Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent guide from CAMRA
CAMRA have excelled themselves again this year with their newest guide. Much like it's previous editions, this is great for those who find themselves in a new place and want to find out the gems - no matter what the location. Not only does this guide show the best city haunts, but highlights those beautiful thatched affairs in the countryside.

I can;t rave...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by Beery Deery

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware of the Kindle version.
Very disappointed with the kindle version as the maps are so small as to be illegible on both my kindle and my p.c. In future I will always sample before I buy and unless the maps improve I will stick to the print version.
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by casabaya


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent guide from CAMRA, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
CAMRA have excelled themselves again this year with their newest guide. Much like it's previous editions, this is great for those who find themselves in a new place and want to find out the gems - no matter what the location. Not only does this guide show the best city haunts, but highlights those beautiful thatched affairs in the countryside.

I can;t rave enough about the symbol usage. I know quickly which pubs are the cream f the crop if they have a cup symbol (meaning it's a CAMRA award winning (and therefore one of the best ale pubs in the country) pub), but also lets me know if the pub has a real fire or serves food. The descriptions are great as well - I've found many an excellent pub where I wouldn't have thought to look before based on the tempting promise of a riverside pub garden.

I'm big on local produce and the Good Beer Guide helps me to find pubs that are stocking local beer (funnily enough they have a symbol for that as well!)

As I've said many a time before, the Good Pub Guide is okay, but this is better. This guide focuses on great beer before it considers the pubs - something important to me. Not to mention the fact that each pub has been reviewed by a load of CAMRA volunteers. The GPG doesn't have the same depth of surveying! No where near!

Is it just me or despite the book having more pages, it's managed to be thinner this year?!! Magic paper perhaps!

This will continue to be my companion on those city breaks, country cycling day out and National Trust adventures - a pint is usually required after such a busy day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best guide there is., 23 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. P. M. Plumridge (Far North UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
Great guide to the Real Ales of Britain and the pubs that serve them. Not the sort of guide that pubs can buy an entry in so it can be trusted. Also contains some interesting articles about beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2012, 19 Oct 2011
By 
A. C. Johnson "tomatoman" (SW Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
As ever, the official CAMRA Good Beer Guide is as authentic a guide as you can guide in printed form for both pub and brewery information. From our personal experience as past CAMRA branch members, the pub selection process is fair and unbiased. Depending on what county or region you encounter, you may find differences in "average quality" available in some areas. This does change dramatically in some areas, over time.........largely due to the influence of micro-brewery products. For instance, the general quality of ale experienced in Cumbrian pubs has improved significantly in recent times and the same goes for many places in Scotland. So, we find that it's worth buying the GBG at least every other year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks to everyone else, 25 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
I bought this one instead of my usual guide. Apparently the other one has got a lot worse this year.
The only downside I envisaged was that I have no interest in real ale.
What I wanted was a guide book that took me away from chain pubs and their microwaved food. What I got was a guide book that gives full details of pub opening times, restaurant times, an idea of menu, overnight accommodation, access, confidence that the pub had been reviewed recently and details of possible ale types at each pub.
First stop, a pub in Whitstable listed as German food a speciality, schnitzel only on Saturday.
Much better book for me than I had expected.
Don't be afraid to get it if you would usually have bought the other one. Makes for a genuine option with unpaid for listings and lots of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Beer Guide, 12 Feb 2012
By 
Linda Imm (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
Excellent book, full of relevant information on decent real ale pubs almost everywhere.

Outlines beer choices, pub facilities, addresses, opening times, food, accomodation etc.,

Use it as a 'Bible' for holidays.

Definitely a good investment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good beer guide 2012, 11 Jan 2012
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
This is the definitive guide to real ale pubs in the UK. It has never let me down in the past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2012 Camra Good Beer Guide, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
I have all GBG s since 1976 so am a fan! This is an excellent guide to pubs serving good beer. At the current high price of a pint it is worth a bit of research before visiting new areas. This guide covers the country so no excuse for not trying the sort of pub and beer you might enjoy. It also helps not travelling miles to find the pub is shut or not cooking meals. It also helps when faced with beers you have not tried before as it lists all real ales in the alphabetical index. This is linked to the brewery where a description of the beer is provided.
The post code of all pubs is given so you can put them in your sat nav as some pubs are hard to find. I recommend purchase as the book is also a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beer Lovers Best Guide, 6 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
A regular purchase as it's an essential guide to beer and pubs. Although the guide concentrates on the beer it gives much useful information about the pubs the're sold from.

My only doubt about the guide is that it limits the number of entries per region. So a region with a lot of qualifying real ale pubs will not be fully represented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the Best Beer Guide in the World, 2 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
If you like and appreciate Good Beer which means Real Ale (Cask Conditioned Beer) then CAMRA's Good Beer Guide has to be the "bible" for you.

The 2012 Guide is the latest and biggest guide yet in an annual publishing event that is now more than 39 years old.

For an up-to-date list of beers and breweries with tasting descriptions, original gravities (strengths) and addresses it cannot be beaten. In my opinion for this alone the guide is worth the price.

It is much more than this though. The guide is a county by county list of pubs consistently selling good beer. Each entry gives a clear address, details of pub facilities, a brief description of the pub
and details of the beers usually sold and by what method (handpump, gravity or electric or air pressure dispense).

One word of warning though. This is a Good BEER Guide rather than a Good PUB Guide. Sometimes you will come across the quirky and strange! Don't be put off by that as the quirky and strange are often wonderful!
But if you are just after pubs with Laura Ashley wallpaper and old books on library shelves you may be disappointed on occasions!

If I have one criticism of the recent guides it is reviewers concentrate too much on pubs offering "Beer Tickers" pubs. By that I mean pubs offering a large and never ending variety of different beers rather
than a good selection from one brewer. Because of this good pubs selling good beers from a single independent brewer seem largely excluded of late. Very sad as it was these independent brewers who kept the faith
during the terrible "keg revolution" of the seventies.

That, said the CAMRA 2012 Good Beer Guide is probably the Best Beer Guide in the World and is certainly worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The real ale drinker's bible., 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Good Beer Guide 2012 (Paperback)
A pretty good read. Well researched and extremely useful when visiting anywhere in the UK.
I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is interested in non fizzy beer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Beer Guide 2012
Good Beer Guide 2012 by Roger Protz
£14.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews