Customer Reviews


237 Reviews
5 star:
 (134)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Thank goodness for this wonderful Oz makeover of LND!
As a huge fan of 'Phantom of the Opera', I went to see 'Love Never Dies' as soon as it opened in London. At the end, I left the theatre feeling more than a little bemused and a tad disappointed. The performances were excellent, (Ramin Karimloo) but the plot seemed to contradict 'Phantom' in several puzzling aspects, and parts of the production, notably the climax, were...
Published on 12 Mar 2012 by Goth lady

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed in places, dazzingly in others
I must start by saying that the film itself is gorgeous; it's really immersive considering the theatrical nature of the production.

However, the musical itself is quite flawed. This is definitely not the fault of the actors; Ben Lewis does a terrific job with a sensuous voice that you can get lost in. Anna O'Byrne is very engaging with a nice, crisp soprano...
Published 18 months ago by Suzie


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic! Thank goodness for this wonderful Oz makeover of LND!, 12 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Never Dies [DVD] (DVD)
As a huge fan of 'Phantom of the Opera', I went to see 'Love Never Dies' as soon as it opened in London. At the end, I left the theatre feeling more than a little bemused and a tad disappointed. The performances were excellent, (Ramin Karimloo) but the plot seemed to contradict 'Phantom' in several puzzling aspects, and parts of the production, notably the climax, were oddly limp. I do understand that, later, the London production was improved and re-jigged (sadly, I missed my chance to see it), but this Melbourne production is just something else! An absolute knock-out with fantastic, imaginative staging and all the emotion that the London preview production I saw didn't quite deliver. The music is stunning, the leads are powerful and it's one of the most visually exciting pieces I've seen in a long while.

Please bring the Melbourne re-staging to London! In the meantime, I thoroughly recommend this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful production of a wonderful show, 13 Mar 2012
This review is from: Love Never Dies [DVD] (DVD)
Watched the new DVD of "Love Never Dies" last night. Fantastic production but very different from the concept album that I'm very familiar with and also different from the London production I saw a couple of years ago.

Great casting of The Phantom and Christine, perfect for portraying who they have become in this story but I was none too sure about Meg Giry, supposedly Coney Island's "Ooh La Lah Girl". Raoul and Madame Giry seemed about right and the freaks who serve as narrators of a sort throughout the story were wonderful.

While I was a little disappointed with their take on "Devil Take the Hindmost", in which The Phantom did not seem to be goading Raoul quite enough, I thought their interpretation of "Beneath a Moonless Sky" and "Beauty Underneath" were amazing!

Fabulous sets and costumes really seemed to capture the essence of the story and the subtle updatings of The Phantom's wardrobe made more sense, I thought, than the London production where he seemed to be dressed exactly the same as he was in Paris ten years previously - a very different time and place.

Some interesting changes to the plot cleared up some of the less plausible aspects of the original story and filled in a few plot-holes while only managing to create one new one which I thought was fairly good going. I was interested to see that some of the lyrics remain the same but are now sung by different characters in different contexts whereas others seem completely re-written, retaining only the tune and the basic theme of the originals. There was also much more use of refrains and "samples" from the original "Phantom of the Opera" to which this is a sequel. The London production did this too but with different pieces at different points in the story and to a much lesser extent. In the original, the only repeated tunes are "Little Lotte" and "Twisted Every Way" where Christine reflects on her situation.

Over all, I would give this production a 9/10 with the only things preventing it getting full marks being the casting of Meg which made it harder for me to get involved with her part of the story and The Phantom's lack of relish during "Devil Take the Hindmost". I would definitely recommend this DVD and now I'm off to watch it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wizards of Oz, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Love Never Dies [DVD] (DVD)
When Andrew Lloyd Webber announced a 'Phantom' sequel, I thought that he was a little cavalier about tinkering with the 'single biggest piece of entertainment in history'. Of course, it was his to tinker with but was it best left alone? Unfortunately, when 'Love Never Dies' hit the London stage, it got mixed reviews and a concerted campaign from 'phans' who thought that 'love should die' didn't help either. I only saw 'Love Never Dies' in preview in London - I didn't see the revised version.

The Melbourne production is, however, extremely good. The leap from the London preview version to this one is big. A lot of the improvements may have ended up later in London, but the issues with the original book have been skilfully tackled. The premise for getting Christine to sing in America; the musical and theatrical links to 'Phantom of the Opera; the ending. All of these are so much better in this production.

I always thought that Andrew Lloyd Webber's score for this production contains some of his finest work. It was such a shame that he was let down by the creative team in London. I am sure that if the Melbourne production had been the one that originally opened in London - it would still be running now to packed houses. If Charles Hart had been hired to write the lyrics from 'Day 1' and the production team, who are undoubtedly 'Wizards of Oz' had also been on board, this show would be packing them in on Broadway too by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Never Dies Reinvented on Bluray, 17 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
This new production of Love Never Dies and its presentation on Bluray HD is brilliant with stunning cinematography. The new production is taut and fluid and the storyline and characters interactions make a lot more sense. The humanity(and frailty)of the characters is developed, particularly the Phantom. The production has strong musical integrity and the Australian cast across the board is brilliant. The DVD/BD is set to inject the production with a new international life.
Seen the London production and twice in Australia, and have the Bluray. Many people have dismissed the original LND production and the subsequent reworked UK version based on what seems to be a fear that somehow the original "Phantom of the Opera" was compromised. This Australian version has not been seen in London - it was redesigned,choreographed and generally reinvigorated in Australia to huge success on the stage. Hopefully people will view this DVD(or better still BD) with an open mind, and that the success this version has already had, will encourage Lloyd-Webber to open it on Broadway and maybe even again in the UK. As far as the DVD goes, I have no doubt this will be considered one of the best filmed versions of a staged production!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mesmerising and beautiful, 25 Feb 2012
This review is from: Love Never Dies [DVD] (DVD)
I've made the mistake and read lots of reviews before watching this Dvd which led to spending a lot of time comparing: Phantom of the Opera-vs-Love Never Dies, England-vs-Australia, Ramin-vs-Ben, Sierra-vs-Anna. What a waste of time! As soon as you watch this Dvd without prejudice you'll be swept of your feet by this show, you'll be transported into a new, colourful, magical world and you'll be moved to tears as the story unfolds with stunning music and breathtaking songs! If that's what you want, just buy, watch and enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just wonderful!, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I had seen the West End show and loved it and thought it would be a hard act to follow. However this Melbourne production exceeded all my expectations. I was worried that the cast would have an Aussie accent, but that is not the case and the whole cast are just superb. The sets are very different from the London show and are vast and amazing. At the end you really do feel like you have been to the Theatre, and the Blu Ray quality is first class.
If you liked Phantom, then treat yourself to this sumptious sequel. Thank you Andrew Lloyd Webber for making this available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Experience, 16 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
Our eagerly awaited Blu-ray disc of Love Never Dies arrived yesterday. Having seen both the origional and revised London productions we were really excited to see what the Australian Production had delivered. We were big fans of the London Shows and the strong cast performances but this production is far superior, the quality of the set design, the costumes and of course the outstanding performances of the cast and musicians. They interpret the story line with such strong feeling you cannot fail to be moved by this adaptation. The close up camera work really brings you into the characters and the whole experience is that much more believable.

With the London shows the beginng scene in both versions were the weakest part (slightly better in the revised production) and the costumer design of the three side kicks of Dr Y were for my part not in keeping with the period. This version addresses all those issues. Thank you Australia for taking hold of this master piece and bringing it to life once again. Lets hope it comes back to London and becomes the massive hit is so clearly deserves to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Never Dies, 13 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
One of the best filmed musicals I have seen. This along with The Phantom of the Opera filmed in Royal Albert Hall 2011.

I saw the reworked production in London 2010 and I liked it a lot. I also, as the critics, thought that the story was so-so. But the music was excellent. The Australian production is soooooo much better story wise and helps the story along. Still great music but now also with a good story. And in this production you get more music from the first phantom of the opera. See this! I promise you will like it if you are at fan of the first Phantom musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars With this Music, Love Will NEVER Die!!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
If you are a fan of 'Phantom of the Opera' or of musicals in general, I urge you to watch 'Love Never Dies'. The roles of the Phantom and Christine are played by excellent lead actors with vocal qualities which really suit the roles. The music is sweeping, haunting and beautifully memorable. An emotional rollercoaster! The sets on stage are staggering, some of the best that I've ever seen. Indeed, due to the fantastic camera work, at times, this looks more like a film than a stage production. Highly recommended - let the Phantom sing his way back into your life, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 26 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Never Dies [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Love Never Dies twice in London - both different productions. I enjoyed them both tremendously. So, I purchased the DVD with some trepidation....not wanting my fond memories to be changed and tarnished. But, I can honestly say that this production is SUPERIOR in every aspect....the story is SO much easier to follow and understand..the effects are brilliant. I was blown away with the London Stage Production's of the fairground - I found the DVD's brilliant.....Well done Melbourne!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
Love Never Dies Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Simon Phillips (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews