Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars47
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 October 2011
Now you pretty much know what you are getting with this lot, punchy chorus, a little radio friendly in places, some serious thumping riffs and thunderous drumming topped off with shouting and swearing that Slipknot would be proud of.

Now if this is your thang you are in for a treat. 3 albums in and FFDP have more or less perfected their art, there is enough cussing and bellowing to melt the hearts of the Slpknot brigade but with enough melody and hooks to keep your average Nickleback fan happy. Saying this, this collection is not a step forwards or back from previous efforts, it just a fine tuning of some of the rough edges of the previous 2.

Waiting to hit number one near you soon, is I remember Everything, a solid transitional power ballad with soaring chourus and a solo straight out of Pink Floyd, marvellous stuff. Away from that we have The Pride an almost rap celebrating their American roots with a great sing along chorus. In fact all of the tracks pass the hum test - each song is memorable from the offset, pushing just the right buttons to keep you coming back for a 2nd, 3rd 4th listen.

This album will seriously damage your hearing (its recorded very loudly which sets the old IPod jumping) and is pretty much guaranteed to earn you a speeding fine, as you find your foot easing on the gas as it pumps out your speakers.

New? No. Ground breaking? No. Likely to push them to the bigtime? Hope so, but fear not. Great fun? Yep. Hard rock at is snarling, swearing, chest beating, adrenaline pumping best? You bet
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
I did not know the group before hearing "remember everything" on a hard radio. I was pretty pleased with the rest of the album. They mix hard guitar riffs and voices with smooth parts. I even saw some resemblances between some guitar riffs from FFDP and Slipknot (guitars tuned somewhere in the area of a B or C#). I really liked it.
The voice of the lead vocalist is nice, he mixes hard parts with smoother ones a bit like Corey Taylor with Stone Sour. If you like that then you will like this album too.

Comparing the cd to previous albums would make no sense for me since I do not know them, though it might push me to listen to them as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
I was a big fan of 5FDP first album, The Way Of The Fist, and thought that the second, War Is The Answer, was a decent continuation of a theme.

If you don't have either of the first two albums, then you may get something out of this. However, if you already own it's predecessors, avoid this album.

There is nothing new here. All of themes have been covered by the previous lp's, and in places the 5fDP sound is positively tired and worn.

Perhaps the best track is "Wicked Ways", but that is really not saying much.

The sound has not evolved, and the lyrical content remains much the same.

You can argue that 5FDP are ploughing their own furrow and know their target market well, and I would not disagree with that.
However, I have no desire to listen to album after album of essential the same material.

I hope for an improvement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This album contains the song that first got me into this band, 'Coming Down', a song raising awareness about teen suicide and prevention.
The whole album is full of energy from the opening track to the final chord. The lyrical content has increased with this third album from the band, covering many topics. If you liked the earlier albums by the band, then you will probably enjoy this album. If you are a fan of Disturbed, then you will probably like the energy that this band provide. I would have liked to give it a higher rating, but 5/5 will have to do.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This album is the most recent offering from the FFDP camp. I gave it a try, only to find myself getting bored by the end.
Maybe I just wasn't in the mood at the time, but this certainly is not as good as 'The Way of the Fist' or 'War is the Answer'.
There's some good riffs on their but can't help but think that they are changing their style and going against what they are good at in order to become more commercial!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
This is a great album by the band, and the poster looks cool too. But the 2nd "remix" cd is terrible in my opinion, so unless your bothered about the poster I'd just get the normal version. The album is amazing though, ffdp certainly haven't failed to impress once again, but unless you want the poster I'd sugest just buying the original normal CD and save a few pounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Five Finger Death Punch's third studio album American Capitalist firmly continues the formula which the band had established on their previous two releases, especially their sophomore release War Is The Answer. This 2011 album is comprised primarily three minute tracks full of bouncy riffs, flailing double kicks and a mixture or hard verses with radio choruses.

If you are new to the band, the best way people have found for describing them is as a mixture between elements of Vol. 3 era Slipknot and Pantera, which does a fair job of describing the band's everyman metal approach and mixture of commercial moments with stomping heavy sections.

It isn't progressive, it isn't extreme and it isn't electronic; American Capitalist is pretty much just pure and simple American Heavy Metal with a lot of melody, perhaps a too little cheap or cheesy for some more discerning listeners, but wholly enjoyable for the rest.

At times the lyrics and artwork can be a bit hard to take and are the area for which non-fans will find most easy to criticize, but often they just add to the appeal of the band that has a certain infectious spirit that you will find yourself enjoying in spite of yourself.

The band also mix in some brilliant slower moments and furious virtuosic guitar solos courtesy of Zoltan Bathory which demonstrate a level of musicianship and songwriting skill far beyond the remit of most overly commercial radio approved metal bands.

This is their first album to feature Chris Kael replacing Matt Snell on bass and the second album to be released on the record label Prospect Park and produced by Kevin Churko (who also contributed on bass guitar, much like Bob Rock on St. Anger)

Singer Ivan Moody's range has expanded on American Capitalist and his strong harsh and clean vocals have never sounded better. The guitar solos too from the aforementioned Zoltan Bathory are even better and impressive than before and drummer Jeremy Spencer has perhaps improved most of all, adding in lots of brilliant fills and great kick patterns. Overall you just get the impression that the band are just perfecting their formula with this album. In fact the Title Track even goes so far as to name check their previous two album titles lyrically.

Standout tracks include heavier and faster `Menace,' the stomping album closer `100 Ways To Hate' and the groovy `Wicked Ways,' as well as the very catchy lead singles `Back For More,' and `Over And Under It.'

If you have always hated the band then American Capitalist will not change your mind, it covers a very similar territory to their previous work, which is great news for fans, but will more than likely not win over people who exclusively listen to Black and Death Metal for example, not that it should realistically be expected to.

Overall; American Capitalist is a very enjoyable record that any fan of the band's previous work is sure to enjoy. The album is strong, confident and proud; If you have an interest in Five Finger Death Punch I highly recommend you check it out.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
WOW what an amazing album any fan of five finger will love this , the extra mix CD is wicked . If you like your music banging with loads of attitude , then this should be added to any metal heads collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
I bought this having listened to War Is the Answer and was not disappointed more of a grower than the other album but better for it in many ways basically this is all I've listened to since I got it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
I have completely fallen in love with this band. Under and over it, generation dead (my personal fav on the album), back for more, remember everything and wicked ways are all incredible songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)