Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 February 2012
What a great product! Used it for a couple of days now and not a bad word to say about it. Converted a couple of friends to this from their Hauppauge HD PVRs too.

Very easy to set-up using a hard drive or usb stick. I tested using a 16gb memory stick and it formatted the stick for me and set-up storage settings.

For those looking for a size guide, recording 720p at Max settings is around 1gb per 10minutes. File sizes can be halfed using the Aver Media mp4 convertor (which is free) once moved to your desktop/laptop.

Did find some interlacing recording at 1080i, but as i'll be uploading at 720p anyway, set my XBox 360 to 720p and recordings were perfect. Also, having the option to not have the Game capture on, but being able to still play the xbox was great.

So to analyse

- Easy set up
- Great Quality
- File sizes 1GB/10mins
- Record at 720p to avoide interlacing (XBox/PS3 settings)
- Playthrough option if not recording.

10/10
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
The 'AVerMEDIA C281 Game capture HD' is great! its really easy to use, has a remote control and doesn't need a computer to record! it records at max 1080i at .AVI format. you can also plug a USB into it and save your recordings into that, if not then you can insert a hard drive into it either 9.5mm or 12.5mm. its great for any console gamer and can record game play on Nintendo Wii, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.
you can also take snapshots and view them on your tv as well as the recording's.
i recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great quality capture card.AverMedia Game Capture HD C281 (PS3/Xbox360/Wii)
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2013
Very pleased with this product, spend a long time going between this, the Roxio HD and the Elgato.

Went for this one in the end as it can record without the need of a computer and have been playing with it for a couple of days now.

I would recommend using an external HDD or recording onto if your wanting to edit or upload videos as you cannot connect the box to a Pc. Using an internal HDD will mean having to remove it every time you want to transfer. This isn't too much hassle but it's a lot easier just to plug a USB in the front.

Using the highest settings for recording will take 2-2.5GB per 20 mins.

All in all a fantastic product. I would only say that if your in no real hurry you might be better to wait for the Avermedia Gamer Portable. Pretty much the same thing, upside will be HDMI instead of composite so you'll get much sharper recording, downside to it is that it uses SD cards rather than USB devices. Will be released in the next couple of weeks. (I just couldn't wait!)
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
This is a nice unit, but is a pain to setup to get working properly. It took me around 3 hours all in to get it working with both the USB sticks I had and the HDD I had.

To cut a long story short, the unit is very choosy when it comes to recognising drives that are connected to it.
The unit came with an old firmware on it that would only read my very old USB stick, my 2 newer ones would not be recognised.

I used this ancient USB stick to update the firmware to the latest version. Using this version (3.2.0) the ancient USB stick was no longer recognised but my 2 newer ones were!

The Toshiba 500GB HDD that I installed internally was not recognised either. I created a single partition on it and formatted it as NTFS, but no luck. Eventually I got it recognised by cloning my windows 7 NTFS boot disk and then reformatting the primary partition afterwards (leaving the boot sector on it). Heaven knows why this makes a difference as the Avermedia support is woefully lacking and just tells you to format the HDD NTFS, no further details offered. Their online forum isn't a great deal of help either.

Once up and running though I am really impressed for a sub £100 bit of kit.

The firmware revisions have meant that video is now saved as MP4 (rather than AVI previously) so you don't need to convert to edit in the likes of Movie Maker etc.

In the real time mode I didn't notice any lag and the picture didn't look any the worse for wear (okay mabe a tiny bit) being passed through the box, although the wires they supply from the box to the TV could be a little beefier and better insulated against interference. I have actually ordered a set of component leads to replace the supplied ones as I think they will improve the signal a little.

Overall very pleased with it, and just want to forget the nightmare it took to get it setup! If I didn't know the ins and outs of PCs/HDDs etc, I wouldn't have had a hope of getting it working.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
Overall I'm quite happy about the product: reasonable price, very easy to use with no need of a laptop, BUT pain in your *** in postproduction. If you want an advice then DON'T RECORD IN 1080i (i = interlace) if you are playing Xbox 360 or PS3(you can set it in console video settings) because if you will try to put it on editing program like Sony Vegas you will get horizontal interlace lines artifact. 720p (p = progressive) all the way and you don't notice that much quality loss! But the thing is, I was recording PS2 gameplay and there is no way you can change the quality in it to progressive because its 480i by default. So to get rid of the interlace lines I need to put these video files to VirtualDub and apply Deinterlace Filter and it's a big waste of your time to render it in VirtualDub if you are recording continuous 2-3 hour gameplays. But still it works this way with no problem and you can finally edit it in Vegas.

I'm not sure but I'm probably the only one who gets weird green pixelated artifacts after converting it with a official converter and putting it on vegas. So if you are having issues putting video files on Vegas or VirutalDub DO NOT DOWNLOAD THE CONVERTER FROM THE OFFICIAL SITE. Download the ffdshow H264 codec instead and install it. Then it will work.

If you have any question or problem using this device then contact me by this e-mail since I am finally very confident since I researched for 3 days straight to get rid of interlace lines and get proper codecs.

mynameisged@gmail.com
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
I been using it for quite a while and it is lot easier without using a PC to upload and scene it been updated to version 3.3.2 the format originally was AVI format(need AverMedia MP4 Converter - Free Download for Windows XP, Visa, 7 & 8 can get from Avermedia website) now become MP4 format (easier to upload video to YouTube "acquires Google account") and the best thing is I also saving video to 2.0 or 3.0 USB Hard Drive or Hard Drive NTFS or FAT32 type
Note: AverMedia Game Capture HD C281 now support Full HD 1080p

for Xbox 360/PS3/Wii/Wii U Users must switch to Component HD AV Cable (must be use one at the time) "Disconnect HDMI Cable/High Speed HDMI Cable for XBox 360 before using Component HD AV Cable, PS3 keep it connected it will not fudge up the video/sound it need to change display and sound" (blank screen will occur but not affecting recording)

Comparable for PS3 (Any Model) XBOX 360 (MKI/MKII/MKIII), Wii, Wii U and PS2 Original Model - PS1 feature will be disabled, however it can record PS1 games through PS3

Not Comparable on PSX/PS1, PS2 (Slim Model) and XBOX

(I price is expensive, but it will be worth it if you like recording gameplay video and upload to YouTube)

Note: While uploading a video to YouTube it will show a message about better/improved quality setting using Quick Time 7 Pro (plus auto-fix the brightness)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2012
This is a wonderful bit of kit, very easy to use, and a great support department if you do get stuck.

Despite providing you with a lead that can connect to each of your console devices, they can't be plugged in together. This is really the only negative aspect, especially if you have your consoles tucked nicely into a unit in the front room, with little access to keep plugging and unplugging the leads. They should almost be switchable to stop the interference you may get at the moment.

If the consoles are all plugged in you might find the picture more dull than before and as yet I have never had the sound working when they are all plugged in.

Despite this (and the fairly slow menu system) it is so easy to use, with a simple remote or start/stop button on the device.

I have installed a hard drive but can easily transfer individual items off onto memory sticks to then upload the videos to youtube.

I would recommend this to anyone who does not want the hastle of having to have a computer next to your gaming rig. The video editing can be a problem with having to encode the footage but if you don't need to edit, then it will upload straight away.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
Fantastic product. Plug and play aspect is great. Just use any external USB HD / flash drive with it and record. Quality is great. The best selling point however is the ability to record without the need to connect to a PC / Mac whilst recording.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
Well what can i say apart from what a excellent product.
I have always wanted a capture device that recorded in great high HD and also
allows me to capture without a pc. The AverMedia C281 does both and i am very impressed with the quality of my captured videos. I sit there watching my captured game play with a massive smile on my face. You cannot tell that you are actually watching the captured video it looks just like you are playing the game at that moment. This is a great product and is very easy to use. The other thing that stands out is that you get ALL CABLES yes ALL THE CABLES. You get a universal component cable which you can use with a PS3 (which i have) Xbox and Wii and also the component cable that goes from the AverMedia C281 to the tv inputs. You can put a 2.5 hard drive in the unit or if you want to you can use a USB memory stick.
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
I had been looking for something like this for some time and this device fit the bill perfectly. Very simple to operate and gives a very high quality recording. Good options to vary the quality of the recording and images you produce too. File sizes are quite large but thats only to be expected when recording at such high quality. Some software would have been nice to enable you to edit your videos and still allow them to be playable through the device (it only plays back videos that it has recorded itself) but thats just a small gripe.

HIghly recommended product and company.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 41 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)