Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruised and bruising swansong for indie noiserockers
Hailed by some as the saviours of rock'n'roll on the release of their debut LP 'Pychocandy' in 1985, it was perhaps inevitable that the Jesus and Mary Chain's career path would be downhill from thereon in. This, their last record, originally appeared in 1999 to widespread disinterest and the band split up soon after, bitter and disillusioned. It's a good record though,...
Published on 15 Jan 2001

versus
3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The opening track, "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" is scorching and one of the Reid Brothers' finest moments, but it is downhill from there. A collection of fairly lame tunes from the erstwhile masters of feedback. Impression of a band whose ideas had run out.
Avoid - buy the vastly superior "Psychocandy" instead.
Published on 22 Mar 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bruised and bruising swansong for indie noiserockers, 15 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
Hailed by some as the saviours of rock'n'roll on the release of their debut LP 'Pychocandy' in 1985, it was perhaps inevitable that the Jesus and Mary Chain's career path would be downhill from thereon in. This, their last record, originally appeared in 1999 to widespread disinterest and the band split up soon after, bitter and disillusioned. It's a good record though, sometimes a fantastic record one, though at other times it is admittedly a little hard on the ears. The tension between Jim and William Reid, the brothers from East Kilbride who basically were the band, is nowhere more evident than it is here. Jim's songs are upbeat and melodic, celebrating his life and what he has made of it with music, as on the opening blast of 'I Love Rock'n'Roll' and the heartfelt 'Stardust Remedy'. One wonders to what extent Jim's optimism is an attempt to annoy his famously surly brother Wiliam, whose bitterness, misanthropy and self hatred manifest themselves in a number of uncompromising songs. On some, like 'Birthday' and 'Cracking Up', the result is bracing, dynamic, a perfect demonstration of the group's mastery of indie-rock dynamics; elsewhere, as in 'Commercial' and 'Degenerate', it's a (no doubt intentionally) bruising grind. The album is by no means unremittingly grim, however. Guest appearances by the brothers' sister on 'Mo Tucker' and Mazzy Star singer Hope Sandovaal on 'Honey' provide light relief and musical variety, while several more delicate songs towards the end, William's 'Never Understood' and 'I Can't Find the Time for Times' and Jim's 'Man in the Moon' and 'Dream Lover' prove that both could write impeccably melodic, sensitive, even moving pop music when they so chose. The album ends, however, with 'I Hate Rock'n'Roll', William's bitter tirade against the music industry by which he felt so wronged, and one can't help but think that if they felt like that about it, it's probably just as well they gave it up. While they lasted, though, they were unique, and this is a great lost album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cynical noise masters saving the best to last, 7 Nov 2002
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
...Truth is it's not been of my car CD player for three weeks! Driving to work these days has taken on a whole new meaning.
I was a J&MC fan throughout the eighties having caught them early on during one of the chaotic Glasgow shows back in 84. I must admit that come the early 90's I thought they had become the 'Ramones' of feedback.
This album changes everything and I just wished I had picked it up four years ago! Not a duff track in sight with, to these ears, the best set of songs on any J&MC album, great trashy lyrics courtesy of the ever cynical Ried brothers, you can sense history in the making as the two songwriters clash between the hate/love rock 'n' roll central theme.
I mean who can not sit back and enjoy a song with the immediate lyrical onslaught of 'I was just a teenage Jesus freak'? Production is huge and the noise guitars and bathtub drums work brilliantly with the tunes and melodies underpinning the chaos.
William sounds so p****d off on some of the tracks that you can almost sense the inevitability of the soon to happen split.
Leaving the very best to last this is a suitable swansong for a group who wouldn't compromise. Totally overlooked upon release this perhaps makes this an even more important masterpiece in the J&MC anti fashion. For Creation & no doubt McGee to take responsibility for the release is a fitting end from where it all started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprised!, 8 April 2013
By 
yangtze (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
Always been a casual fan of the J&MC, but I never heard Munki until today. Astonishingly good. A fabulous indie rock album of epic proportions and, in my humble opinion, their best work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another classic, 17 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
disc 1 is disappointing and sounded like they ran out of ideas but disc 2 is a classic with b side songs that I had not heard before and are superb and finishes off with live performances which are brilliant.my only regret is I never went to see these perform live.my first album I bought was darklands when I was a teenager in the eighties and was hooked on these guys a very underrated band who deserved more credit than they got. I am now 45 and still blast their music today in my car with the best guitar sounds ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the critics...., 3 May 2001
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
..if you are a fan of the later work of the Chain, beginning with Honey's Dead, you'll love this album. If you are more into the tinny, over-feedback sound of the 80s, don't bother. A couple of the tracks on Munki are so-so, but the rest more than make up for minor lapses in Chain coolness. Especially good are Perfume, Commercial and Cracking Up. Make up you're own mind. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Mary Chain album, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
While I've always loved The music these guys kicked out this was purely amazing. From the first second it hit my ears I was gripped. Still now years after it's release I listen to it constantly and it still sounds fresh to the ears. I would probably rate this as my favourite record of all time. Definately in my top 10 anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critics be damned!, 25 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Parker "teddy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
Never mind the NME 6th form 'experts' or the record buying public - this album is a corker containing some sooper dooper tracks and deserves far more respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars munki, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
hmm well i was 21 when psycocandy was released .loved it at the time ,can't listen to it now.the chain moved on .darklands was crap ,along with stoned n dethroned . but honeys dead and automatic were a a different approach they were classic albums .this the follow up and difficult to get released album (their label hated it) contains some class n some naff tracks was virtually the end of a band that lost there way.cant knock the value of this tho .2 cds of audio and a dvd of content .good value although u may want to hit the skip option a few times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second best JMC album, 28 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
After Stoned and Dethroned, my favourite JMC album. It has a great mix oflaid back and fast, again with great lyrics. A real shame JMC never gotthe recognition they deserved in the 1990s when, like Big Country, theywere producing real alternatives to the pap that is Oasis and thedisposable pop tripe of the boy/girl bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 22 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Munki (Audio CD)
The opening track, "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" is scorching and one of the Reid Brothers' finest moments, but it is downhill from there. A collection of fairly lame tunes from the erstwhile masters of feedback. Impression of a band whose ideas had run out.
Avoid - buy the vastly superior "Psychocandy" instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9e925810)

This product

Munki
Munki by The Jesus And Mary Chain
Buy MP3 Album7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews