Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars10
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 May 2013
Only one star because this particular edition is formatted in a way that makes it very difficult to read. Conversations in direct speech are concatenated so that they 'run on' instead of each speaker beginning a new paragraph.

Fortunately you can get the same book, better formatted (in Kindle edition, and free) at gutenberg.org and use the personal document service to send it to your Kindle.

The book itself is of course a classic - and the one star isn't intended as a comment about that.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
Great book. I've seen the TV film when I was a child and it was one of my favourites.
This transports you into a world where you can go from happiness to misery in a split second and where a revenge that took 10 years to plan unfurls perfectly...
A classic!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
The novel remains wonderful of course: nothing like calculated revenge, bit by bit. I don't know why the producers have decided to run conversations into each other: French punctuation is quite difficult enough without having to decide when a new person is speaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
Having read an English version long ago (and seen the film!) I found it quite hard going with every character appearing to have two or three alternative names and 113 or so chapters - but enjoyed and think it improved my (19th Century?) vocabulary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
Any age
A pleasure

It is ok from teens age and over

To be read
Glad having read it in his original version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2013
This book is a classic and the story is great. Really enjoyed the reading and would recommend for those interested in French literature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
A brilliant read for anyone who loves reading in French and loves a mystery. After the first chapter I couldn't put it down,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
My favourite book ever ! The masterpiece of French litterature
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2016
Ultimate adventure book still unputdownable, for all ages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2015
Great book from Alexandre Dumas!! The best indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.