Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for the Niigella fan
You've got to be careful with biographies - to many are written by tabloid hacks with an axe to grind. But Gilly Smith is different. Her Nigella biography is meticulously researched and beautifully writtten, and there's no sign that Smith wants to dig the dirt or be in any way 'tabloid'. Not that she needs to be. Nigella's story is dramatic enough...
Published on 6 Dec 2005 by Katherine Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not special
Could not remember even reading this book! She comes across as a perfectly nice woman and I enjoy watching her programmes on tv but found the book rather bland and did not learn anything I hadn't already read about elsewhere.
Published 12 months ago by patricia oliver


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect gift for the Niigella fan, 6 Dec 2005
You've got to be careful with biographies - to many are written by tabloid hacks with an axe to grind. But Gilly Smith is different. Her Nigella biography is meticulously researched and beautifully writtten, and there's no sign that Smith wants to dig the dirt or be in any way 'tabloid'. Not that she needs to be. Nigella's story is dramatic enough without any embellishments and Gilly Smith's telling of it will win over both real and casual fans. A perfect present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious reading pleasure for all foodies, 5 Oct 2005
By 
anna (London, England) - See all my reviews
To be honest I was a bit wary of this book. As a keen cook, and Nigella fan, I wasn't sure that this book was for me. What a revelation! Everything a biography should be written by someone who is obviously well-informed and passionate about her subject. The writer manages to offer some real insights into what makes Nigella tick- food, religion, family - without having to resort to below the belt tabloid journalism.A real treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Nigella Lawson: A Biography., 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
An inconsistant and badly written book. It is full of tittle tattle which tries to impress and gain credibility by quoting so called 'names' from amongst the wealthy and celebrity members of society.
Often contradictory without explanation or clarification. This book contains nothing of substance and clearly demonstrates the author's lack of real knowledge of her subject. What we are given is a series of second and third hand opinions and recollections cobbled together and labelled as a biography.
A waste of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not special, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Could not remember even reading this book! She comes across as a perfectly nice woman and I enjoy watching her programmes on tv but found the book rather bland and did not learn anything I hadn't already read about elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars about who, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
I am not a big fan of authorised biography's but this one seemed like an in-law talking about Nigella. Yes a record of her life but not completely covering an insight more a relation relating a tale
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended with confidence, 6 Dec 2005
What a fine book. I'd long been curious about Nigella Lawson - like many people I knew her from her TV programmes but I knew nothing else about her. After reading this I do. Gilly Smith seems to be that rare thing - a biographer who can write without making the reader feel that they are being too intrusive. It feels fully researched but is sensitively written - and turns Nigella's often tragic story into a good yarn. Whether you're a committed Nigella fan (they'll love it) or you've got a more passing interest, this book will keep you fixed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fabulous, 26 Oct 2005
Ahhh An excellent read! For all true and potential Nigella fans! I enjoyed this book so much that now all my friends and family want to read it too to see what the big deal is about! It's only a small insight into the mind and life of the Domestic Goddess but it's deifnately worth the read!
One of the best books I've read in a long time and is very thoughtfully written!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful., 10 April 2007
By 
Fiona (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Do not waste your money on this book. It is basically a book of quotes from newspapers and does not run as is usual for this type of book ie from birth to current times, this one flits from here to there in no particular order. I couldnt finish it as it was such a let down and I can think of 500+ other better ways to spend my time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars godess revealed, 18 Oct 2005
I enjoyed this book so much that I wrote a long and considered review on this site a few weks ago...but it seems to have got lost in cyberspace, but I feel that itsa book worth reading and reviweing.
The author writes with compassion and empathy. Gilly Smith is either a foodie, Jewish, or both as she writes with the warm insight of 'one who knows'. We're taken on a journey through Nigella's life as the child of a politician and a beautiful socialite, through the agonies of losing both her husband and her sister to cancer and finally to her new life with charles.
I wasn't a fan of Nigella, but I feel that this window of insight into the life of a woman whose comfort is food, has done her justice. read it with cocoa and marshmallows or whatever else you like to indulge in....its to savour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nigella Lawson: A Biography (Kindle Edition)
Interesting read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nigella Lawson: A Biography
£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews