Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous compilation!
I've sometimes thought that John Lee Hooker's "interpretation" of the blues might be an acquired taste. Before you judge me too harshly, I will explain: I've heard people say he growls rather than sings and his stuttering guitar style is not everyone's cup of tea, apparently. This compilation is not quite definitive but does a good job of collecting some of JLK's...
Published 20 months ago by Newbie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE NORTH HILLS BEAT
When the beat is so insistent who needs finger-picking blues ?
JLH brings an driving urgency to HIS blues...
just get up and BOOGIE along to the beat
Published 20 months ago by White guy into the blues


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous compilation!, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've sometimes thought that John Lee Hooker's "interpretation" of the blues might be an acquired taste. Before you judge me too harshly, I will explain: I've heard people say he growls rather than sings and his stuttering guitar style is not everyone's cup of tea, apparently. This compilation is not quite definitive but does a good job of collecting some of JLK's best tracks from the 1950s and '60s. The sound quality is excellent too, which is not necessarily a good thing. I somehow quite like the crackle and hiss of my original vinyl records and find the sound a bit warmer. Many tracks here are with full band, including drummers Tom Whitehead and Earl Phillips, guitarists Eddie Taylor and Lefty Bates and legendary harmonica player/friend Jimmy Reed amongst others. All are sublime, whether accompanied by bass and drums or alone with a bottletop tied to his foot, tapping away to keep the rhythm. However, for those who first heard Hooker with Santana, Van Morrison et all, they will have to look elsewhere, perhaps "Best of Friends". But this is how it all started: the story of one of the greatest bluesmen of them all. An acquired taste maybe, but I love it and always have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm Hooked, 27 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have only just got into the American R&B genre and IMO J L Hooker was a must have, and after listening to this compilation i was not disappointed. His Vocals and accompanying guitar style is just sublime, its not hard to see why so many other artists were influenced by him. This compilation is a must have if you are a American R&B fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the best of Hooker, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Realy great to travel with, always loved his relaxed voice and with a happy traveling beat for anytime of day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great album, has a good range of songs. Strongly recommend this product to anyone. Listened to its loads of times already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I can't claim to be very knowledgable about John Lee Hooker or any other blues artist, but I have really liked what hooked tunes I have heard in the past. This album really seemed to offer a wide range of hookers work and is just what I needed to while away those Sunday afternoon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holy smoke, John Lee Hooker, 11 Feb 2013
By 
I can't fault this. The tracks are well chosen and while there are great songs not included here, the music is fantastic. At five quid you cannot complain because this is a great listen and I have no doubt that anyone buying this will certainly enjoy it hugely, as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dude is great, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this was one of several cds bought for my son . he just loves listening to them . i shall probably buy more in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you could do worse than to start here, 27 Sep 2014
I won't try to compete with some of the very competent reviews written here, I just don't have the skills. That said, I know a little about blues music and for anyone who hasn't heard or listened to John Lee Hooker before (as if!!) this has to be "The Definitive Collection". All JLH classics performed by the man himself in a way only he can. Not much of a review, perhaps, but If you want a collection of his music or are looking to start your own blues library, you could do worse than to start here. Exceptional value and an outstanding blues man. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars So That's where Rock n Roll Came From!, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very good collection. The Hook produced so much work and producers reissued so much of it so many times that it is difficult to know what to buy. This collection has most of the tracks anyone would want and maybe a couple that could have been dispensed with. But listen to this album and you will hear some of the best blues ever and an undeniable godfather of Rock n Roll
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Its Johnny, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You either like Blues or you don't so if you ae into Blues and JLH then this needs to be in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews