Customer Reviews


559 Reviews
5 star:
 (374)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic
The second book I have read on Kindle, I also couldn't put it down. So very very sad and a life ruined by sick evil perverted monsters! Be strong Lily x
Published on 4 Jan 2012 by emma young

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking story
This is a shocking story of abuse and a sad read. I just found it a bit repetitive and the English wasn't great.
Published 20 months ago by Lindsey Porter


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tragic, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
The second book I have read on Kindle, I also couldn't put it down. So very very sad and a life ruined by sick evil perverted monsters! Be strong Lily x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEVASTATING STORY, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
Well i have read many books like this over the years but nothing as horrific as this.If im honest,its so horrific that at one point i actually thought it was all made up.Clearly its not but just as you think Lily's life couldn't possibly get any worse...it does.This was my 1st book on my new xmas kindle and i was unable to put this book down.I just hope that Lily,with the help of her Tony & children,she will be able to find some kind of inner peace.God bless you Lily x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest but shocking!, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. P. J. Parker (Devizes) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
This was the first book I read on my new Kindle and I just couldn't put it down. Lily's story is heartbreaking and at times you feel that it can't all be true, no one could ever have been treated so badly. However, Lily's story continues and you feel so heartbroken for her. This is an incredible story of a girl so badly abused by all of the people in her life it's no wonder Lily struggles on a day to day basis. Lily I hope you find the peace you seek in time, thank you for sharing your story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking to read, 19 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
When I started reading this book I hadn't read the information in depth and missed the fact it was a real story. I thought it was so unbelieveable and far-fetched, but it's so sad when you realise/find out it's true and actually happened to a girl. The content is explicit and graphic, but not offensively so (in my opinion) as it's telling a true story. If it was a work of fiction, I might feel differently but I think the truth should be shared. Not for the faint hearted but I applaud the bravery of this work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read., 22 Oct 2011
By 
Janet34Clark (Nuneaton, Warks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
This is a very tragic and moving book to read, I highly recommend the author, who is both courageous and inspiring beyond measure. I hope that Lily O'Brien will find the peace she so longs for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speechless, 5 Feb 2012
By 
Sarah (Huddersfield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
Your book was the first I fully read on my kindle. Absolutely horrific, worse than anything imaginable in the minds of the sickest people. I didn't stop to put it down. Your story has reached out to me and I want you to know that, you have an amazing family. You're an amazing person. God bless you x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn,t put it down, 1 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't stop reading it, hard to beleive one person can go through so much. Heart breaking story. An amazing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely shocking read that you won't be able to put down, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
From the first page to the end, my heart went out to Lily and her "baby" brother Simon who never had a childhood. Thank goodness she found Tony who has been an absolute rock to her and without him and her children, she probably would have met the same fate as those she lived with in the "institution" and Simon.
This covers her life from the first sexual abuse right up to the present day. When living with her mother she was abused by her stepfather and brother in law. Her mother......she knew everything that was happening and turned a blind eye to it all. As a mother myself, it beggars belief.
When her mother decided she no longer wanted her and her brother and sister around, she packed them off to their father in Ireland. Surely her life could get better. No, her father was never around, instead choosing to live in the pub. As a result of their neglect, all three were sent to the institution where they spent the remainder of their childhood in apalling conditions and their experiences were shocking, be it from their treatment by the nuns, to their living conditions to the experiences when sent away for a holiday with other families, every page offers another beggars belief moment. Whilst an upsetting read, you are willing the end of the book in the hope that Lily has found true happiness. Sadly, as a result of her terribly sad life, the happy ever after I was hoping for did not arrive, though she has three children she loves dearly and a partner who to be honest deserves a medal for supporting her and not giving up on her.
Don't give up Lily! One day, hopefully you will be able to close all of the doors on your demons and enjoy the remainder of your life happy and peacefully with Tony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable, 12 Nov 2012
By 
E. Campbell "em" (yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
TO SAY I WAS SHOCKED WHEN I READ THIS BOOK DOES NOT REALLY DESCRIBE HOW IT AFFECTED ME I KEPT THINKING IT WAS FICTION BECAUSE I COULD NOT TAKE IN HOW LONG THE ABUSE LASTED AND NO ONE WAS THERE TO HELP I COMMEND THE WRITER TO HAVE BEEN ABLE TO PUT PEN TO PAPER AFTER ALL SHE HAD SUFFEREB A GREAT READ BUT DISTURBING IN TO THINK THIS WAS GOING ON WHAT IS MEANT TO BE A CHRISTIAN SOCIETY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shocking story, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Girl Nobody Wants: A Shocking True Story of Child Abuse in Ireland (Kindle Edition)
This is a shocking story of abuse and a sad read. I just found it a bit repetitive and the English wasn't great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 256 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews