Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2014
What can you get for £30 these days? I went for a delicious meal at a French restaurant a few days ago - £50 a head. Cinema tickets for 3 or 4 people for a single film would be £30 to £45.

Admittedly you need to spend the money on a half decent stereo to listen to these CDs, but if you're reading this review, presumably you are at least thinking about having something to listen to these CDs on (personally, I recommend that you spend some cash on your equipment if you like classical music).

This box set is magnificent. Chopin composed some sumptuous, romantic and complex works for the piano and Pollini knows how to play them. Beautiful clean recordings - the engineering of the sound is wonderful, clean, uncluttered and not over produced.

Nothing more to say really - if you're wondering about buying this, think no longer. If you've got the money, there's really no reason (in terms of product quality) to decide not to.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Very comprehensive set of recordings spanning Pollini's career so far. Very good quality box set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2012
Really words cannot describe the beauty of Pollini's playing. It touches lives forever. How lucky we are to have paid witness to his love affair with the music of Chopin and how future generations will cherish having his Chopin recordings now in one box set. This is surely a must for anyone passionate about the piano!!!
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
The Great Pollini.
Sounds like a circus act doesn't it?
Well in a way it is.
I liken it to a terrific balancing act between Chopin and his masterful interpretation by Pollini in which is simply sublime.
Rich tones, terrific finger work, great depth, what else can I say?
This album is an absolute steal at just over twenty quid, anyone who likes Chopin needs this in their collection.
Have a listen to the previews in the mp3 page, you will be impressed, even on a set of pc speakers.
Imagine it on a decent set of speakers and duly amplified.
Magnifico
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2012
This collection has already been reviewed and I would just like to add that I think this collection is superb and an absolute bargain.

You would need a very good reason for not buying this right now!!!!
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Magnifico
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
Like to visit beautiful world, beautiful !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Pollini has played Chopin as well as anyone in recent decades. In addition to the most popular pieces we have here many that are rarely accessible. Perfect as background music for ironing. The Berceurse alone is worth the cost of the set.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)