Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compaq CQ1140-UK Desktop
We were looking for a capable system, small enough to fit on a desk if required, with its main use for Internet browsing and office type applications. This fits the bill very well, is small, compact and boots very quickly. We went for a 22" Iiyama screen which complements this brilliantly.

As always, don't forget to buy speakers or a monitor that has them...
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by John H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars O>K> but you need to buy extras ....
This computer is o.k. for the price but you need to spent some extra buying wifi set, bluethoot, monitor, etc. Has two USB ports in the front high speed. Two medium speed USB ports at the back ; and two low speed USB at the back also. So, if you need to install a wireless key board and mouse, wifi device, bluethoot, etc. At the end you don't have free USB ports for to...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by Rupifragum


Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compaq CQ1140-UK Desktop, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
We were looking for a capable system, small enough to fit on a desk if required, with its main use for Internet browsing and office type applications. This fits the bill very well, is small, compact and boots very quickly. We went for a 22" Iiyama screen which complements this brilliantly.

As always, don't forget to buy speakers or a monitor that has them integrated. The one thing that I'd like to see in desktop systems aimed at the consumer market is integral WiFi. It would cost next to nothing and, given a large number of people are using wireless these days, it would help when your router is downstairs and the computer upstairs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value, does the job!, 9 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
Very impressed, powerful, compact (no pun) and easy to set up, we went for open office for the first time, very impressed with the free programs.
Good value, not a gamers PC but as a family unit, great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent litlle machine - brilliant value, 15 Nov 2012
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
I have been using this machine for about a year now and in that time I am very impressed. OK, it may not be for you if you want to play the latest blockbuster shoot em up but if you want to surf the net, type emails, use Skype, You tube, online banking and general spreadsheet/word processor stuff it is perfect. Runs whisper quiet and its sleek little case is unobtrusive and takes up little desk space. Doesn't come overloaded with crapware and the quality of the supplied keyboard and mouse, although basic is perfectly acceptable. Mine is now ripping along having just upgraded to Window 8.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good thing in a little bundle, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
I wanted a PC for basic computer tasks - word-processing, spreadsheets and internet browsing. I was not looking for something that would provide high definition graphics or high level gaming.

This PC meets my requirements. It comes in a very neat, compact tower case - with 2 USB ports on the front and 4 on the back. It boots-up quickly and runs quietly.

Pre-loaded software is minimal, but if you already have your favourite software on CDs or can download it from the internet, that should not be a problem.

As is frequently the case nowadays there is no hard-copy manual, but there is one on the hard drive. There is no recovery disk, but one can easily be made (using 3 non-rewriteable DVDs - NB: not CDs).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars O>K> but you need to buy extras ...., 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
This computer is o.k. for the price but you need to spent some extra buying wifi set, bluethoot, monitor, etc. Has two USB ports in the front high speed. Two medium speed USB ports at the back ; and two low speed USB at the back also. So, if you need to install a wireless key board and mouse, wifi device, bluethoot, etc. At the end you don't have free USB ports for to plug in your ipod, memory stick, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Little Machine, 9 Feb 2012
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
Bought this for my wife to replace an ageing laptop. She mainly uses it for photography work and for making cards. It has proved to be an excellent machine far quicker than the old laptop and with 1.5tb there's enough room to hold just about all the music, photos and videos you would ever accumulate. The other plus point is it's size as it's tiny compared to a standard desktop - we have it sitting on top of a standard computer workstation and there's plenty of room left. Very good value for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compaq E-450, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
I am pleaseed with the compaq computer and would recomend it. The old computer was aboutb 3-4 years old and getting very slow and noisy. This one responds quickly and is silent, and as it is small enough to fit behind the monitor saves me floor space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SILVER TOP's POINT OF VIEW, 31 Jan 2012
By 
D. G. L. Hennell (Ipswich, Sufflok, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
Very quick delivery service. And now for the important part, from a non-techno silver top a piece of cake to set up. Does it do what I wanted? most certainly yes, considerably more in fact.The pre-loaded Micro soft Office does all that I want and I soon got used to the side panel and adverts etc. It replaced a(in modern terms) elderly computer so the results of getting online and multi tasking are impressive to say the least. A very small and compact tower so no problems with space for it. To cap it all I think that value for money wise its a real winner. To readers of this be aware I am not a gamer so cannot comment on that aspect. Well done HP.
David H Ipswich
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
My motherboard died after one weeks use,your money would be better spent on a standard pc from elsewhere with a decent returns policy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars avoid at all costs, 22 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. Chimes "Gravette" (Gers, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP Compaq CQ1140UK E-450 Desktop PC (AMD E-450, 1.65 GHz processor, RAM 4GB DDR3, HDD 1.5TB, DVDRW, AMD Radeon HD 6320, Windows 7 Home 64 Bit) (Personal Computers)
Like another reviewer's system, mine died within weeks.

The technical support is useless, and after about a dozen calls and emails, it still sits dead in a corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews