Customer Reviews


171 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (37)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monster squad
A CGI cartoon movie that is both a spoof of and an affectionate homage to B-picture monster movies from the 1950's.

Susan is just an ordinary lady, and she is about to marry Derek, an upwardly mobile tv presenter. But on her wedding day a meteor strike turns her hair white and makes her very very tall indeed.

Captured by the military and rechristened...
Published on 16 Aug. 2010 by Paul Tapner

versus
53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but shame it wasn't the 3D version
Having just bought Coraline 3D for my daughter, I thought we'd have another entertaining 3D night in with this movie. Unfortunately, I was fooled by the strap line "With free 3D glasses" into thinking the movie was in 3D. It isn't, it is only an extra that is in 3D. Ok, I should have read the small print, but even so, I think, to the casual buyer, it is a bit misleading...
Published on 1 Nov. 2009 by Ian Carlisle


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The monster squad, 16 Aug. 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A CGI cartoon movie that is both a spoof of and an affectionate homage to B-picture monster movies from the 1950's.

Susan is just an ordinary lady, and she is about to marry Derek, an upwardly mobile tv presenter. But on her wedding day a meteor strike turns her hair white and makes her very very tall indeed.

Captured by the military and rechristened Ginormica, she finds herself in a holding facility with other monsters rounded up by the army over the years. Mad scientist and human mind in indestructible body Dr. Cockroach, gelatinous blob B.O.B. and creature from the black lagoon style monster link. Plus the giant insect insectasaurus.

Seemingly destined to be locked away for the rest of her life and to never get things back to the way they were, her life is changed forever when the owners of the meteor come looking for it. Who can save the human race from alien attack? The monsters can.

Adopting an interestingly angular style of animation this takes a few minutes to get used to, and then there's a fair bit of exposition and character introduction to get through first. But suddenly about twenty minutes in, when all that is out of the way and the first of several very well executed and designed action sequences takes place, this becomes very watchable indeed. Now that you're used to the characters all the humour - which comes out of character interaction and behaviour rather than random gags - becomes very funny and the pace of it never lets us up. Added to which there's a fairly decent story which provides a good amount of eye catching spectacle along the way.

The obvious 'just be yourself' message is fine, and it's never hammered home. Once you get into this it becomes a thoroughly entertaining romp.

And keep watching during the end credits for one extra scene.

This is the single disc dvd edition.

Languages and subtitles are as follows:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

Extras are:

Modern monster movie making: a seventeen minute long making of feature with shots of the production and interviews with cast and crew. An entertaining watch and some interesting technical stuff about 3D in there. Along with some very brief flashing images so epileptics be careful.

The tech of monsters vs aliens: a seven minute long feature about the computers and computer programmes used in the animation. Which praises them so much it could be seen as blatant product placement, no matter how worthy the sentiments.

Three deleted scenes that run for five minutes all in all, and can be watched all in a row or one at a time. The first two are storyboards only and not animated but the last one is, although they all have a finished soundtrack. The first does fill in one minor plot detail that wasn't in the final cut of the film, and the other two are pretty good.

A commentary from the filmmakers.

Dreamworks animation video jukebox: songs from other movies from the production company that can be watched in a row or all together.

And on the main menu of the disc moving the down key on the dvd remote control will bring the cursor atop a part of the screen that says DO NOT PRESS and light up a new icon. Clicking on that will play a small batch of trailers. All of which are by now a bit out of date.

Good film. Good dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but shame it wasn't the 3D version, 1 Nov. 2009
By 
Ian Carlisle "Ian C" (York UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just bought Coraline 3D for my daughter, I thought we'd have another entertaining 3D night in with this movie. Unfortunately, I was fooled by the strap line "With free 3D glasses" into thinking the movie was in 3D. It isn't, it is only an extra that is in 3D. Ok, I should have read the small print, but even so, I think, to the casual buyer, it is a bit misleading. After getting over the initial disappointment, we thoroughly enjoyed the movie itself and if it had been advertised as 2D more prominently, I would have given it four-plus stars. It's funny, you can sit and watch it with your child and you will both enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film - but the movie is not in 3D!, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
While this is probably not the best DreamWorks film ever (that's probably Shrek 2) it is better than most family films. It's just as good the second time around (although I suspect it would start to wear thin on the third viewing).

However, I have a problem with the way this 2-disc pack is being advertised. I bought something called "Monsters vs Aliens (2-Disc with free 3D glasses) Special Edition", which to me sounded like I was buying a film in 3D. What I actually got was the feature in 2D only, with a second bonus disc with an 11-minute short called B.O.B.'s Big Break, which is in both 2D and 3D.

It doesn't appear that Monsters vs Aliens is being released in a 3D version on DVD. The "extra" disk is light on content (just the short film plus a paddle game in 3D and a not-very-fun karaoke singalong in 2D), and really isn't worth paying extra for. I would recommend that if you want this entertaining family film, you buy the single-disc version (Monsters vs Aliens (1-Disc) [DVD] [2009]) instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected and loved it!, 10 Dec. 2011
By 
Dodster (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I really didn't want to expect with this movie. I was really surprised when it opened with a good storyline and continued to hold my attention throughout.
The plot opens with Susan, an ordinary woman who is about to marry Derek, an upwardly mobile news/weather presenter. On her wedding day a rogue meteor, from an exploded planet in a galaxy far away, strikes her and turns her into a cartoon version of the 50ft woman. No sooner has she got used to this when the military arrive to subdue her and then lock her in a monster prison where she meets Bob, Dr. Cockroach and Missing link, also monsters detained by the military. There it seems she must stay, doomed to captivity forever...until the aliens decide to invade...!!
Great movie, highly recommended for all age groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious visuals and a sweet heart in funny monster caper, 28 Aug. 2010
This is a film with a very sweet natured core, as excited bride to be Susan Murphy is hit by a meteorite on her dream wedding day, and turns into an 'Attack of the 50ft woman'-esque giant. Before she knows it she's whisked away by a secret government department and introduced to a brilliant assortment of freaks, including a mad scientist cockroach, a loveable lump of blue jelly, and a cocky man-lizard with a spare tyre belly. It's not long before she's helping to save the world, and delighting in her new abilities, but still pining for her reporter groom to be. He seems more interested in Susan the story than Susan the woman. But all that gets shelved when a power crazed alien invades, and extreme incompetence by the US government forces them to turn to the Monsters as their last hope.
It's a very fun film rendered in great high spirits with a sassy asrcastic script, and enough colour and action to keep the kids entertained while the adults get all the sly jokes referring to old cheesy sci-fi and clumsy politicians. The characters are wonderfully memorable, and stand out as brilliantly individual. The animation is also breathtakingly impressive in Blu-Ray. I've never seen the 3D version, and frankly didn't feel like I was missing anything, the Blu-Ray version being so crisp and vibrant. The human story is sweet, the buddy comedy is funny and well-judged, and the film references are clever and amusing.
It's a triumph of an animation film, and one that will be a very good addition to most collections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another must-have to keep the children amused, 29 Oct. 2009
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a review of the DVD, released three days ago, in standard-definition 2D format.

I watched this with my primary-school age children and they were laughing out loud from start to finish. It's rated 'PG' but I think it's perfectly OK for young children of 7 or over to watch on their own. There is occasional adult dialogue but nothing dark, sinister, disturbing or offensive. Nothing to bore the children for more than half a minute.

When a meteorite from outer space hits a young woman named Susan Murphy and turns her into a giant monster, she is taken to a secret government compound where she meets a ragtag group of monsters also rounded up over the years. As a last resort, under the guidance of General W.R. Monger, on a desperate order from The President, the motley crew of Monsters is called into action to combat the aliens and save the world from imminent destruction.

It's a rather thin and pointless story but that really hardly matters. It's another visual feast from Dreamworks and the standard of animation is right up there with the best that's gone before - even in standard definiton. The characters that have been created are excellent and lovable and give this film a clear identity in much the same way as Sully and Mike did in Monsters Inc. The gags, visual humour and one-liners are cleverly suitable to viewers of all ages, making this a good family film that should have three or more generations laughing together.

There are some well-known actors behind the voices, including Reese Witherspoon, Hugh Laurie, Kiefer Sutherland and Renée Zellweger.

In a way this is a spoofy, friendly amalgamation of several concepts, images and quotes from all manner of animated films, cartoons, sci-fi and comedy, such as Close Encounters of the Third Kind, Airplane, ET, Mars Attacks, Godzilla and even My Neighbour Toturo. It's enjoyable, impressive, entertaining, funny and basically a must-have addition to all those Pixar, Dreamworks and stop-motion favourites of the past 15 years. It's not the best, but well worthy of comparison to any of them. It should keep the children amused for hours if not days, because they will want to see it again and again.

Extras included:-

* Film-maker's commentary
* Modern monster movie-making
* The tech of MVA
* Three deleted scenes (two of which are in sketch format only)
* Dreamworks Animation Video Jukebox (songs from other Dreamworks films)

The video jukebox is a good value bonus, and the only extra that the children will enjoy, as it includes the footage from some of the best songs from Dreamworks - 'I'm a Believer' from Shrek, 'Dancing with Myself' from Flushed Away, 'Rockin the Suburbs' from Over the Hedge, 'I like to move it move it' from Madagascar, 'Kung Fu Fighting' from Kung Fu Panda, and 'Here Comes the Sun' from Bee Movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funniest and possibly best DreamWorks picture to date?, 12 April 2009
By 
Susan gets transformed into a 50ft woman on her wedding day and as a result is forced to join a group of monsters to fight an oncoming threat from an approaching alien.

Wall-E, Toy Story, The Incredibles and Monsters Inc all show how fantasy comedy and storytelling combined can work. All Oscar winners that are not DreamWorks pictures. Pixar therefore are on somewhat of a role and the arrival of Shrek and Kung Fu Panda have been the closet rivals ever so could this promising picture depicting the most famous of legends finally top the best animators in the business? For this year that certainly remains to be seen after a fairly disappointing trailer for next Pixar release Up! But Rob Letterman's release is certainly enthralling viewing for any age, if perhaps not going to rattle the cages of Pixar's seemingly unflappable reputation.

What this picture does is entertain from start to finish with a coolly funny plot that maintains the comic without diving too deep into the weepy soap styled animations that can be the knockdown of so many others. When the plot feels like heading that way up pops one of the cool looking monsters with an in-joke or crazy physical act to keep the laughs coming which is a massive relief as when the emotions hit this film doesn't handle all too well. Susan's overwhelming emotions and The Missing Link's unfit shape make you want to hide your head. But do not fret as this is surely the funniest picture DreamWorks have ever mustered.

Shrek had all the attributes for great family viewing. The physical humour of eating disgusting food and Eddie Murphy's Donkey are classic and the emotional core on the concept of appearance is almost tear worthy. Monsters Vs Aliens emotional core may waver but the hilarity from the monsters is beautiful. The physical attributes contributed by BOB are exquisite and the Cockroach's mad attitude towards science is manic humour where even Susan has her moments. Go Monsters! It is an obvious one sided film where you will always route for Monsters as the stereotypical and over dramatic evil alien Gallaxhar (worst villain name ever?) will have you hating him each time onscreen.

The bizarre representation of the President is often funny if way overboard but the kids will love it.

The intertextuality of the film survives on classic Sci-Fi films such as The Blob. Not to mention the inclusion of monsters away from the real world feels Men in Black. But these are handled well through some fine physical humour and an easily accessible plot that will make kids laugh and adults intrigued by the sophisticated action and political agendas.

8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DELIGHTFUL ENTERTAINMENT, 21 Jun. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
I was impressed with Steve Colbert as president. His TV persona showed through in this left of center satire on monster and alien movies. I just might vote for him again. It is a movie that parents will find entertaining as well.

There is a reference to Susan's boobies and a scene where the military man scans his butt to enter a room. That is pretty much the extent of objectionable material. The movie starts out with Susan getting married in a Unitarian(?)church (no Christian symbols) when she is struck by a meteorite which turns her into the 50 foot woman. The military subdues her like Lilliputians and imprisons her with other monsters (interment camp).

When an alien robot attacks the earth, the monsters are let loose to save the planet and win their freedom in return. If your kids liked Mars Attacks, they will enjoy this movie. I know I did and so did my grandniece (third-fourth grade).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MvA in 3D is VG, 6 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Monsters Vs Aliens 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu ray + DVD) [2009] (Blu-ray)
If you are going to buy a 3D blu ray for the first time, why not try this one. Kids and Adults alike in our household enjoyed the 3D version of the movie. Plus the bonus of having the standard DVD version means it can be watched on a normal DVD player in the home or for in-car entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kids Film, 30 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent kids film, it manages to mix into the plot very well 1950s sci-fi B movies (attack of the 50ft woman, it conquered the world, earth v the flying saucers) with some modern sci-fi films (close encounters, independance day, fantastic four) it won't take much to spot them.

Theres some great actors doing the voices like most animated films these days. The story moves along at a good pace and managed to hold my son's interest whilst also keeping me ammused spotting all the scenes from other films. The story is perdictable enough though this doesn't detract from it's enjoyment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monsters Vs Aliens 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu ray + DVD) [2009]
£14.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews