Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars England's green and pleasant land in FSX (at last!)
I'm a big fan of Microsoft Flight Simulator X, but it has to be said that the default UK scenery is very poor, making England look rather more like the Australian outback..

This VFR package certainly remedies that. Despite the recent huge population increase and increasing urbanisation, much of England is still a green and pleasant land and the patchwork of...
Published 8 months ago by Cartimand

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars VFR Real Scenery England & Wales (but only above 2000ft in rural areas)
This product replaces the stock default landscape and autogen scenery in England and Wales with photographically realistic textures to give a pilot's-eye-view of flying over terrain. It only really manages to achieve this if you are flying above 2000ft. Below this, the low texture resolution and lack of autogen scenery makes the terrain appear featureless, blurred and...
Published 3 months ago by MR I M JONES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars England's green and pleasant land in FSX (at last!), 16 Mar 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm a big fan of Microsoft Flight Simulator X, but it has to be said that the default UK scenery is very poor, making England look rather more like the Australian outback..

This VFR package certainly remedies that. Despite the recent huge population increase and increasing urbanisation, much of England is still a green and pleasant land and the patchwork of fields, forests, rivers and mountains is beautifully rendered here. Urban areas too seem pretty accurate - one of the first things I did was to fly over my house and I could even make out the conservatory, so the imagery supplied here must be no more than 4 years old.

I would say though that this scenery is best enjoyed at altitudes above 1,000 feet. At lower altitude, things can get a bit blurry and the flatness of urban areas can destroy the illusion of "being there". Occasionally I noticed that a landscape tile in your field of view will flash white and there is a brief pause before the correct texture is displayed - most notably if you use FSX's time compression feature. Bridges look rather odd too - as if someone has thrown a huge but featureless plank over the river.

Installation takes quite a while (around 2 hours I recall) and, be warned, whilst it claims it requires 34GB, in reality, you need perhaps 10% on top of that for the installation to be successful. Available disk space is checked at the start of the installation process, but it gave me the OK and proceeded, only to fall over near the end. After a bit of housekeeping (ruthless deletions) I tried again and was successful.

Overall, despite a few minor quibbles, I am still very happy with this package. It makes FSX far more realistic and enjoyable and, provided you have a reasonably powerful PC with plenty of hard disk space, is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars VFR Real Scenery England & Wales (but only above 2000ft in rural areas), 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This product replaces the stock default landscape and autogen scenery in England and Wales with photographically realistic textures to give a pilot's-eye-view of flying over terrain. It only really manages to achieve this if you are flying above 2000ft. Below this, the low texture resolution and lack of autogen scenery makes the terrain appear featureless, blurred and as flat as a pancake. I'd say consider buying this product if you enjoy flying VFR over rural areas in small props to/from small airports. But if like me you enjoy flying your jet into major hubs like London, where the surrounding low-level cityscape is essential to the simulation, give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Now I can see!, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Strains even the best systems, and isn't very clear below 2000 ft, but when working and up higher, makes a difference to the quality of vfr flight. I now have to work out how to remove stock scenery, as the new software has placed hangars where they should be, but left the old ones on taxiways! Good price though and just flight make good kit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, minor quibbles., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Bought this as I'm embarking on the road to PPL and wanted something a little bit closer to the real world than default FSX scenery.

It's not too bad but, as others have mentioned, don't expect too much.

Resolution is fine above a few thousand feet (looks just like G-whoshallnotbenamed Earth) but even with a fairly beastly PC and GPU the res is still a little grainy at low altitudes... which is what I most wanted photo scenery for.

Flying around the local area I can recognise towns, roads, landmarks, but everything is distressingly flat :) Not a huge issue, although some standy-uppy would have been nice, and reading other reviews here and elsewhere on the web I was prepared for this.

Still; it wasn't that dear and I consider it worth what I paid and have no doubts it'll help when sim swotting at home.

4 stars for a good, but not excellent product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Improvement on the basic scenery provided in FSX, 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
As you become accustomed to the actual flight control then you can look out of the window and see truly realistic scenery instead of the rather basic plateau provided in FSX. I certainly intend purchasing all of the Just Flight Real Scenery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great improvement, but..., 8 July 2012
By 
Mr. S. Hooper (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Without question this greatly improves the experience of FSX but the imagery is not as good as I was hoping for.

I live on the south-coast and recently flew over my house (as most people would do) and whilst I could recognise everything it was lacking in accuracy.

Flying over Chichester there were a lot of key things there but landmarks like Goodwood racecourse were very disappointing.

Coastal views 'looked' okay but local knowledge reveal them to be less than exciting.

If you are looking to improve the overall experience then this is worth getting but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good being able to buy the set in one go ..., 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It does what it says it does ! very good being able to buy the set in one go excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

VFR England and Wales (PC DVD)
VFR England and Wales (PC DVD) by Just Flight (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
£22.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews