Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too
THE SIEGE OF MACINDAW, the sixth installment in John Flanagan's best-selling RANGER'S APPRENTICE series, picks up right where THE SORCERER OF THE NORTH left off, with Alyss imprisoned in Macindaw castle at the mercy of Keren the usurper.

Will is soon united with enemy-turned-best-friend Horace, deep in Malcolm the Healer's mysterious forest. Much as it pains...
Published on 9 Aug 2009 by TeensReadToo

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars The siege of macindaw
I loved this Book could hardly put it down
I highly recommend it it's exciting and interesting
I also recommend the fathers in the series
Published 1 month ago by Jr McGrath


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Courtesy of Teens Read Too, 9 Aug 2009
By 
TeensReadToo "Eat. Drink. Read. Be Merrier." (All Over the US & Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
THE SIEGE OF MACINDAW, the sixth installment in John Flanagan's best-selling RANGER'S APPRENTICE series, picks up right where THE SORCERER OF THE NORTH left off, with Alyss imprisoned in Macindaw castle at the mercy of Keren the usurper.

Will is soon united with enemy-turned-best-friend Horace, deep in Malcolm the Healer's mysterious forest. Much as it pains the two to be so close to Macindaw and yet so helpless, the two know that they do not stand a chance against Keren and his soldiers. Worst of all, Will has no idea what the traitor Keren might be up to.

The unexpected arrival of a small Skandian force, led by Gundar Hardstriker, is the ultimate blessing. While the Skandians find themselves stranded in Araluen quite by accident, Will greets them heartily and quickly turns them into his own small army, led by none other than Horace, the Oakleaf Knight.

With intelligence covertly provided by Alyss, Will and Horace learn of Keren's plans to turn Macindaw over to the Scotti tribes of Picta. All the odds are against them, but Will and Horace are not about to give up. The ranger and warrior complement each other perfectly, and the two hope that Will's agility and wit paired with Horace's strength and fighting experience will be enough to overcome Keren's forces and the fast-approaching Scotti army. Trying to take Macindaw with only thirty men is a daunting task, a feat never before achieved in Araluen history.

In other words, the perfect challenge.

It is easy to see why RANGER'S APPRENTICE has such a following with the preteen crowd. THE SIEGE OF MACINDAW is a fantasy adventure with strong characters and a fast-paced plot. Flanagan's characters have heart and his heroes are almost too virtuous to be true. While an adult audience might dismiss Will and Horace as one-dimensional, their shining courage and unwavering sense of morality will appeal to younger readers.

Araluen is an epic fantasy world reminiscent of Tamora Pierce's Tortall with a pinch of C. S. Lewis' Narnia thrown in for good measure.

Reviewed by: Amber Gibson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snowy siege, 18 Mar 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When we last saw Will Treaty, he was in a seemingly hopeless situation -- the knight Keren and his treacherous sidekick Buttle had taken over MacIndaw Castle, the heir has been chased off, and Alyss was a prisoner.

"The Siege of Macindaw" picks up immediately after that, and thankfully John Flanagan steers the story off in a much warmer, more hopeful direction. While the middle part of the sixth Ranger's Apprentice book is on the slow side, the gentle humor, elaborate strategies and action-packed climax keep it intricate and interesting.

Will is delighted when he hears news of a young warrior with a free-for-hire shield in the area -- it's Horace, meaning that he now has a somewhat better chance of victory. As a brigade of Scotti warriors approach, meaning that a chunk of Araluen will be lost, Will also acquires other allies: Malcolm the "sorcerer" and his followers, and a band of stranded Skandians who are all too happy to be hired.

So Will and his allies set out to capture the Scotti warriors, and somehow must find out what their battle plans are. But Malcolm's illusions and deceptions won't be enough to stop the soldiers of Macindaw -- it will take plenty of strategy and combat to infiltrate the castle. And when Will finally finds Keren, he will find someone dear to him suddenly turned against him.

"The Siege of Macindaw" is a rather slow-moving book at times -- the entire middle section is a stretch of careful strategic planning, with the occasional spurt of bloody, knife-swiping action. Fortunately, it's also very intricate and well-mapped out, and it's become clear once and for all that Will is no longer just an apprentice -- he and Horace are a strong, confident Ranger and warrior.

While things seem hopeless at the beginning, Flanagan devotes much of the plot to building up advantages for our heroes -- smoke-and-mirrors demons and monsters, a band of hardy Skandians, and their own prowess. And the last third of the novel suddenly blossoms into an emotionally intense, action-packed story that pits Horace, Will and their little band against Keren.

Flanagan also has thoroughly solid, atmospheric writing that brings to mind snow, big eerie illusions and a ghastly scene where Malcolm terrifies the Scotti with the image of a reality-bending demon. While the story is devoted to stopping Keren, he inserts some pleasant exchanges that keep the characters connected, such discussing a proper name for Will's dog, or a fun little limerick challenge ("What rhymes with Macindaw?").

But the most important focus here is Will and Horace, now confident young men who still bicker, care about each other, and fight the Scotti with wild abandon. And Will's obvious feelings for Alyss finally come out into the open, while Horace is hinted to have some feelings for another absent girl. And Flanagan's careful writing also leads to some very intricate villains -- though a bad guy, Keren is plagued by guilt and doubt; and the Scotti leader is a guy you end up feeling sorry for.

The sixth Ranger's Apprentice book "The Siege of Macindaw" nicely finishes off the story started in the previous book, and cements the maturity of an apprentice that is now a full Ranger. A good solid fantasy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 5 Sep 2009
By 
Peter Miller (Sudbury, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another superb episode in the continuing story of The Rangers Apprentice. Well constructed, full of action and excitement.

IT is a pity that this book and the previous one were not combined in one book, they are one story. I am sure that children would prefer it, I know that I would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snowy siege, 18 May 2010
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
When we last saw Will Treaty, he was in a seemingly hopeless situation -- the knight Keren and his treacherous sidekick Buttle had taken over MacIndaw Castle, the heir has been chased off, and Alyss was a prisoner.

"The Siege of Macindaw" picks up immediately after that, and thankfully John Flanagan steers the story off in a much warmer, more hopeful direction. While the middle part of the sixth Ranger's Apprentice book is on the slow side, the gentle humor, elaborate strategies and action-packed climax keep it intricate and interesting.

Will is delighted when he hears news of a young warrior with a free-for-hire shield in the area -- it's Horace, meaning that he now has a somewhat better chance of victory. As a brigade of Scotti warriors approach, meaning that a chunk of Araluen will be lost, Will also acquires other allies: Malcolm the "sorcerer" and his followers, and a band of stranded Skandians who are all too happy to be hired.

So Will and his allies set out to capture the Scotti warriors, and somehow must find out what their battle plans are. But Malcolm's illusions and deceptions won't be enough to stop the soldiers of Macindaw -- it will take plenty of strategy and combat to infiltrate the castle. And when Will finally finds Keren, he will find someone dear to him suddenly turned against him.

"The Siege of Macindaw" is a rather slow-moving book at times -- the entire middle section is a stretch of careful strategic planning, with the occasional spurt of bloody, knife-swiping action. Fortunately, it's also very intricate and well-mapped out, and it's become clear once and for all that Will is no longer just an apprentice -- he and Horace are a strong, confident Ranger and warrior.

While things seem hopeless at the beginning, Flanagan devotes much of the plot to building up advantages for our heroes -- smoke-and-mirrors demons and monsters, a band of hardy Skandians, and their own prowess. And the last third of the novel suddenly blossoms into an emotionally intense, action-packed story that pits Horace, Will and their little band against Keren.

Flanagan also has thoroughly solid, atmospheric writing that brings to mind snow, big eerie illusions and a ghastly scene where Malcolm terrifies the Scotti with the image of a reality-bending demon. While the story is devoted to stopping Keren, he inserts some pleasant exchanges that keep the characters connected, such discussing a proper name for Will's dog, or a fun little limerick challenge ("What rhymes with Macindaw?").

But the most important focus here is Will and Horace, now confident young men who still bicker, care about each other, and fight the Scotti with wild abandon. And Will's obvious feelings for Alyss finally come out into the open, while Horace is hinted to have some feelings for another absent girl. And Flanagan's careful writing also leads to some very intricate villains -- though a bad guy, Keren is plagued by guilt and doubt; and the Scotti leader is a guy you end up feeling sorry for.

The sixth Ranger's Apprentice book "The Siege of Macindaw" nicely finishes off the story started in the previous book, and cements the maturity of an apprentice that is now a full Ranger. A good solid fantasy story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More Mature, 1 Sep 2014
By 
Having been unable to rescue Alyss, Will has retreated back to the forest. Knowing that Sir Keren is a traitor and is summoning Araluen’s enemies to the north, the Scotti, to take Castle Macindaw, Will must come up with a plan to take the castle himself. However contacting the King to summon an army could take months in the snowy winter, by which time it will be too late. Will soon discovers that he has a few different friends, old and new, to help him. However will it be enough?

Book six carries on straight after book five and you are pretty much immediately thrown into the action. I really appreciated this as i was raring to get into the story.

I found Will’s character was tested quite a bit in this book. There were some points that i was a little upset in his reactions, which made his character slightly flawed – this actually being more realistic. I think i was coming to a point where i held him in too high esteem, that he could do no wrong. It took me back to reality and although i am a little sad i think it was for the best. He is still a great character and i still really like him, he’s just not perfect! Horace was his usual, steadfast self. Alyss proved again to be extremely intelligent, strong willed and independent. I really like her. The new characters were both extremely likeable and detestable and i am starting to think that the Skandians are becoming my favourite group of people!

The story was interesting and kept me turning the pages however i did feel that it fell a little flat in the middle. I’m not sure whether there was a little unnecessary text or what however the pacing was a little off.

The books are getting more and more mature and the deaths in this one were definitely so. Also as Will is now an adult, there are themes that a little mature say for a child.

I would definitely recommend this book, however not so much for children anymore, more young teenagers or preteens, and adults if you like fantasy and adventure. However you really need to start at the beginning with the first book, The Ruins of Gorlan (which i feel is suited for children).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rangers Apprentice- The siege of Macindaw, 22 Nov 2009
This whole series is amazing and has renewed my 15 year old's love of reading. He missed all the films on a transatlantic flight as he was so engrossed in the series. The only problem is having to wait till January for the next one in the series. Now he's back on the games console!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My grandson was delighted with the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ranger's Apprentice 6: The Siege of Macindaw (Kindle Edition)
Another great book in a great series were will has some troubling situations and finds himself befuddled by the mysteries of love

Max green 11
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jam packed with adventure, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ranger's Apprentice 6: The Siege of Macindaw (Kindle Edition)
I'm not going to say loads as I won't be fill all the positive stuff on here but I'm going to say dead it as there is sentence suspense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ranger Apprentice, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Real good serie. Love it. Have read them all till book 8. Have to order nr 9-12 yet.....
Great bookseries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews