Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent sound and 100% wife approved
Amazon sold this unit for less than half the swedish price! My first order from a store outside sweden.

I really like the sound. The powerful sub makes up for the non-existing bass in the satellites very nicely.
You can play pretty loud with good sound (for a system of this size).

This system is a very good compromise for a family man who isn't...
Published on 3 Oct. 2012 by prylman

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars 4.1 surround
I can't give the product a review because parts missing when it arrived, only had four speakers & the base, plus they couldn't get a replacement so I could only return for a refund, but it looked great & for that it's worth a couple of stars
Published 8 months ago by G(tm)


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent sound and 100% wife approved, 3 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Amazon sold this unit for less than half the swedish price! My first order from a store outside sweden.

I really like the sound. The powerful sub makes up for the non-existing bass in the satellites very nicely.
You can play pretty loud with good sound (for a system of this size).

This system is a very good compromise for a family man who isn't allowed to put large floor speakers in the living room:)

The terminal for speaker wire is a bit small on the satellites, you can't get a 2,5 mm cable in there (without violence). But when in, these spring clip terminals secure the wire very well.

The build quality is very good, both the subwoofer and the satellites feels really solid.

The bundled wall brackets are easy to assemble and makes it possible to mount the speakers in almost any angle. I mounted them way up on the wall facing down, practically invisible.

I use this system with a Yamaha rx-v671 amplifier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well pleased, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Having had this speaker system for a couple of months now I can honestly say they are excellent sound wise, did have problems initially with the speaker cable as it was quite heavy duty cable I purchased, so ended up thinning the connection strands down just a bit to enable connection to individual speakers, but sound wise after a bit of tweaking and getting to understand and play around with the settings, I finally found the required sound and crossover speed I was after and now love them and would highly recommend them .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound wise, great for a budget speaker system, cable management not so hot, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
If you're looking at a budget speaker system, the Boston XS is hard to beat. Having owned speaker systems from low to the very high end, I was mightily impressed by the sound. The treble is clean and crisp, and the sub fills in nicely giving a decent weight to the sound. When it gets really low of course it all gets a bit muddy, and the mid-range struggles as you'd expect, but on the whole a cracking sound for the price which belies the diminutive stature of these cubes.

The speakers are suitably solid and look nice in a gloss white finish, whilst the sub is only slightly disappointing in a satin white finish. I say slightly disappointing as a gloss white sub would really complete the package, but this is a cheap as chips system so you can't really complain.

The only real issue for me was with cable management. In my opinion they should have incorporated speaker routing into the little brackets, and it doesn't really feel well thought out. The binding posts are tiny as well, so it's a challenge fitting anything other than the smallest of speaker cables (I managed 2.5mm but you're better off using 1.5mm thick cable).

On the whole, and unless you have a really big room, these get a recommended from me :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Design, Great Sound, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
The speakers are beautifully designed. Each one fits comfortably in one hand and they're so tactile that it's a shame you have to mount them on the wall! They come with five corner brackets and five wall brackets so you can choose how to mount them (Boston could save themselves some money here - anyone got five corners in their room??!).

I used a corner bracket but it was actually quite ugly: you could see the bracket round the side of the speaker, and it looked clumsy and bulky. So I swapped it for the more minimalist wall bracket (but still putting the speaker right in the corner) and it looks loads better.

The sub-woofer isn't as beautiful as the satellites, but I've stuck that in a cupboard so who cares!?

Sound-wise (oh yes, I forgot they have function and aren't just ornaments!) the speakers are great: crisp, clear and with more than enough volume for my needs. More qualified ears than mine have written reviews on the sound quality elsewhere on the web, and all give good ratings for the size and price of the speakers.

Great price, great look, great sound, don't bother with the corner brackets, stick to the wall brackets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wife likes them too, 21 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Sneaking 6 new speakers past the wife to the living room is normally quite a feat, except if the speakers are small and look gorgeous (which they do).

Good stuff
Very nice build quality and excellent sound too. When watching loud combat scenes (like Matrix 3), its actually hard too believe all that sound is produced from these small speakers. Installation is a breeze.

Bad stuff
When playing music the mid tone is slightly weak (Dali III reference), but nothing that really bothers me.

Excellent solution for a home cinema that needs good sound and has to look good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Very good sound quality. I was looking for 5.1 speaker but also it had to be beautiful (you know....). Very easy to connect. It has different accesories for wall mounting (many possibilities).

I'm going to use with a Yamaha RX-V475 and with the first test, I'm very surprised with the sound of those speakers. Very clear and powerful.

I need to test deeply, but in the begining, I'm very happy with the purchase.

Amazon's experience, as usual, perfect. And the price is awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great speakers at a great price, 22 Jun. 2013
By 
I. Weinstock "Rookie Bookie" (Greater Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Great speakers here. Considering the size the output is very good. I have a 3.6 x 5.2m lounge and these speakers more than fill the space. The walls may also be white in the room but these speakers blend in halfway up (at ear level when sitting down) and work well with the projector also purchased from amazon.

When the item was received, the packaging was open, however everything was there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely perfect!!!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Extremely fast shipping for Sweden - FREE SHIPPING DEAL worked even for Sweden! Got the loudspeakers 3 days after ordering. The loudspeakers are great, smal and with very good sound for this amount!!! We are more than satisfied with our buy and will definitely shop through amazon UK again.

We could not ask for more, we got a great deal and high quality loudspeakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars 4.1 surround, 20 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
I can't give the product a review because parts missing when it arrived, only had four speakers & the base, plus they couldn't get a replacement so I could only return for a refund, but it looked great & for that it's worth a couple of stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars no use without sub, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boston Acoutics Soundware XS 5.1 Speaker Package - Glossy White (Electronics)
Sound quality is fantastic, I bought this set 5 years ago but Sub never worked. I had to buy full set again to get working sub but its been worth it, sound quality is fantastic, sub makes all the difference
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews