Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars118
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 June 2014
My wife likes a kitchen timer to be able to time multiple things at once. She used to have one made by Salter which was brilliant but broke eventually (through being dropped too many times). Since then we have gone through a number of kitchen timers which have all been rubbish for really stupid reasons (e.g. buttons don't function well; poor ergonomics).

Salter still do a 4 way timer, which has been updated a little, but their standards seem to have slipped and the buttons don't work well. Consequently it went in the bin.

By contrast, this 'Brannan' timer is brilliant. Easy to use, clear display, and buttons that work! This is the quality that Salter used to be associated with.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2012
This is a neat piece of kit, worth the money. It uses two watch type batteries (supplied). The display has large very clear letters for HH:MM and smaller letters for seconds - it is much clearer than the photo suggests. The timer can be set to count down (e.g. 5 minutes 30 seconds for your boiled eggs). Once the time has elapsed, it beeps once every second and also counts up so if you have over run, it shows you how much. You can set all four timers but when it beeps on one of them reaching zero, it isn't immediately obvious which timer has expired. That hasn't been a problem because you just press T1, T2 ... in turn and the one that's counting up is the one that has exprired. You can set them to count up, so you could use it as a stop watch at the kids' sports day.

Suppose you set the first timer, the display flashes a small T1. You can then display the clock (i.e. time of day) or the timer as it counts down. You can set more timers and T2, T3, and T4 will flash. You can stop the timer, clear the timer setting (your 4:30 say) or if it has counted down you can recall the setting and start it going again. So you could reserve T1 for boiled eggs every morning, set T2 to 11 minutes (because you knead your bread for at least 11 minutes) and so on. One thing you can't do it lock the keys: if you carry it round in your pocket, it's easy to knock the keys. You will know if you do as they beep each time they are pressed. The beeper isn't massively loud, so you probably couldn't leave it in the kitchen while you work in the garden. Oh yes, the magnet is strong enough to hold it onto the fridge (unlike some other timers) and it has a neat little prop stand so you can stand it up on top of the microwave or whatever.
11 comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
It is the timer which Salter used to sell. Mine died after many, many years of constant use. I was so delighted to find its replacement under the Brannan name. I cannot fault it. It is worth every penny & I am now about to buy one for a family member.
SMB
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2013
I was looking for something to relace a very old salter timer and this one is the best I found. Very good purchase. Easy to use and even though I didn't think I needed to be timing 4 things at once, I have actually done so! Only down side is that the buttons are easy to press when you pick it up. I move from room to room and have inadvertantly switched timer to pause. But that aside it is v good.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
A classic for me as I've used one of these for years now and got a new one for a new home. Easy to use and loud enough. Each timer (T1 - T4 on the top of the product) has a slightly different 'beep'.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
What a nice surprise when this arrived from Brannan - a nice, 'weighty', quality item, runs on two cheap-as-chips round batteries, and functions as a clock when it's not being used as a timer - clear face, easy to follow instructions, 4 'timers' and a nice clear 'beep' which lasts for a minute if you don't switch it off before then. Magnetic 'ingot' on back so can adhere to fridge etc, has a small neat little flip out stand for the worktop - the only 'minus' was how fiddly it was to fit the two round batteries in the unit, behind the little 'stand' - anyone with dexterity problems will struggle - but once the batteries are in, it's easy peasy and very efficient. Excellent, thank you - so much BETTER than the ghastly wind up Gefu 78mm timer bought for £16.00 (+ postage) which conked out before the first couple of trial 'runs' (offered to send it back but seller refunded, no quibbles - perhaps glad to see the back of it - ?) ;-)) Would happily recommend.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
Easy to use, great when batch cooking when a number of items are being cooked at once,sound could be louder, but love it.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 January 2016
I'm really impressed with this timer. The description is exactly right, and the timer is sturdy - as is the stand, which is not always the case with timers of this sort but is definitely what's required given that, in the kitchen at least, you're often in a hurry and just want to dump the thing down and not have it collapse.

It's highly useful having four timers in one. I wasn't totally convinced that I would use more than one at a time (sometimes life can just get too complicated), but I do and it works. I've preset three of them (one for tea, one for the fragrance lamps, one for the maximum time of the halogen oven) and left one free for random uses, and I'm happily using all four. When I return the timer to its place at the end of a session in the kitchen, it's just a one-press action to return the display to showing the time.

To set one of the timers (arrayed along the top and marked T1, T2, etc.), you simply press the button, set the time using the buttons on the left (marked H for Hours, M for Minutes, S for Seconds) and then press the T button again. When you want to use that preset, you simply press the T button concerned and then the Start/Stop button (the largest button of all, at the bottom). When the timer goes off, you press the Start/Stop button again and the timer stops. Press the same button again to retain the time in the preset.

If you don't press the Start/Stop button, after the alarm stops sounding the timer starts counting up. This means that you know how much longer than you should have left something to cook it's been cooking - which is definitely worth knowing. You then press the Start/Stop button to stop the timer counting up, and press the Clear button to clear the display.

The timer feels as if it's good to last a long time, it's not flimsy at all. It's easy to hold and even I, as a left-hander, don't have any problems.

As a bonus, it came with spare batteries as well!

Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2012
Nice big display, simple controls, second one I've owned due to my mishandling but its pretty sturdy unless you drop it on the floor repeatedly over a four year period.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
A very good quality product. There are four timers and also a clock. If you use more than one timer at the same time you can easily tell which one has gone off because timer 1 beeps about once a second, timer 2 beeps twice a second, timer 3 three-times and timer 4 four-times. My only criticism is that it's easy to press a button just by picking it up as the buttons are right around the edge the edge. Other than that I cannot fault it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)