Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A luxury for Joy Division fanatics
The Joy Division tracks with Rowetta singing are excellent and bring a fresh interpretation on classic songs. I saw them performed at the Lowry in 2011 and her performance was spine chilling and the highlight of an excellent show.

The rest of the CD consists of instrumental versions of the same songs and one punky track with Peter Hook signing, which doesn't...
Published 17 months ago by DR M F MCDERMOTT

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars OK
I expected more as the master Peter Hook has a great sound.. did not pull it off. It is only a must for completest!
Published 11 months ago by G. Weber


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A luxury for Joy Division fanatics, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
The Joy Division tracks with Rowetta singing are excellent and bring a fresh interpretation on classic songs. I saw them performed at the Lowry in 2011 and her performance was spine chilling and the highlight of an excellent show.

The rest of the CD consists of instrumental versions of the same songs and one punky track with Peter Hook signing, which doesn't do much for me.

So, while the new versions of Atmosphere, New Dawn Fades and Insight are something really special, I'm not sure the CD itself is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange album, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
Peter Hook seems to be making a career out of Joy Division retreads and this is yet another. Of the ten tracks on here there are 4 different versions (yes 4!) of Atmosphere and two each of Pictures in my Mind, New Dawn Fades and Insight - in each case consisting of a vocal version and an instrumental version with, in the case of Atmosphere, the addition of 2 "A Capella" versions (which are actually just the vocal tracks unaccompanied which is not my definition of A Capella!). So why as many as four stars? Because the music is unimpeachable, the performances are fine (especially the storming versions of New Dawn Fades) and, as the other reviewer says, it is really interesting to hear a female voice tackle Joy Division!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Weird with female vocal, 19 Jan 2013
By 
Dr. I. J. Newey (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
It's weird hearing familiar songs done in a different way. I'm pleased that they didn't try t get someone to sound like Ian Curtis. These are great songs, with Hooky's bass front and centre accompanied by very competent female vocals. Weird, but good weird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
Quite good item, good mix, remix and re-arranged songs, and Peter provides good vocal, also good "lead bass"... nice cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK, 12 Sep 2013
By 
G. Weber "POPBOY" (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
I expected more as the master Peter Hook has a great sound.. did not pull it off. It is only a must for completest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different take on Joy Division, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
Fresh sounding, with the twang of Peter Hook's Bass Guitar.
Always loved Atmosphere. Rowena's Vocals are great.
The acapella versions are hauntingly cool
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish cd, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) (Audio CD)
has to be the worst cd i,ve purchased,steer clear and save your money.its appauling.its very,very,very bad.why do you have to put in 15 words or more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition)
1102 / 2011 (Limited Edition) by Peter Hook (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews