Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning portrait of a war photogrpaher
I must firstly declare that I know Vaughan Smith, the Producer/cameraman of this documentary.Leaving that aside, this labour of love is a fascinating journey that follows war photographer Robert King from his first war zone, unprepared and indeed naive to his current work photographing the aftermath of gang battles and hits in Mexico.A wonderful portrait of a wonderful...
Published on 13 Nov. 2010 by VooDooNoel

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful
I have never felt the need to write a review here before now. However, frankly I don't see how anyone could even contemplate giving this documentary a 5* review- as everyone else has so far. It is truly awful. I want my £6 and the 80 minutes of my life back.

I chanced upon "Shooting Robert King" in the World Cinema section, having never heard of it...
Published on 16 Dec. 2012 by James F


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 16 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Shooting Robert King [DVD] (DVD)
I have never felt the need to write a review here before now. However, frankly I don't see how anyone could even contemplate giving this documentary a 5* review- as everyone else has so far. It is truly awful. I want my £6 and the 80 minutes of my life back.

I chanced upon "Shooting Robert King" in the World Cinema section, having never heard of it previously. The box description sold it to me- my holding an interest through having worked in conflict inflicted areas.

The bloke comes across as incredibly amateurish (all they way through). He displays little if any understanding of the conflicts which he attempts to cover. While claiming to cover 15 years of his work, a surprising amount of time is devoted to his wounding deer and attempting to muster a thousand yard stare. If the material included in the 80 minutes was the best he had, he doubtless would have benefited greatly from monging around less and taking better photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning portrait of a war photogrpaher, 13 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I must firstly declare that I know Vaughan Smith, the Producer/cameraman of this documentary.Leaving that aside, this labour of love is a fascinating journey that follows war photographer Robert King from his first war zone, unprepared and indeed naive to his current work photographing the aftermath of gang battles and hits in Mexico.A wonderful portrait of a wonderful man.A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary, 2 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Shooting Robert King is a story about a freelance war photojournalist that aim is to give us all a message of what war is really about, but also to show us the pain, struggles and reality of what an aspiring photojournalist has to overcome to become successful.

What is really different about this film is that Robert King doesn't seem the guy for the job at first when he arrives in Bosnia in 1993, but soon we learn that this is not about how we see someone through our somewhat blind eyes, but it's about who this person is and how well he can adapt to the environment around him... Robert King definitely learned that, that's why I think he did so well at it.

Watch this film and at the same time learn about what freelance photojournalism is about, the publicity, the character and the luck. See what Photojournalists have to go through to show you the glimpse of what's really going on out there and how they risk their lives to show that to you. Most importantly, appreciate what they do, Robert King and all freelance war reporters.

"I think Shooting Robert King should be a standard in all Photojournalism classes, because it shows what no other film of this kind can show, truth, impact and the raw images of war."

Get your copy now, watch it and let your friends know about it!

Great thanks to Richard Parry for creating such a brilliant documentary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must see DVD - fantastic, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
F. McLean-Brown "Fred Bear" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story of virgin freelance war photojournalist Robert King seen in the war zones through the lens of a video photojournalist with some modern interviews while waiting (and trying) to shoot deer while at his home in the forest. It covers his career from the early 1980's to 2008. I assume the parallel between being the target in all the areas he has worked and being the hunter at home was deliberate, even if not it worked well.

No book will have the impact this will have on you, it shows the danger, horror, and humour. I watched it right through and watched all the extras on the DVD (including one section of his stills photographs) which is something I have never done before. Robert King comes over as a thoroughly likeable, engaging, and honest person who is doing something most people would never consider, but that is still vitally important as a way of alerting to us to what is wrong in the world.

It made clear to me how important, undervalued, and generally underpaid the freelance photojournalist is, may there always be a Robert King to shock us out of our ignorance regarding how other people are having to live and suffer.

You must buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The best part is a 2-minute montage of his photos, 24 April 2014
This review is from: Shooting Robert King [DVD] (DVD)
First off, Robert King is totally unlikeable. We meet him as a young - egotistical - douche, and see him grow to a middle-aged cold-and-jaded douche. He comes across as the worst parts of the psychotic "Cool Ethan" from Slackers and the grating Josh from Generation Kill (the singing driver).

A lot of the "OMG" moments feel set up, or are ridiculously convenient. For a documentary about a photographer, there's not actually a lot of his work, and it's mostly nondescript handheld footage from his freelance cameramen buddies in the `good old days'. What's weird is that he clearly wanted to film a documentary from day 1 of his career - hence the abundance of `look at me' and `look at the peril' type interviews he did. There are a couple of more disturbing / shocking moments - pics of dead bodies, and bombing / war aftermath; and a boring deer-hunting simile / parallel that is just unnecessary filler.

The best part of the documentary is a 2-minute montage of his best photos; however the best thing on the disc is a 5-minute slide show in the extras - which are more powerful, interesting and tell a better story than the full-length 80-minute documentary. Most annoyingly, the doc doesn't tell you anything about the wars he's covering, showing only Robert King trying to make it all about him. Whilst his story is remarkable, having such an unlikeable person at the centre of this makes it very hard to appreciate.

Score: 3/10 - from ParagraphFilmReviews dot com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very poor, 31 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shooting Robert King [DVD] (DVD)
Self centered and all about Robert Kinj and very little aboit the war he covered which is a pure shame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Some Viewers May Find This Disturbing, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Shooting Robert King [DVD] (DVD)
Some viewers may find this bio-pic disturbing. Some may not. I found some STILLS within the movie very disturbing, as one would expect but ...I found the eponymous Robert King unlikeable, uncharismatic, self-indulgent & narcisstic (with a lack of knowledge OR empathy OR respect for his subject(s) the victims of several horrific wars including Rwanda) and, since he is the centre of focus for this movie, that is critical. His home life was of little or no interest & clearly he is no DeNiro DEERHUNTER. If one wants a nice engaging thought-provoking docu on the horrors of war, the manipulation of the news, deception perpetrated by embedded correspondents, and the part Hollywood plays in maintaining the myth of America-is-the-real victim-here ( as in THE DEERHUNTER or THE HURT LOCKER ) I would recommend John Pilger's THE WAR YOU DON'T SEE (2010) and you will never use the word ' nice ' again, as long as you live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting Robert King, 21 July 2010
An extraordinary, powerful 'must see' documentary which starkly portrays the rite of passage for aspiring young war photographer Robert King. Shot over 15 years, the film follows Robert across three war zones. It is a compelling and at times harrowing journey that we are taken on, but at many points it is infused with wry humour and great humanity. This film is a terrific achievement and should be seen not just by all students of photo journalism but by all consumers of world news who should know about the risks that these people take to get reportage out the frontline of battle. Inspiring stuff indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worn it out already..., 20 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Shooting Robert King [DVD] (DVD)
A great film and pulls you in from the start...

It shows the truth about what goes on in this world sometimes and how awful it can be. A real eye opener of a movie. It'll make you appreciate the lengths individuals go to to get the footage we see on the news and web.

Tip: Watch first without directors commentary and then watch with...creates a different angle on the whole film.

Great extras too.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good., 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice portrait of a man starting out on his chosen path. Overcoming his problems and getting recognition for his work. Amusing and quite sad at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shooting Robert King [DVD]
Shooting Robert King [DVD] by Richard Parry (DVD - 2011)
£5.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews