Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (64)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at its finest!
Insurrection: Book 2 of the Bakkian Chronicles, follows on from Book 1, where readers were introduced to Steve and Sarah, a happily married couple from the US of A who find out their (now deceased) ancestors had the ability to travel to another world (Lentari) via a magical portal in their manor home. They find themselves knee-deep in a century-old prophecy, whereby they...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by Valdieron

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good storyline but abrupt writing
Having enjoyed the free book I, I found the second a bit too stop-start. There were too many themes the new characters could have been fleshed out more or eliminated entirely. Relationship btw wizard and dwarf was more intimate than other attempts at romance. I feel that the writer could have taken more time over the one. Still, I read it in one sitting and thought...
Published 22 months ago by Adeline Tan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at its finest!, 28 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Insurrection: Book 2 of the Bakkian Chronicles, follows on from Book 1, where readers were introduced to Steve and Sarah, a happily married couple from the US of A who find out their (now deceased) ancestors had the ability to travel to another world (Lentari) via a magical portal in their manor home. They find themselves knee-deep in a century-old prophecy, whereby they must protect the Prince of Lentari: the conclusion of Book 1 being that they return with him to their home in Idaho!

Enter Book 2. Steve and Sarah, who, by the way, have their own unique magical powers (Jhorun), hear of a kidnapping back on the world of Lentari, and return to the magical land, leaving behind the young Prince (Mikal) with Sarah's sister (Annie) and his tutor from Lentari (Tristan). What follows is a continuation of the plot hinted at in Book 1, whereby sinister forces are at bay, and seek to use the Prince's own Jhorun for their own nefarious means! Steve and Sarah, modern-day magical-swashbuckling partners in crime (so to speak) pull no punches as they seek to rescue the Queen and uncover the sinister plot behind the unfolding events. Filled with humour, adventure, magic and bravado, Insurrection is a finely-crafted work, which I am glad to say, seemed built upon the errors learned from Book 1, which is an indication that the author, Jeffrey Poole, is a craftsman as well as an artist. Readers will find themselves silently cheering for our heroes as they open a case of whoop-ass on any and every foe who steps in their path. With the plot being built upon nicely, readers also have a bit of a hint as to what to expect in the third (and final?) instalment.

If I had anything negative to say about this book, besides it not being long enough ;), it would be that everything seemed to go the protanonists' way, which isn't such an issue with a YA novel, it is only the more die-hard epic fantasy fans who might want to see a bit more character evolution through struggle and loss. But other than that, I have no hesitation giving this gem 5 stars and recommending people add it (and Book 1) to their 'to-read' list.

Gutsy effort, Mr Poole, and I look forward to Book 3.

~Robert Day
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Return to Lentari, 1 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Bakkian Chronicles, Book II - Insurrection by Jeffrey Poole is the second book taking place in the world of Lentari. When Steve gets a message from the world of Lentari he and Sarah know something is drastically wrong. The Queen has been kidnapped! They decide to head back to lend their powerful jhorun's to the chase. Leaving Mikal with Sarah's sister Annie and Trisan, his bodyguard from Lentari they hop through the portal and return to the magical land.

The action in this book picks up much faster than it did in the first of the series. Since almost of the characters have been introduced you are dumped straight into an exciting chase as Steve and Sarah try to stop the kidnappers before they reach the border. The second in the series keeps all the strengths of the first and Jeffrey has grown a bit as a writer leading to a more polished book.

This book appeals to the same audience as book I although I believe there was a little bit more profanity this time. No f-bombs or anything just a few more swear words used. I am going to be looking forward to the third book in the series with a great deal of interest. Jeffrey has created a truly wonderful world populated with interesting and believable characters. If you have even the smallest interest in fantasy pick up the first book in the series and you will get sucked in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great page turner, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Having got the first book free in a deal of the day and finished it in two days, I had to buy the second installment to continue the journey. Once again I was not disappointed. Great for teenagers and adults alike I can guarantee that I will be getting the third book. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2), 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much, wanting to get the next book in the series as soon as possible, to follow the story, which was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A thrilling read i thoroughly enjoyed that book,i recommend this book to any one who like castles and dwarves and dragons.fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
A welcome change to find a married couple as the main 'heroes' of the tale. Only grating aspect is their very archetypical 'American' outlook. The many Americans I have known over the years have been very much less 'cool' and have been far better for it. Other than that minor niggle I was very impressed with the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'unputdownable', 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend it to all fantasy fans as it includes 'magic', dragons,griffins and other mythical creatures, as well as written so that it is 'unputdownable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Best book I have read in a very long time - please keep it up. I have now read all the trilogy of Bakkian Chronicles, and had to purchase your other book Lost City (Lentari) cannot wait to get started on it, thanks

Jackie Hudson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book!!, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Loved reading this book. Can't wait to start to start the next one in the series. A must read!! !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic follow on, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Insurrection (Bakkian Chronicles Book 2) (Kindle Edition)
Within the time it took to read the first page I was whisked back to Lentari faster than if Lady Sarah had teleported me there. I am caught, hook line and sinker with this series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews