Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New budget PSP
The PSP-E1000 is a new generation model, made AFTER the SLIM versions (v.2000, v.3000). It's a cheaper alternative to both the older and newer models (Go, Vita).

Pros:
- Plays UMDs (disks), which are cheaper than the downloaded versions from the Playstation Network
- Sound, visual, and processing quality is on par with/greater than v.3000
- Much...
Published on 25 Oct. 2011 by J.P

versus
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars memory card
My daughter has just bought this PSP with her christmas money and was very excited when it finally arrived. Luckily she also bought herself some movies because when she tried to play her game it said she needed a PSP memory stick to play the game properly. Just wanted to warn anyone who has never experienced the PSP before ( we are used to Nintendo DS) to buy a memory...
Published on 3 Jan. 2012 by vlucyb


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great console, would be better with WiFi, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
In my honest opinion, the PSP is still one of the best MP3 players on the market. Works flawlessly with both PC and MAC and does not require any type of a 3rd party software to put music on it. The only drawbacks are that it is a bit on the bulky side and this particular version lacks any kind of WiFi implementation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The back doesn't fully close...., 23 Mar. 2012
By 
D. J. Simons "dsimons" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
I'm not going to type a long review as the details of the device are fantastically well covered by my fellow reviewers.

I'm not much for wifi and multiplayer so the fact that this back to basics model has none doesn't really bother me. The matte finish is great and an improvement, aesthetically-speaking, because the screen and the rest of the device doesn't look covered in smears, which bugged me about the previous models.

The screen seems brighter than my old psp-3000 which is a nice bonus and although the device only has a mono speaker, i often forget its there. People who complain about it, just pop in the headphones for the stereo sound.

For me, the biggest niggle with the device is the battery. The battery is inbuilt which means you can't change it when it runs out, or when the battery starts to wear out as they tend to do after a few years. In addition to that i've noticed that the back of the console which you open to insert the UMD, and where the battery is stored, doesn't fully close. It's only slightly raised but if you have minor OCD then you will find this mild torture.

Great overall, with just the minor niggles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 1 Jan. 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
This is the budget PSP. No luxuries here - what you see is what you get. For the (significantly) cheaper price it's offered for, the PSP e1000 loses a lot of the features of the older models. There's no Wifi, which means no multiplayer gaming and no easy, on-console access to the PSN store. If you do want to purchase from the PSN store you'll need a memory card and USB cable - and even if you don't, you'll need the memory card if you want to save your progress in any game. Both of these omissions are disappointing - a small, placeholder memory card (512mb!) would have improved my customer experience immensely. When admiring the budget price, factor in the extra £10-20 you'll be spending on necessary accessories.

That said, it's a brand new PSP for dirt cheap. The fingerprint attractant shell of old has been replaced with a matte black casing, which is much more attractive. It's chunkier and feels cheaper than other models, but not overwhelmingly so, and the whole construction is pleasingly solid. The buttons feel more responsive and on the whole, it's a more attractive machine than its forbears. Access to PSN is still possible through a PC (though Sony's MediaGo software is clunky at best) and if all you want to do is play games on your own, it's really hard to fault the PSP e1000. Lack of internal memory or even a tiny placeholder memory card is disappointing, as are the hoops you have to jump through to get access to PSN, but it's a great little machine for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap DSi/3DS alternative, 2 Jun. 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
This was Sony's last gasp of the PSP before the PS Vita was released. The E1000 is heavily stripped down compared to the the other versions of the PSP, functions like internet browsing and WiFi have gone. This doesn't really matter if all you want to play games via UMDs. Depending on whether or not you have a memory card you can connect the E1000 to a PC via USB and access the PlayStation Network and buy games via digital download from the PlayStation store. The same game on a retail UMD are often cheaper though.

The console feels a bit cheap as well. The speaker is only mono and doesn't sound very good, headphones sound great though. Memory cards are slightly pricey too, the Sony memory stick duo pro cards are more expensive than other same size cards with other formats. But at £85 the stripped out features and slightly cheap feel do not seem to matter to much, at this price its also a fair bit cheaper than either the Nintendo DSi or the 3DS. If you prefer the style of games the PSP offers over the Nintendo releases at £85 the PSP E1000 is good value for money, games can be picked up for as little as £5 new. Buying used games is even cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An extremely good value for money purchase, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
My sons original PSP had broken and I really didn't want to spend too much money to resolve the problem. This purchase was the
ideal answer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 13 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
Needed a PSP to play some of my older games.

Nice look and feel to it.

Would recommend it if you got some UMD games,
otherwise go for the PS Vita :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovey console!, 25 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
I bought this over the PSP 3000 purely because it is matte and so it won't look awful after one gaming session. It's lovely and I prefer it to the Vita because the games library is so much better! The graphics don't feel like a PS2, they feel more like early PS3 games. It's a shame you can't easily change the battery, so that's why I took a star off as I would have liked to put a bigger battery in it. Also there's n wireless connectivity in this but to be honest you will probably never use it any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT CONSOLE CHEAP AND AFFORDABLE., 22 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
A GREAT PSP CONSOLE FOR CHEAP. THE PSP ALLOWS YOU TO PLAY YOUR MINI UMD DVDS AND GAMES. IT ALSO ALLOWS YOU TO PUT UP TO 128GB MEMORY CARD IN THE DEVICE BY USING TWO 64GB MICRO SD CARDS AND PUTTING IT INTO A MEMORY CARD DUO ADAPTER. IT ALSO ALLOWS YOU TO DO EVERYTHING THE 3000 2000 1000 DOES EXCEPT FOR THE INTENRET WHICH I DIDNT CARE ABOUT THE GREATEST PSP TODAY WOULD RECOMMEND YOU BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
Love my PSP. It's the first one I've ever owned, and I bought it mainly to play games from the Metal Gear series. Highly recommend if you're looking for something purely just to play games on. I have no need for wireless connection, so the unavailability of wifi on this console has no hinderance on gameplay.
Christmas money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony PSP, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black) (Console)
I brought this for my brother as his original PSP had broken. This was a great solution and a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PSP Console (Charcoal Black)
Used & New from: £41.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews