Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An good underrated film and unfair treatment of Costner...
A lot of reviewers here and elsewhere are having a go at Costner for this movie and I wonder what film have they been watching. Yes, this film is NOT like most of the present day horror movies which rely on graphic violence, sexy characters who all appear to lack common sense, predictable and weak storylines, and tons of special effects, yet is better for it as it relys...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Yanni Sis

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow enjoyable
I've read a couple of books by John Connolly which I've greatly enjoyed, and so was pleasantly surprised when I learned that this movie was based on one of his stories. The result was enjoyable, but perhaps not so much for someone who often enjoys watching thrillers and/or horror movies.

The story's pretty straightforward: a recently divorced man moves to a...
Published on 31 Dec 2011 by Kim


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Somehow enjoyable, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I've read a couple of books by John Connolly which I've greatly enjoyed, and so was pleasantly surprised when I learned that this movie was based on one of his stories. The result was enjoyable, but perhaps not so much for someone who often enjoys watching thrillers and/or horror movies.

The story's pretty straightforward: a recently divorced man moves to a remote house in a village somewhere, and takes his son and daughter with him (it very adequately matches every single cliché you might associate with this, including mommy issues). His daughter explores the expansive backyard, finds a strange-looking hill and starts acting weird. Turns out the hill's actually a burial mound, inhabited by creatures who are bent on procreating with aforementioned daughter.
What annoyed me the most is that it took everyone in the movie forever to figure out that the hill was a burial mound (even though they referred to it as a mound every chance they got, even before knowing what it was). But okay, let's forgo that for a moment. Every single event in the movie takes a while to register with the father, played well enough by Kevin Costner. Also annoying. Events could have been highlighted with giant neon arrows pointing to them, so to speak, and they still would not register with him.
Other acting performances worth mentioning (unfortunately in a negative manner) are the two children. Whoever plays the daughter has little talent for acting, as does the little kid who plays the son (yet that's understandable, as most little kids tend to overact). The creatures from the hill were reasonably well rendered.

The ending was predictable, one which most people will see coming from a mile away. Still, the overall movie, even with all its annoying little things, was enjoyable. Original enough, interesting enough, entertaining enough. Just don't expect anything great, and you might like this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An good underrated film and unfair treatment of Costner..., 11 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lot of reviewers here and elsewhere are having a go at Costner for this movie and I wonder what film have they been watching. Yes, this film is NOT like most of the present day horror movies which rely on graphic violence, sexy characters who all appear to lack common sense, predictable and weak storylines, and tons of special effects, yet is better for it as it relys on a deliberate pace which requires the audience to pay attention, suspense, an ever increasing sense of dread for the inevitability of the outcome, and good performances from the cast especially the two kids and Costner as the father.

The film deliberately eschews modern styles such as the bleached out look, over loud music that telegraphs how we must react, and fast cutting. It embraces a 70's style approach and the earlier slow pace is absolutely right for this film and in no way should put off the viewer as it all pays off in the second half.

Give this film a chance - you might be surprised.

The blu-ray disc replicates the rich colour palette and the warm tones of South Carolina accurately and I recommend the viewer to listen to the uncompressed pcm track which is better than the Dolby track. There is a an adequate commentary by the director, deleted scenes as well as a standard behind-the scenes feature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow burning supernatural thriller, 17 May 2010
By 
PJ Rankine (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This film is the latest Hollywood outing for Luis Bedejo, the Spanish director of 'Rec' and 'Imago Mortis'. I haven't seen the former but I have reviewed the latter on this site. There is no doubting he is a good director and has a keen eye for framing a shot and setting a scene. He is becoming a master at building suspense and this film is an object lesson in that but viewers with a short attention span may have trouble sticking with this one. Kevin Costner stars as John James; a recently divorced writer, who takes his 14 year old daughter Louisa and 7 year old son Sam to live in a large mansion in the woods of South Carolina to lick their wounds. They discover what appears to be a burial mound in the woods and Louisa is fascinated with it from the start whilst Sam is instantly repelled by it. As the film develops Louisa is obviously changing but a lot of the signs can be mistaken for a teenager hurt by her family's break up. Sinister events happen and Costner is on the trail of the house's mysterious past whilst his present is falling apart at home. I can't say much more without spoiling it for you but lets just say if you're a fan of M Night Shyamalan then you will probably enjoy this too watch carefully for a little twist in the final scene. Kevin Costner does a reasonable job of his role but top marks go to Ivana Baquero as Louisa, the 'new daughter'. You may remember this enigmatic 16 year old from 'Pan's Labyrinth' and she is definitely one to watch for the future. The film is presented in widescreen letterbox format and has a good well defined soundtrack. Listen out for when Costner is walking in the woods at night and the twig snaps behind you. Extras included a 10 minute making of and 20 deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent horror thriller!, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Daughter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A single father (Kevin Costner) moves his two children (Ivana Baquero) and (Gattlin Griffith) to rural South Carolina, only to watch his daughter exhibit increasingly strange behavior. Recommend this film anyone who likes Kevin Costner and horror thriller films, well worth a watch.Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars COSTNER FALLS FROM GRACE...AGAIN,, 8 Oct 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
This is perhaps the worse Costner film except for that Water World thing. The movie starts out great. It has a 4 to 5 star beginning. The setting is a fictional town called Mercy, South Carolina. PLOT SPOILER: It is based on Bishopville, home of the infamous Lizard Man. After Costner gets the boot from his wife, he moves into a fine southern plantation home with his snotty teenage daughter and normal son. The daughter becomes obsessed with an old Indian burial mound in their back yard (funny that the state hasn't declared it an archaeological treasure and put a fence around it). The house has a strange "history," but only the black people in town seem to know it. Louisa, played by Ivana Baquero, does an excellent job as the moody teen girl. It reminded me of the teen girl in Uncle Buck. You just want to smack her. The plot is predictable, which isn't all bad, after all we knew how The Passion was going to end and we went to see it. Rate this one low on your Netflix list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gentle horror, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New Daughter [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i think this is a remake of the new son, however the film is not bad at all, its a nice slow paced horror that leads to an ending which you may have seen coming an hour earlier. However the film slowly builds and has plenty to make you jump along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film!!, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
Purchased following few good reviews on amazon, and I was not disappointed.
Horror type, not the usual seen before storyline. Recommend, especially at amazon price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A new daughter would have been great, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
I find it hard to review films without giving away the plot and important developments. I will do what I can.

My sister recommended this as it has a unique storyline. I was surprised to find it so cheap on Amazon and so figured that I can't go wrong.

The story is unique and I was surprised at how quickly 'a certain something' was introduced and how the Director did it; I certainly didn't notice it until a few seconds later. The plot is a little weak in some places and a little predictable. I also feel that the daughter was badly cast; her acting is very understated and a little unemotional (a huge difference from Pan's Labyrinth). The son and Kevin Costner did a good job however.

For a no-brainer horror film, you can't go wrong with this one just don't expect anything spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
this is a really good scary film, I was so surprised why I had not heard of it before. its a definite buy for any kevin Costner fan. dvd arrived really quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars misfire, 15 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The New Daughter [DVD] (DVD)
not to bad ,costner miscast,a time filler with a few decent shocks but not enough, struggles to reach a conclusion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb156424c)

This product

The New Daughter [DVD]
The New Daughter [DVD] by Kevin Costner (DVD - 2011)
4.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews