Other people have described the series so well that I need not go into the same details again. I will just say what I like about it.
Here we have great whodunits without the detailed gruesome gore of the CSI, NCIS series. Everything is much lower key and there is more humour in a very gentle, understated way.
The characters are all very likeable. The growing rapport between Poole and the rest of the team is well done.
The final revealing of the culprit is in the typical English detective story format.
One final reason to enjoy, After weeks, indeed months of cloud and cold and rain you can enjoy the sun, even if only on the screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murder and Sunshine, 2 Mar 2013
By 
F. Taylor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series. Got into this whilst watching series 2 on BBC one so had to see how it all started.
Sun Sea and Sexy (Sara Martins). What's not to like. Ok is basically Poirot in the sun but with no waxed moustache!
Wouldn't go there for a holiday though, there's always a murder there! Great scenery and Cat from Red Dwarf (Danny
John-Jules! Great to watch on a cold wet night in the UK (which is most nights) will be getting series two and series three has been commissioned :) Even the music is good! Go watch it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD]
Death in Paradise - Series 1 [DVD] by Ben Miller (DVD - 2012)
7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews