Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll be buying copies for people as Christmas Presents
A really easy read - lots to laugh at and lots to provide a unique view on some important (and trivial) stuff in life. I'm a boy (well middle aged man actually) from the West Midlands and so had high expectations and wanted to like it. I wasn't disappointed. The format would be a great help for anyone getting back in to reading after falling out of the habit.
Published 9 months ago by Paul Thomas

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmm... OK but not great
I am a Frank Skinner fan. He's probably the funniest bloke I've seen on stage. I liked his autobiog which was hilarious. This is well written (he clearly has a gift) but I would expect many people to aim for a Frank Skinner book for the laughs, and they are seldom and few.
Published on 30 Oct. 2011 by JP


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmm... OK but not great, 30 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a Frank Skinner fan. He's probably the funniest bloke I've seen on stage. I liked his autobiog which was hilarious. This is well written (he clearly has a gift) but I would expect many people to aim for a Frank Skinner book for the laughs, and they are seldom and few.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed Franks previous books, (Frank Skinner on the Road: Love, Stand-up Comedy and The Queen Of The Night) (Frank Skinner by Frank Skinner) so ordered this one without hesitation. It seems that this book is something that the author just cobbled together. The book is a collection of articles the author wrote for a column in a Sunday newspaper a few years ago. Many of the articles bare no relevance to today's world and are not funny. For me the only reason to buy this book (if your a Skinner fan) is to say you have the set of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 2 Feb. 2015
I like Frank Skinner as a comedian and his autobiography was one of the best books of its kind. Perhaps this was never likely to hit the same heights, but it was still something of a disappointment. Created mostly from his past newspaper columns, there is a rather disjointed feel and while some are genuinely funny, Skinner can tend towards the shrill when discussing more serious matters. This is particularly the case with his overly-defensive attitude to his religious beliefs (even recycling the tired cliche about councils banning Christmas when even the Daily Mail has now admitted it made the story up) and drinking, where his past problems in this area now seem to make him think no-one else should be trusted around alcohol either. Others fall into the "who cares?" category, with the revelation that he never cleaned his ears a particular lowlight. I'm still a Skinner fan, but this book certainly didn't enhance his standing in my eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just so so, 23 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Dispatches From the Sofa: The Collected Wisdom of Frank Skinner (Kindle Edition)
This is a collection of columns Frank did for a newspaper and you can tell that the format must have frustrated him. A lot of the time you feel he is desperate to slip a knob gag in, so to speak, but feels that it might undermine the point that he is trying to make. Then, when he tries to write something serious about, say, Shakespeare, as a reader you are thinking "Come on Frank, slip a knob gag in".
The limited amount of words that clearly needed to have been adhered to imposes further constraints. Mind you, when he's off and rambling about his relationship with God you're rather glad of it. The problem is, for me, it's quite difficult to take Frank at his word. Like Jeremy Clarkson, you often find yourself thinking, "That's a really good point, but as it's coming from you, I can't take it seriously." Comedians seem often to be such serious blokes, troubled, deep and meaningful, but they've chosen a career that makes them seem lightweight, frivolous and meaningless. Worse, they know it. But what are they to do? Poke more fun at themselves?
Frank might be pleased, in the end, to read that I think this is perfect toilet reading, as no doubt he's spent many of a reflective hour sitting atop, or clinging on to, the throne. This collection is an easy diversion, best read in short bursts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I'll be buying copies for people as Christmas Presents, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dispatches From the Sofa: The Collected Wisdom of Frank Skinner (Kindle Edition)
A really easy read - lots to laugh at and lots to provide a unique view on some important (and trivial) stuff in life. I'm a boy (well middle aged man actually) from the West Midlands and so had high expectations and wanted to like it. I wasn't disappointed. The format would be a great help for anyone getting back in to reading after falling out of the habit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sample only - short and expensive, but clever and funny too, 21 Oct. 2011
This review is from: Dispatches From the Sofa: The Collected Wisdom of Frank Skinner (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed what I've read of Frank's other two books and this one was much the same - very well-written, perfectly laid out on the Kindle, with some 'laugh out loud' moments. I've read a lot of samples of other comics' and celebrities' books, and Frank's works are a cut above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Giggling like a little schoolgirl!, 25 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Dispatches From the Sofa: The Collected Wisdom of Frank Skinner (Kindle Edition)
WIthout a doubt one of, if not THE funniest books i have read. I always think that if a book can make you laugh out loud whilst sat in a public place then you are either mental or the book is something special. My psychiatrist says i'm not mental so it must be a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Boy Done Good, 25 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wit and wisdom, and a fine sense of the absurd, all rolled into one. Frank's a comic A.C. Grayling.

Terrific - on so many levels. (Jeremy Clarkson eat your heart out.)

Mr Skinner for Prime Minister!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!!, 6 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a birthday present for my Sister.
She loves to read anything by Frank Skinner, so she was "over the moon" with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy: ), 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Product as described and arrived quickly. Very happy :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews