Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars23
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£9.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 March 2008
What more can anyone really say? With a title that always brings a schoolboy smirk to my face and some of the most ridiculous scenes in a modern horror film that I can recall - ''Frankenhooker'' is the perfect midnight movie for fans of subversive and rather silly cinema.

Director Frank Henenlotter (recently only returning from MIA with the eagerly awaited BAD BIOLOGY) has always made movies that walk the line of absurdity. From his ''Basket Case'' trilogy to his drug addiction metaphor splatter epic ''Brain Damage'', Henenlotter's movies have always been horror comedies with an undercurrent of an actual idea behind them. Not just 'face value' horror pap - actually, something going on behind all the rubber and blood. Frankenhooker, although not as clever as something like 'Brain Damage' - does work on many levels, but also does what it says on the tin. It has a woman reanimated as a hooker. Which for me, is what makes this director very special.

The story has Jeffrey Franken (played to perfection by James Lorinz) overcome by the death of his fiance (Patty Mullen) in a freak lawn mower accident. Distraught to the fact that his love no longer has a body (and only a severed head!), he decides to re-animate her by collecting body parts of various prostitutes in the vain hope that he can somehow recreate his diseased partner. Along the way, Jeffrey gets involved in 'super crack', a pimp named zorro and many, many ladies of the night. It's all played for laughs and is easily the work of a guy who loves 50s nudie movies and gross out gore and comedy. Its low budget actually helps keep the movie on the seedy side and the cast are pitch perfect in their over the top delivery. Henenlotters' direction is sharp and his screenplay is both funny, playful and ridiculous.

Synapse Films' disc is well produced with a decent transfer and a host of (though short) documentaries and featurettes - one featuring Patty Mullen recollecting the movie and the other with Gabe Bartolas talking about the various effects. The commentary by Henenlotter and Bartolas is both funny and involving. All in all, not the most thought provoking film out there - but, if you are on the lookout for great fun, cheep gore and exploding hookers - this movie is for you. All three of you.
11 comment13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
If Arrow Video had a great 2011 then 2011 is off to a great start! The previous Optimum Frankenhooker DVD was such a load of ****! The new Arrow Video release has great artwork by the legendary Graham Humphreys and the option to display three of the other famous poster artworks including one crazy Japanese one I had never seen before!

The booklet inside is awesome and the amazing extras continue onto the disc where we get a commentary with Frank Henenlotter and James Lorinz (from Street Trash!) and interviews, SFX stuff and loads more. The feature itself looks amazing in HD, if you're still watching DVDs get with the programme - Arrow's Blu-rays are worth it!

The feature itself, if you haven't seen it is a brilliant pastiche of Shelley's classic Frankenstein and tells the story of Jeffrey Franken, he's a bit of an odd crazy scientist and his grielfriend has just accidentally died. In a lawnmower accident... So Jeff decides to re-build her from hookers by giving them his own concoction of supercrack so they expolode and he collects up the body parts. If you like your grindhouse classics weird and wonderful Frankenhooker is for you!
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2000
Frankenhooker is an inspired work of genius. The plot could almost be Shakespearian, if old Will could have written with this much style. If you like your films with lawnmower accidents, brains in jars, crack and hookers (and let's face it, who doesn't?) you cannot afford to miss this.
The basic plot is man's girl is killed (brilliantly), man invents super-crack, man trys to reanimate girl using hookers' body parts. Its the time old tale of young love flourishing in the face of adversity - I would strongly recommend the directors of Titanic have a butcher's at this before making the same mistakes again.
My only critism of this film is that it needs more Jar Jar Binks and Celine Dion.
0Comment32 of 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
this is the standard blu ray not the limited with the slip cover and poster
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2006
This is just great. Sound Plot, Great dialogue, and great acting. That is quite possibly the best performance of a woman bought back from the dead using the body parts of various dead hookers I have, or likely to see ever. And it was very well shot, i have never seen a exploding hooker action sequence as good as that. period. And right at the end a twist no one saw coming. watch this. you know you want to
0Comment8 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2013
This arrowdrome edition of the movie is wonderful as it has an alternate cover and special feature , well worth owning for any henenlotter fan
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
A brilliant Gory take on the Frankenstein legend from the Director of the Basketcase Trilogy,so you know what to expect.Sick and Funny.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
I LOVE LOVE LOVE my arrow video edition of Frankenhooker! Not only do I get the hilarious film, but it's got loads of features to boot. The visual quality is better than with previous editions with really sharp images and great colours, and the packaging looks super sleek on my film shelf.

Will definitely be buying more from them - great high quality product! Thanks!
11 comment6 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2012
When your summer lovin comes to an abrubpt end under the blades of your trusty, rusty lawnmower and the girl of your dream's life gets cut shorter than your newly mown grass what would you do? Cry yourself to sleep whilst listening to Radiohead? Or rebuild her and bring her back to life, better and bustier than ever using the best cuts of local hookers? Surely such an idea can't go wrong? Can it?

Got to hand it to Arrow they have done it again. What they do, they do so well.

Time and time again they reach back into my childhood 80s video rental store memories and return with classic titles that I can relive again and take a nostalgic, bloody and sleazy trip down memory lane. Some of the titles may have been released on DVD since through other companies but you have to applaud the love Arrow put into their releases. Yes the transfers may not make them the best titles to showboat your HD setup, but considering the source material for many of the titles they are as good as you are going to get unless they do a Hollywood shot for shot remake, and nobody wants that!

What really makes Arrow titles stand out from the crowd though are the extras, pure gold as usual.

The packaging for their blu-ray releases make them must own items for any serious genre collector. You get the usual reversible sleeve with both original and commissioned artwork, double sided fold-out artwork poster and exclusive collector's booklet featuring brand new writing on the film by regular contributor Calum Waddell. Whenever friends eye my blu-ray collection they always head straight for the Arrow shelf, the packaging always screams "pick me up and look at me!"

Once I have enjoyed and revisited the film you can then sit back and learn everything about it with the always excellent original extras and Frankenhooker does not let you down.

There is a very informative exclusive audio commentary with director Frank Henenlotter and star James Lorinz. The more than substantial 'Your Date's on a Plate, the Making of Frankenhooker' behind the scenes featurette and an exclusive Tour of the Gabe Bartalos Effects Lab featurette plus more interviews and trailers that will keep you entertained for hours after the credits have rolled.

Forget Ebert and Maltin, we all know that there isn't a better film critic than Bill Murray who even goes as far as to give it his official stamp of approval "if you see one movie this year, it should be Frankenhooker."
0Comment8 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
Silly and enjoyable take on the Frankenstein story
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.