Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the end of the world as we know it - and I feel fine ...
Slip the shiny silver disc in to your player, sit back and enter the disturbed, nightmarish but ultimately strangely comforting world of Melancholia. Like other Lans Von Trier films, this story is centered on strong female characters. Charlotte Gainsbourg is utterly believable and empathetic but the performance of Kirsten Dunst is amazing and totaly absorbing. The male...
Published 4 months ago by Northern wit

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Offbeat and artistic end-of-the-world yarn
Melancholia is an utterly original, borderline pretentious, but occasionally stunningly beautiful take on the old end-of the world scenario.

The extended opening sequence, employing extreme slow-motion effects and astronomical imagery is gorgeous to behold, every scene from which could be hung in The Tate.

This leads into Justine's story (Kirsten...
Published on 27 July 2012 by Cartimand


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlike any other film you'll ever see, 4 May 2013
By 
M. Mabberley (Crawley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
I feel sorry for two groups of people: those who have seen this film and don't appreciate it and those who have never seen it. Personally, I think this is one of the best films of the last few years and my favourite Lars von Trier film, nudging Dogville Dogville [DVD]into second place.

The film is beautiful to watch, intelligent, thought-provoking and a true original. I will probably wear out my copy soon as I can watch it over and over; there's always something new to discover and wonder at.

Unlike any other film you'll ever see and a paradigm shift from the director's other work.

If you don't appreciate it, perhaps you weren't the intended audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Not" The Tree of Life, 14 Feb 2013
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
My favourite film in a very long time [probably since South Park the Movie]. Visually gorgeous, I have watched it on Blu-Ray but am desperate to see it in the cinema. Kirsten Dunst, Charlotte Gainsbourg and Charlotte Rampling are impeccable. And it is hard to think of another film that coldly strips away our comforting distractions from death such as science, marriage, work, shopping - and indeed art and culture - but does it so beautifully. And with an ending that despite its complete rejection of hope or self-deception, still feels utterly human and real. A work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 16 Mar 2014
By 
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
A stunning and very beautiful film, totally unique in every way, I was brought to tears by the wonderful music and cinematography.
You'll find no Hollywood silliness here at all, no cheesy emotions or ridiculous dialogue, just a very realistic depiction of what human beings are really like and how different we all are, yet the same.
It's hard to describe just how amazing this film really is, I suggest you watch it and let yourself just sink in to the whole experience.
10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complex and challenging Melancholic contemplation on severe depression and death, 3 Feb 2012
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
This is a difficult starkly beautiful meditation on melancholia (the old clinical picture rather than more modern conception of severe depression) and the inescapability of death. The wedding of Justine forms the first act as the planet Melancholia appears from behind the sun...a wonderful metaphor which anyone familiar with myth, alchemy and the works of Jung, Campbell and Hillman would appreciate...just as Justine's attempts to mask her illness and 'smile' at her wonderful wedding fail and lead to disintegration with caustic discontent and sabotage. The second act finds Justine being cared for by her sister and wealthy husband who presents a positivistic illision of hope as the planet moves nearer to earths orbit. The ending, with the suicide of the husband and the construction of the willow branches as the planet looms nearer is gripping and moving. A previous reviewer has commented that the lack of tv, radio broadcasts, other 'people' ect was bemusing. I think these facts added to the film and focused it rather than descending into stereotypical hollywood 'hysteria'. A powerful film with a powerful message about human fragility and the paralysing inescapable existential awareness of death and annihilation. Loved it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, eerie, melancholy, 24 May 2014
By 
An enthusiastic reader (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
This film works on all levels for me. It is sublimely beautiful; music, acting, locations. The camera work is perfect and the script original and psychologically true.

I have watched this film several times and will watch it many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's the end of the world as we know it - and I feel fine ..., 17 Mar 2014
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
Slip the shiny silver disc in to your player, sit back and enter the disturbed, nightmarish but ultimately strangely comforting world of Melancholia. Like other Lans Von Trier films, this story is centered on strong female characters. Charlotte Gainsbourg is utterly believable and empathetic but the performance of Kirsten Dunst is amazing and totaly absorbing. The male characters are at best weak buffoons or downright unpleasant. What does that mean? I don't know and and not always looking for a logical progression of events is perhaps key to enjoying this outstanding film.

The special effects are understated and life-like and with the lighting and cinematography build an alternative reality which at the same time is utterly real. Even the Wagenrian soundtrack which grated a little at the start is utterly right by The End.

I suppose I should look for something critical to say. Perhaps it is a little too long and perhaps the first part doesn't connect so well with the second. But that's nit picking. Melancholia is one of the best films I have seen in ages and some images will play forever in the private cinema of my head.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of the world, 5 Feb 2014
By 
GJ Veenbrink - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
A little bit creepy, could happen or could it not?
A beautifull story, beautifully filmed, a wonderfull Kirsten Dunst and of course Wagners Tristan and Isolda, the appropreate music I think
Buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Festen meets the The Sacrifice", 6 Jan 2014
By 
Stefan Brenner "qbalber" (Cambridge, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
Impossible? Well, this is what Lars Von Trier achieves in "Melancholia"; the dogged adherence to social tradition explored by Thomas Vinterberg's drama is successfully blended with Tarkovsky's bleak existential contemplation of annihilation.

The glue that binds is melancholia or loss of purpose. Justine's deteriorating condition is disfunctional only within the regularities of a human sphere. However, as everything is placed under an ever-increasing threat from the approach of a rogue planet, her disconnection from normal social and emotional concerns becomes a strength rather than a weakness and indeed the only rational response to such a disaster. Justine makes one final gesture of reconciliation; she constructs of a "Magic Cave" to reassure her nephew and calm her, by now, hysterical sister. In doing so, she makes up for all the previous pain: when all Earthly life is about to end there is no time left to qualify our relationships.

In her depression, Justine believes the Earth is evil; others would project their fears on to the planet named after the title of the film. In truth, these worlds simply exist, journeying through space until a chance encounter destroys them both ... Von Trier's beautiful film reminds us the event would hold no significance without the value we attach to our relationships, our consciousness of nature in general, and thus to life itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Film, 23 Dec 2013
By 
Wayne Wilmot (Clarksburg, MD United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Masterpiece ... nothing else to say, except thank you Lars von Trier for a great film in an era of few original stories in the cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Nihil, 31 Mar 2013
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Melancholia [DVD] (DVD)
At the end of it all, despite all best endeavours of forever clambering human beings, the silent forces of the universe will eventually roll on in and smother the world. These forces will trundle over all beliefs, creeds, races, life forms and dreams, leaving nothing, not a trace. The universe will continue as if they never existed. Therefore, as the film highlights, what do we do in between - being born and the final destiny is vital.

To describe those characters who inhabit the film - they operate within an invented surrogate world, residing within the secret cave, where the real external world not longer exists, expelled by a force of imagination. This has allowed them to hide away from the over arching reality which blows outside their bubble - a common problem which exists external to the film, which the viewer inhabits. When this show piece is fatally punctured to show the ever hurtling abyss, the human shutters are quickly closed and the conversation about house prices formally resumes.

All external threats are drowned within the tedium of ennui, as the beginning of the film highlights. Reality is swamped within various life costs; sex, money displays, advertising tack, social clambering and other conspicuous forms of consumption to impress the neighbours. For as the director points out, human beings are very unsure of themselves and so need to seek recompense in continuous projections of ill afforded lifestyles otherwise their life lacks meaning. So within the current malaise they embark upon a pretend existence.

Meanwhile, outside of the socially composed bubble, soundless forces rage around the universe, each operates external to this collective human hallucination, grounded upon more primal elements - the origins of the time.

Within the film we see two sisters, the first Justine, a woman who lapses into complete nihilism; a surrender into the nothingness who eventually becomes inert to the world revolving around her.

Then we see her sister, the main character in the second part of the film who tries to pull her out of her malaise through infusing an aesthetic of beauty into her. Meanwhile her husband the man of science tries to appear rational and aloof, forever making charts and viewing the world through his telescope. Science we are informed, by the story, counts for little - about as much as religion within the final moments. It has been made up to describe the world we choose to inhabit, and when it faces its final test, it crumbles.

So within the film the issue of nihilism, nothingness, arises consistently - it rears as an overarching paralysis, raising all types of questions for those who remain and exist. These are finally answered by a huge surge of melancholia surging forward at the end, the vast engulfing power of the final moment.

Not a film for the usual sense of watching through a window and then being led into a candy striped world of escapism - where there are subsequent Prozac/Citalopram style happy ending resolutions - the standard product of consumption.

Operating as the complete opposite of the standard American fare, because instead of putting a reassuring hand on the shoulder this aims to unsettle and distort the viewers perception, not glaze them with cheap adrenaline rushes.

Therefore this is only for those who wish to inhabit other worlds and then receive a painful reminder they do not exist except in your head. Through trying to escape from reality, this will only rub your nose in any desire to keep a personal distance. For those hardier elements who want to embark upon a quest of introspection - a form of mindfulness - this film is for you, by definition obviously higher types.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Melancholia [DVD]
Melancholia [DVD] by Lars Von Trier (DVD - 2012)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews