Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big problems for little people
Another race also inhabits this Earth, a race four inches tall that lives and moves very quickly, and they are called "nomes." Masklin, the leader of a dwindling band of nomes, decides that a better life must be found, so they stowaway aboard a truck, and find themselves taken to a huge department store. This department store, Arnold Bros. (est. 1905), is populated by...
Published on 17 Mar 2003 by Kurt A. Johnson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me so much
Love Terry Pratchett Disc World series but this is not quite my style, sorry Terry but I still love you
Published 9 months ago by Jai Kingston


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Younger Pratchett, 19 May 2009
I won't spend too much time on this review, as others have said it all. It's Pratchett for a younger reader but a great wadding for classic Pratchett fan until his next paperback comes out (I'm not a lover of hard backs).

A Terry Pratchett fan must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 3 July 2014
Bought this for my Dad, and he loves it. A brilliant addition to his collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent to read aloud, 12 May 2014
This is an excellent ‘cross-over’ book – intended for children, but all the more enjoyable for adults.

It's Pratchett at his best, in my view, creating a world of ‘nomes’ who live in the human world, modifying it a little, yet at the mercy of the larger, slower creatures who make things happen.

Lots of subtle humour – first in the ‘Bromeliad’ trilogy, and very enjoyable. I first read this about fifteen years ago, then read aloud to my sons when they were around seven or eight. Makes an excellent read-aloud for children this age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not for me so much, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Jai Kingston (Rayleigh Essex) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
Love Terry Pratchett Disc World series but this is not quite my style, sorry Terry but I still love you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truckers, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Amazon Customer "Peter" (Northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book once I got into it. Maybe not as good as the Disc World books but I liked it and would recommend it for anyone over 10 years old and under 150.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok ish, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
Not the best but an easy Christmas read. lets see if the series continues and if so, where will it lead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really fun and adventurous, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
this is a very clever book in Terry Pratchett's usual witty style, looking at the world through the eyes if a race if small beings known as nomes. Really looking forward to the second installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ,Refreshing, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
5 stars because whenever I picked it up I found it very hard to put down.
Great concept, makes you want to believe. Cannot wait to read the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terry Pratchett at his best, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I could never get into Pratchett's adult books but have come back to the Nomes series, excellent, well-constructed and thoughtful books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing idea, 16 Oct 2013
By 
Angela Chick (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes (Kindle Edition)
I just love the idea that there is a duplicate version of ourselves here on earth, albeit that they are only 4 inches tall..... written for younger readers, but will be enjoyed by anyone who appreciates good writing !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Truckers: The First Book of the Nomes
£3.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews