Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars301
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2009
When I was sixteen (in 1962) I spent my hard-earned pocket money taking an attractive girl of similar age to see the then newly-released Dr. No, the first James Bond movie starring Sean Connery. With the benefit of hindsight that was a mistake. Being an immature, ignorant and testosterone - driven youth at the time I wrongly assumed that the James Bond method of seduction was the way forward, with the result that what promised to be a meaningful and potentially long relationship ended quite abruptly when the girl decided I really was the sort of boy all good mothers warn their daughters against. I should have taken the girl to see Breakfast at Tiffany's instead and learned from the example of Paul (played by George Peppard) how really to woo the object of one's affection. One of the most endearing scenes in Breakfast at Tiffany's is where Holly asks Paul if she can join him in his bed because she regards him as her friend. She quickly falls asleep in his arms and unlike James Bond and his ilk Paul demonstrates he is a man to be trusted with the honour of the opposite sex.

It took many years before I came to appreciate what a great film Breakfast at Tiffany's is. The film, of course, is nearly 50 years old and a modern audience must judge the film's weaknesses - and there are a few - within the context of its time. Nowadays mothers would be warning their sons, rather than their daughters, about the dangers of falling for a seemingly hopeless and self-seeking girl like Ms Golightly. Psychologists no doubt will say that Paul was suffering from a rescuer complex and was on a hiding to nothing. Well, in the real world, perhaps. But Breakfast at Tiffany's is about love conquering all, which it does in the end, and in my view the film is an admirable antidote to the harsh realities of the present with its cynical values. Every modern young man or aspiring lothario should be made to watch Breakfast at Tiffany's before being allowed anywhere near the opposite sex. Audrey Hepburn gives a great and convincing performance and George Peppard is the quintessential Mr nice guy. But for a real tearjerker, the cat steals the show. In my opinion it's among the best romantic films of all time.

JC
11 comment|51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2012
This was bought for my daughter, who loved it.

There are obvious flaws with the film, the main one being that Audrey Hepburn is just too prim and proper to be believable as an escort/call girl (only subtly hinted at but obvious to an adult audience). Truman Capote purportedly wanted Marilyn Monroe in the Holly Golightly role and she would have been a better fit (think "The Seven Year Itch") but the utter charm and visual style of the movie makes you forget the shortcomings and just enjoy.

How sad that George Peppard is now most famous as Hannibal Smith in the A-Team. He is a handsome leading man in this with a real movie star charisma - and he can act better than I remembered.

They truly don't (because they can't) make them like this anymore.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 November 2012
Quite how I got to my 50s without seeing this I don't know. But better late than never.

It's a captivating witty tale - pretty daring and adult for it's time. Hepburn is of course stunning and enchanting, Peppard a revelation for this like me who know him for his later action roles.

Yes it's dated badly in places, particularly the `comedy' Japanese neighbour.

But don't let that spoil your enjoyment, there are too many good things here.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2000
Hepburn is at her most flirtatious in this romantic comedy. As usual, she is brimming with mesmerising beauty. That coupled with a thoroughly wonderful script make this film a true joy to watch.
This film is funny,..and makes you want more...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2005
The iconic presence of Audrey Hepburn as Holly Golightly, George Peppard's finest performance, and the classic Mancini theme music make this one of the most famous films of the 1960's, if not, perhaps, one of the finest.
Based on a Truman Capote story, Hepburn plays a New York call girl consumed by her own delusions. She is a fake, but a genuine one: she has fled some mysterious past, lives from day to day, and dreams of marriage to some millionaire and the Prince Charming route to upward mobility and respectability. Until her dreams come true, she lives with her fantasies, bored, unable even to bother to name her cat.
Peppard is an unproductive writer who makes a living as the kept plaything of an older, rich, married woman. He moves in to the same apartment block as Hepburn, and quickly falls for her charms. Hepburn, of course, is irresistible. No nudity, no sex scenes, everything coy and 'decent', but Hepburn simply sizzles. 'Irresistible' hardly does her justice.
The film has aged somewhat - the 1961 party scenes and social mores look quaint. The sleaziness of the principals' lifestyle is barely commented upon. But "Breakfast at Tiffany's" retains a magnetism of its own. A lightweight romantic comedy, a bit sentimental and sexually sanitised, it remains a compulsive, entertaining tale. It has magical moments - Hepburn, of course, established Holly as an iconic figure of the 60's, and you wonder why George Peppard never recaptured the presence he exerts throughout this film, but watch out for a marvellous little cameo sequence in Tiffany's. Watch out, also, for an appalling comedy role by Mickey Rooney, playing a Japanese caricature which would probably be banned today.
Buying this package may appeal to those of you who are avid collectors of anything to do with the film or Hepburn, but you otherwise need to ask yourself if you need the 'extras' provided with this one, for, if you simply want to watch the film, there are cheaper options.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Yesterday I had a sudden craving for a classic movie. I didn't know where the urge came from, or how long it would last, so I figured that I should choose a very special movie just in case it vanished as quickly as it came. Fortunately for me, I chose Breakfast at Tiffany's, and now I think I'll go hunting for more of the same.

In a nutshell, Holly Golightly (a radiant Audrey Hepburn) is an unconventional young woman who lives life on the edge on Manhattan's Upper East Side. She's very impulsive and money-oriented, and spends her evenings flirting with older male acquaintances upon whose generosity she survives and thrives. Her favorite place in the world is Tiffany's, the famous jewellery store that calms her down on "mean red" days. Her erratic behavior irritates her upstairs neighbor, an unfortunately cast Mickey Rooney, who's as Japanese as American Pie, and quite offensive as a stereotype. She's also friendly with an imprisoned mob boss named Sally Tomato whom she visits weekly and talks about the weather.

When a struggling writer (George Peppard) moves into the building, she instantly recognizes him as a kindred spirit, especially when she learns that he also accepts money from the opposite sex for services rendered. Finding in him a sympathetic ear, a sounding board and willing accomplice all in one, the two become friends through good times and bad, even when her husband Doc Golightly (Buddy Ebsen) shows up with an ultimatum of his own. Male friends come and go, and bad luck seems to follow her around, but Holly bears it all in style with a gorgeous wardrobe, an unsinkable attitude, a long cigarette holder and plenty of booze for back-up.

A classic movie deserves an award winning soundtrack, and this movie has one mega-famous signature song. Audrey Hepburn may not have the best singing voice on the world, but when she sings Henry Mancini's "Moon River" you'll find yourself singing along too.

Like Tiffany's, this movie is another sure-fire cure for the mean reds.

Amanda Richards
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2007
A beautiful debonair named Holly Golightly leaves her husband and moves into Manhattan with an ambition to meet a wealthy man, marry him, and then name her pet cat, and enjoy the rest of her life. This sounds like an ambition of a typical young woman, but when Holly meets a young writer named Paul Varjak; there is no love at first; but that changes gradually and love blossoms. One would like to think this is a love story, but not quite, the author is not Erich Segal. Truman Capote wrote this short novel about a woman who is in pursuit of a high society life and never finds one; and she never grows up. The movie deviates from Capote's book in several areas. Capote wrote this book with Marilyn Monroe on his mind for the lead role, but the role went to Audrey Hepburn; director Blake Edwards couldn't have made a better choice. This is one of the classic movies of Hepburn in which every member of the audience becomes enchanted and captivated with the beauty and passion of Holly played by Hepburn. This wisp-thin actress, carrying a long cigarette holder is one of the iconic images of American Cinema.

In the final part of the movie when Holly was dumped by her rich Brazilian fiancée, her friend Paul Varjak helps her recollect; and in a reconciliatory term she changes her heart only to fall in love with Varjak. This scene was shot in the middle of pouring rain in Manhattan that adds a touch of pure romance and a grand finale to the endless pursuit of Holly in search of a rich man. Everyone who loves happy ending would love this; but no one was unhappy than Capote who was upset for the change; he wanted Holly to remain as a mysterious woman who never learns and never gives up her dream. My favorite part of the movie is the film's on-location opening sequence, in which Holly gazes into a Tiffany's display window after getting out from a cab in mid-town Manhattan, while eating a pastry; and of course the scene kissing Varjak in the middle of pouring rain in Manhattan. This movie shows more scenes of streets of Manhattan than any other movie I have seen. I highly recommend listening to the hit song of the American rock group Deep Blue Something's "Breakfast at Tiffany's," which adds to the enjoyment. Of course the music in the movie is strongly supported by Henry Mancini.

Many of us from the days of "A Team" know George Peppard as a tough talking Colonel Smith. It is a pleasant surprise for some of us to see this DVD and witness the tender side of young Peppard as Paul Varjak. Paul is strong, yet remains as an acquaintance of Holly but gradually he sees the feminine side of Holly, who is vulnerable, yet romantic in her heart. Blake Edwards indicated at one stage that he might not have cast Peppard if he were to do this all over again. We are unsure if there was a problem in their working relationship or Edwards was unhappy with his casting. I for one who was most disappointed to learn that Peppard was not nominated for academy award for his role in this movie. Buddy Ebsen and Mickey Rooney have limited roles; yet they delight the audience with their talents and craftsmanship.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
It's not this lovely film I don't like, it's the way Blu-rays are listed here. Why oh why do Amazon insist on lumping Blu-rays and DVDs together? The two are completely different commodities and should be listed and reviewed separately. The only release date shown for this title is that of the DVD and to check customer reviews to get an idea of how good the Blu-ray transfer of any title is, we have to scroll through dozens of reviews for the DVD! Come on Amazon, those of us wanting Blu-rays are usually paying a premium for the high definition versions, surely we deserve a category specifically for Blu-ray and surely you are capable of differentiating between the two formats.
55 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2003
The lovely and quirky Holly Golightly (played by Audrey Hepburn) has an oddly refreshing, and sometimes naive, outlook on life. Independent as her cat, "Cat," she lives for tomorrow, always on the prowl for her "millionaire." Befriended by her neighbor, played by George Peppard, the two share the ups and downs of what life has to offer these two ever-searching misfits. A wonderful film to be enjoyed on a cold winter's day with a warm, fuzzy blanket (or a warm, fuzzy friend!).
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2011
This is such an iconic movie and although a few years old(!) it remains current in it's theme. Audrey Hepburn beautiful and eccentric, yearning for love, but intent on marrying wealth - The gorgeous George Peppard a writer, kept by a wealthy woman to kick start his career - they share the same apartment block, their lives are intertwined and he loves her - she loves him but won't give in to a simple life with no money - beautifully executed - would not think this film was first made way back when...a vision, a feast to watch - romantic comedy at it's best!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)