Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madame Bovary en francais Kindle Edition
Wishing to renew my acquaintance, en francais, with that enigmatic 18th century heroine Madame Bovary, I opted to read the Kindle version. Writer Gustave Flaubert’s (1821-1880) bored provincial wife comes to life in the original language in which she was created.
Flaubert’s passion for ‘le mot juste’ engages the reader , whether describing...
Published 2 months ago by ann mcgrath

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but this is not a good printing
A great book, but this is not a good printing.

I think it has been done by scanning the original with recognition software -- so there are some errors in the text and the typeface and layout are very basic and look like they were done on a fairly basic word processor.

More importantly, there are no notes and no introduction. I really missed these as...
Published 4 months ago by John Bland


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Madame Bovary en francais Kindle Edition, 8 Feb. 2015
By 
ann mcgrath (dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Wishing to renew my acquaintance, en francais, with that enigmatic 18th century heroine Madame Bovary, I opted to read the Kindle version. Writer Gustave Flaubert’s (1821-1880) bored provincial wife comes to life in the original language in which she was created.
Flaubert’s passion for ‘le mot juste’ engages the reader , whether describing Madame’s internal angst at being married to a man she no longer loves or his descriptions of a provincial Normandy community where nothing much happens.
Madame Bovary’s ‘ennui’, married to her provincial doctor, steadily gathers pace. The novel’s relatively slow pace reflects this.Hard to believe now that Flaubert’s depiction of an unhappily married woman resulted in a court case and an accusation of immorality.
Madame Bovary’s experience highlights the fact that mores and customs may change with time but human beings,at their core ,still long for fulfillment and a taste of happiness.
Using the Kindle version to reread this novel was an enlightening experience. No need to haul my Larousse around on the back seat of the car to search frantically for the meaning of some , perhaps now defunct, French term. Instead Just connect directly on line to a dictionary.
Finally I am a Kindle Konvert ! Kindle enhanced and facilitated my reading experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A compelling though uneventful story that created a new genre of fiction, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Review courtesy of www.subtleillumination.com

Madame Bovary craves beauty, wealth, passion, and love, measuring her life against the great epics about which she would read. Dissatisfied, she turns to extramarital affairs, to spending she cannot afford, always reaching farther for her idols only to find them covered in gilt. Her life, empty and dissatisfied as it is, is made vivid by the depth of detail and realism as it is told, culminating in the destruction of the lives of those around her and her own self-destruction.

Flaubert would spend 12 hours a day at his desk, painstakingly attending to detail and searching for le mot juste, the right word. He believed prose should be as perfect as poetry in its word choice, and sought in every sentence to perfectly capture the mood, the atmosphere, and the exact detail of the scene. In doing so, he created an entire literary genre, realist narration.

What makes Madame Bovary so good is that attention to detail. The story was begun by Flaubert at the urging of his friends, who hoped to cure his realism by giving him the dreariest subject they could think of. He does meet their request: little that is out of the ordinary happens in the book, and yet the narrative is compelling as Emma Bovary pursues a downward spiral of vanity and delusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful classic. I'm 92 now and first read it ..., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A wonderful classic. I'm 92 now and first read it in English 60 years ago and twice in French since. The psychological insight into the principal protagonists is brilliant. Also, there are many interesting passages describing the countryside, trees, flowers, birdlife and so on,
I cannot fault the book. The only problem I have is with the dictionary which is French/French. This is OK for most words nut I have to consult my French/English dictionary for names of birds, plants, trees etc,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A great book, but this is not a good printing, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (Paperback)
A great book, but this is not a good printing.

I think it has been done by scanning the original with recognition software -- so there are some errors in the text and the typeface and layout are very basic and look like they were done on a fairly basic word processor.

More importantly, there are no notes and no introduction. I really missed these as I am an Englishman who is still learning to read French. Fortunately my wife had a copy of the book in English to which I could refer. Based on the dozen or so books I have read to date in French, I'd recommend books published by either "Le livre de Poche" or, even better, "Folio Classique".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad kindle copy, 13 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
so many spelling mistakes, please don't bother downloading this.. I had to ding the book for free in other place online and I read it from there..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fabuleux, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
possibly the greatest novel ever written, every paragraph has a memorable quote, grea tinsight into female psyche by a bloke.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo Madame!, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A superb novel - brilliantly written, of course - beautifully and thoughtfully presented. Excellent Chapter Headings and paragraphs separation : a pleasure for the eye. The content hardly needs another review, as generations have rightly revered this astoundingly incisive study of disillusionment and disappointed love, No one has said it better than Clemenceau, "Le meilleur moment de l'amour, c'est quand on grimpe l'escalier" (The best moment of love is climbing the stairs) ; this may well apply to all life's endeavours ; the maturing process delivers the ability to be reconciled with that devastating fact ; Emma Bovary remains a child-like innocent, fooled by her naivety and - tragically - by the remorseless cunning of those who covet her physical attributes, some dismissing them even before acquiring them ; as one of her lovers muses in the same breath : "I'll have her, but how will I get rid of her ?" No character escapes Flaubert unforgiving gaze : even Emma's pathetic husband - blameless in all other respects, receives from the fates the punishment his hubris brings upon his head. Put Madame Bovary down at your peril ... she will haunt you until you have fully consumed the book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 23 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Not for me to pass judgement on who amy be the best ever French novelist. I had read this book for the first time many yeras ago, but really enjoyed greatly this digital edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
A masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An old favourite., 4 Oct. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Madame Bovary (French Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I first read this novel when I was studying French at university and decided I would read it again now forty years later. It had lost none of its power and my own maturity enabled me to comprehend it in a way I had not as a teenager. I am not going to summarise this novel as I assume that most people reading this will be doing so as they are studying French and this will be a set text. All I would say is that, although it was written in the nineteenth century and obviously women's lives have changed a great deal since then, there are nonetheless resonances in today's society. Emma Bovary's dissatisfaction with the mundanity of everyday life in rural France and her unattainable dreams of romance and living in high society are echoed in the unrealistic aspirations of young women in our own time who pore over magazines showing impossibly thin air-brushed models and handbags that cost as much as a car. We also see in M. Lheureux the beginnings of easy credit leading to unpayable debts which eventually lead Emma like so many of our contemporaries to despair. The terrible effects of Emma's behaviour on her family are echoed in our own time too.
There are, of course, lengthy discussions about medical science and religion which are dated in our time and some of the references to the theatre are no longer relevant to modern readers. However, the overall message retains its impact and universality.
Finally, it is a real asset that we can read such classics for free on Kindle. Books were a major expense when I was a student! There are a few typographical errors, however, but these do not detract from the pleasure of reading this great novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Madame Bovary (French Edition)
Madame Bovary (French Edition) by Gustave Flaubert
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews