Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for recording HD gameplay
What a great product! Used it for a couple of days now and not a bad word to say about it. Converted a couple of friends to this from their Hauppauge HD PVRs too.

Very easy to set-up using a hard drive or usb stick. I tested using a 16gb memory stick and it formatted the stick for me and set-up storage settings.

For those looking for a size guide,...
Published on 29 Feb 2012 by James

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i cant hear my own voice
when i am in an Xbox party i can here everyone but myself.I will give a higher score if I find an answer.
Published 6 months ago by judge


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for recording HD gameplay, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
What a great product! Used it for a couple of days now and not a bad word to say about it. Converted a couple of friends to this from their Hauppauge HD PVRs too.

Very easy to set-up using a hard drive or usb stick. I tested using a 16gb memory stick and it formatted the stick for me and set-up storage settings.

For those looking for a size guide, recording 720p at Max settings is around 1gb per 10minutes. File sizes can be halfed using the Aver Media mp4 convertor (which is free) once moved to your desktop/laptop.

Did find some interlacing recording at 1080i, but as i'll be uploading at 720p anyway, set my XBox 360 to 720p and recordings were perfect. Also, having the option to not have the Game capture on, but being able to still play the xbox was great.

So to analyse

- Easy set up
- Great Quality
- File sizes 1GB/10mins
- Record at 720p to avoide interlacing (XBox/PS3 settings)
- Playthrough option if not recording.

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 15 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
The 'AVerMEDIA C281 Game capture HD' is great! its really easy to use, has a remote control and doesn't need a computer to record! it records at max 1080i at .AVI format. you can also plug a USB into it and save your recordings into that, if not then you can insert a hard drive into it either 9.5mm or 12.5mm. its great for any console gamer and can record game play on Nintendo Wii, Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3.
you can also take snapshots and view them on your tv as well as the recording's.
i recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a great quality capture card.AverMedia Game Capture HD C281 (PS3/Xbox360/Wii)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!!!, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Very pleased with this product, spend a long time going between this, the Roxio HD and the Elgato.

Went for this one in the end as it can record without the need of a computer and have been playing with it for a couple of days now.

I would recommend using an external HDD or recording onto if your wanting to edit or upload videos as you cannot connect the box to a Pc. Using an internal HDD will mean having to remove it every time you want to transfer. This isn't too much hassle but it's a lot easier just to plug a USB in the front.

Using the highest settings for recording will take 2-2.5GB per 20 mins.

All in all a fantastic product. I would only say that if your in no real hurry you might be better to wait for the Avermedia Gamer Portable. Pretty much the same thing, upside will be HDMI instead of composite so you'll get much sharper recording, downside to it is that it uses SD cards rather than USB devices. Will be released in the next couple of weeks. (I just couldn't wait!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AverMedia - A good buy!!, 26 Mar 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
After watching numerous reviews of the Hauppauge HD PVR and AverMedia Game Capture HD on YouTube AND speaking with my PSN online friend while playing Fight Night Champion. I went for the Avermedia.

Product arrived on estimated day of delivery, hooked it up, had a little difficulty in aligning it with my TV's component channel via my PS3 but got there in the end. The all in one multi cosnsole extension component cable is a godsend for multi console gameplay capture.

A word of warning, the AVI files that it supports are not readable by Sony Vegas/Pro. If you want to edit gameplay commentary videos, I'd strongly suggest investing in a third party file conversion program. Having said that however, you can download an AVI to MP4 conversion program direct from [...]
([...])
based on if you use a different editing software.

Portable, ideal for recording tournaments and the like to share with your mates, to reveiw strategies etc.
Works great with thumb drives and external drives(recommended)

A good buy for the price with no need for a computer/laptop to capture gameplay

Highly recommended, infact A MUST BUY!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good peice of kit, 30 Jan 2013
By 
S. Brown (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Overall, its really good at recording and very smooth. The only problem is that it does not record you talking in game chat (xbox live) nor xbox live parties. Apart from that I am extremely happy with it and pleased I got it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AverMedia Game Capture HD C281, 18 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Fantastic product. Plug and play aspect is great. Just use any external USB HD / flash drive with it and record. Quality is great. The best selling point however is the ability to record without the need to connect to a PC / Mac whilst recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent device for anyone needing a simply game recording option, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
I had been looking for something like this for some time and this device fit the bill perfectly. Very simple to operate and gives a very high quality recording. Good options to vary the quality of the recording and images you produce too. File sizes are quite large but thats only to be expected when recording at such high quality. Some software would have been nice to enable you to edit your videos and still allow them to be playable through the device (it only plays back videos that it has recorded itself) but thats just a small gripe.

HIghly recommended product and company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD Capture Rapture, 13 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Recieved the AVERMEDIA C281 Game Capture HD Video Capture Device today and it works perfectly. Updated the Firmware before using it then simply plugged it in and worked brilliantly and easily.
Combined with the HDMI To RGB Component YPbPr Audio Video Converter 1080i it's a perfect solution to the dilemma of how to get the HD content from your Satellite TV HD box onto a media player.
Very satisfied indeed! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AverMedia Game Capture Quality Test, 9 Dec 2011
By 
E. Bruno - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Well what can i say apart from what a excellent product.
I have always wanted a capture device that recorded in great high HD and also
allows me to capture without a pc. The AverMedia C281 does both and i am very impressed with the quality of my captured videos. I sit there watching my captured game play with a massive smile on my face. You cannot tell that you are actually watching the captured video it looks just like you are playing the game at that moment. This is a great product and is very easy to use. The other thing that stands out is that you get ALL CABLES yes ALL THE CABLES. You get a universal component cable which you can use with a PS3 (which i have) Xbox and Wii and also the component cable that goes from the AverMedia C281 to the tv inputs. You can put a 2.5 hard drive in the unit or if you want to you can use a USB memory stick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best games of the moment captured, 1 Dec 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: AVerMedia Game Capture HD (C281)-Record Xbox 360, PS3, and Wii HD Gameplay in Real-time up to 1080P (Personal Computers)
Well was just the game we needed to capture. None of our computers could walk with no external capture.
This is the first capture of the market that records 1080i without the computer. That's incredible. The quality obtained is much higher than the HDPVR.
Definitely the best capture of the moment, if you want to see sample videos visit our channel to see the quality that draws the capture. We enYoutube channel: [...] not hesitate to pass, and that you can see that what we say is no lie!

The best capture!AVERMEDIA C281 Game Capture HD Video Capture Device + 2 YEAR WARRANTY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews