Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Warhammer fans
Despite not playing Warhammer for quite some time, the moment I first heard about this film I couldn't wait to see what it would turn out like. It's planned to be the first of many Warhammer films and I found it interesting that they decided to go down the animated film route, rather than live action. Interested to see what would be done, I was definitely not...
Published 13 months ago by K. Daniels

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is ok for fanboys
I am a W40K fanboy, so I am completely bias. I basically forced my wife hehe, to watch this with me, but was a bit embarrassed at times because the movie is reaaaaallly sloooooooow at times. You expect a movie like this to be more fast paced, to be pumped up with adrenaline during the fights but the movie always foreshadowed what will most probably happen next, and it did...
Published 3 months ago by G. M. Philipp


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is ok for fanboys, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a W40K fanboy, so I am completely bias. I basically forced my wife hehe, to watch this with me, but was a bit embarrassed at times because the movie is reaaaaallly sloooooooow at times. You expect a movie like this to be more fast paced, to be pumped up with adrenaline during the fights but the movie always foreshadowed what will most probably happen next, and it did happen. The behavior of some of the characters is incredibly dumb, and makes no sense, so the only reason I gave it a 3 instead of a 2, is because I am a W40K fanboy after all. I think games-work shop has the money to ensure a movie like this is made better, especially if it is all animated, but since the voice acting is all by famous hollywood maybe that cut their budget short, I don't know, it was a bit of a letdown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Warhammer fans, 13 Jun 2013
By 
K. Daniels - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Despite not playing Warhammer for quite some time, the moment I first heard about this film I couldn't wait to see what it would turn out like. It's planned to be the first of many Warhammer films and I found it interesting that they decided to go down the animated film route, rather than live action. Interested to see what would be done, I was definitely not disappointed.

The film manages to throw you straight into the world instantly making you feel almost like one of the characters! Whilst at times, the animation doesn't quite work, on the whole it's very impressive and makes a nice change too. There's plenty of characters and references any fan will spot, with lots of new ideas and characters added to the movie as well, giving the film a fresh feel whilst staying true to the game for us fans.

The voice-acting is also very, very impressive with a superb cast including John Hurt!

A must for any fans of Warhammer (old or new!) . Go and see it!

Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good First Effort, 13 Mar 2014
By 
A. Sheikh "Geo2000" (Riyadh, Saudi Arabia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good first effort in bringing the world of Warhammer 40K to the screen. Seemed a bit rushed in parts but was entertaining and stayed true to the concept of 40K. Will defiantly be a fan favourite am sure. Looking forward to seeing other titles from the Warhammer 40K universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultraspacemarines A Warhammer 40,000 Movie, 30 Oct 2013
By 
Andrew Featherston (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent movie based on the war hammer characters, excellent graphics and good story hope they are going to make more of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ultramarines: A Warhammer 40,000 Movie - Special Edition Collector's Set (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed. Hopefully the 1st of many 40k film. Animation can be a bit choppy from time to time, but you'll ignore this as you become immersed in he story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is brilliant and anyone that says otherwise is squig brained, 27 April 2013
This movie is incredibly good especially as it's games workshops 1st attempt at a movie.
The space marines look awesome and their vehicles look even better, especially the strike cruiser in orbit.
The way the space marines move gives the impression of effortless power as is expected from their power armor.
The daemons are very impressive and the landscape is flawless.
There are a couple of things that the company got wrong such as:
1 - they appear to have gotten chaplains and librarians mixed up.
2 - the bolters of the ultramarines are able to effortlessly penetrate the chaos power armor which anyone that plays the game knows is wrong.
3 - The flames one of them carries appears to effortlessly kill the chaos marines which anyone that plays the game knows is only slightly less ridiculous than the bolters.
But overall the movie was very impressive and money well spent.
A couple of things I would have preferred are:
1 - A better introduction to explain the movies context like star wars opening.
2 - Have normal humans in the movie as the fact most space marines are 7 or 8 feet tall isn't obvious as there is nothing to compare them to.
3 - The film just assumes the watcher will know what a chaos marine is.
4 - How the daemon got out of the book isn't obvious as the imperial fists are unlikely to have just started reading it after 10'000 years so the daemon will likely have tricked one of them into it or a chaos marine may have been able to sneak into the fortress monistary.
5 - They downplayed the crushing, intolerent galaxy wide religion of the divine emperor to the point that the space marines might as well have been talking about Santa instead of the "man" every citizen is forced to worship from birth to death.

If I had been writing this movie I would have centered it on the Tyranid invasion of Macragge starting with the 1st contact at Tyran fleshing the movie out with ultramarines vs Tyranid battles on the ground and in space and finishing off with the last stand of the terminator 1st company against the Tyranid swarms.
If they really needed to have chaos I would have preferred that they got a story arc of their own instead of just jumping at the ultramarines.
I would have loved seeing the Inquisitor Eisinhorn books done as a movie as they show everything in the 40k universe from space marines, inquisitors, imperial guard, imperial navy, chaos, daemons, aliens and possibly most important the imperiums citizens themselves as their would be no point in having space marines to defend the imperium if there weren't every day citizens to defend. The space marines who while being important are only a small part of the universe and not the whole thing.

All in all I would give this movie 7/10 as it is very well done and a great 1st attempt from games workshop which will hopefully encourage them to make more in the future based not just on 40k but fantasy as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fanboy film, 25 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great short story for the film.
The voice acting is fantastic.
CGI lets this film down. At times the CGI fails and you can see through some of the characters and see things that are behind them. the back ground in the ship is very detailed.

Good first attempt, hope they build on it with more and better films in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 10 Jun 2014
By 
MR - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As with all things based in a fantasy universe, there are bits you will recognise, and other bits you will think 'that's not how I imagined it!'. But, overall, it's a good take on the 40k / Space Marine idea, and done pretty well with some (fairly) famous voice actors. Worth a shot if the price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As I imagined it, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Warhammer universe comes to life in this movie, in a way very similar to what I see in my mind. Good graphics, relevant content, interesting storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars this film stinks, 10 Mar 2014
dreadful movie this film is just too awful, it plays like some bad bit of FMV from an old computer game, just awful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews