Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars50
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2015
I already had the separate DVD of this performance, but purchased this very reasonably priced set to enable me to enjoy a fantastic group performance on CD during my often tedious and lengthy journeys to and from work on the M1. Hearing this band's music, at the probable peak of their live performance, is amazing, even after more than 40 years. I was at this festival, at the age of 18, and The Who was one of the bands I really wanted to see. They didn't disappoint. They came on stage in the early hours but I don't think anyone in the audience minded. The combination of Keith Moon on drums and John Entwhistle on bass (wearing the first skeleton costume I'd seen) was astonishing to me and still is, as it's not not so obvious on singles and studio albums. Coupled with Pete Townsend's aggressive guitar and Roger Daltrey's fantastic vocals and visual stage presence, this was a superb performance. I also have the double 'Live at Leeds' and 'Live at Hull' CDs from consecutive nights 6 months earlier in February 1970 but am not aware of a film of those concerts so this DVD, and the personal nostalgia element, makes this an essential addition to my collection.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
This has to be one of the best live performances of all time a must have for any who fan . Just remember this is a old recording not bad but not excellent and for some reason i think black vinyl sounds better then coloured i played it on my rega turntable with graham slee gram amp 2 special into my cyrus amp and power supply and it sounds very good for a recording of its age . And the music well if you are looking at this record you know the who are one of the best bands of all time from the old R.B and mod days to rock this album and quadrophenia and tommy must be on any who fans list . Excellent .
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
The Who were in fine form when they hit the stage at The Isle Of Wight in August 1970. These discs are a brilliant document of The Who in full fury and with a performance that is exhilarating and powerful.
What really impressed me is the sound of this show, the balance, the sound mix is superb. This makes these discs even better to enjoy. Tommy has never sounded better as the hits such as Can't Explain and Pinball Wizard. There are also several songs that were rarely played live such as Water.
This is a great package for the price, a must get.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2015
excellent
both DVD & CD good quality, DVD brings to light the stage set of the era.

you can now see type of band interaction featured on live at leeds & have a

wry smile at what was missed in not filming the leeds/hull concerts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
The IoW still shaking bits off from the ruckus, proper LIVE recording. The sound at times is testing the engineering technology but this The Who strutting their stuff and enjoying themselves. Very happy audience bet the neighbours loved this at 2am !!!!!!! not like now turn it down after 10pm nonsense
2 CD of live music real RAW power and brilliant concert footage
If you have not seen The Who on DVD before this will bring a big smile to your face, i found myself grinning for hours after.
You may guess that I really enjoyed this
It's simple if you enjoy rock music Buy this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2014
An absolute must for any true live music fan.
The Who at their very best.
Keith Moon pure genius , sadly missed.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
The Who is one of my favorites bands. This a legendary live concert of the history of this group. Fantastic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2002
By the time The Who played the Isle of Wight, they had already been to Leeds University (the 30th Anniversary version way superior in performance and sound quality to this) and they were getting tired of playing "Tommy" for an hour; "here we are again playing the same thing.... wearing the same clothes....everything the same as last year" Townshend sneers into the microphone.
Regarded by Townshend as one of their better performances (!) this is a dynamic CD encapsulating all that was great about their live performances. The "Tommy" segement is good, but pale to the Leeds version, and one can't help feeling they were lacking in humour by this point, although when Townshend introduces "Tommy" Keith Moon announces "I'm off!".
Observers say that had Townshend's Gibson not given up towards the end of "Magic Bus" (it dies in a crescendo of feedback) that they would have played for hours. It's a great CD, but it lacks the intimacy of the "Live at Leeds" set.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2016
BEST OF THE WHO AT A BARGAIN BASEMENT PRICE. THE DVD IS A REAL BONUS AND A REMINDER OF WHAT THE WHO WERE ALL ABOUT. IN 1970 THIS WAS CUTTING EDGE, IMITATED SINCE BUT NOT WITH SUCH VERVE, THE WHO WERE VERY DIFFERANT INDEED. AND THANK GOD THEY WERE.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This is excellent value for money & probably a must for any fan of late sixties Who. 2 c.d.s & a dvd in the package. The quality is excellent for something 43 years old and well worth buying. In my humble opinion, the Who were at their best with Who's next, hence no 5* rating but this is still a classic Who performance of Tommy with several other know or not so well known songs. Keith Moon in excellent form both as a drummer & showing his zany sense of humour. Buy and enjoy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)