Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is one of the best dramas I have watched addicted to it now on series 3 , carnt wait for series 4 , then I what will I watch it had everything blood sex and a story too .
Published 6 months ago by Lisatay8

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon service
It wa good but the series itself is overblown. It is repetetious in that the episodes all resesmble each other. The characters are well acted but their underling nature is hackneyed.
Published 4 months ago by Robert witte


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This is one of the best dramas I have watched addicted to it now on series 3 , carnt wait for series 4 , then I what will I watch it had everything blood sex and a story too .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quality just gets better, 27 Dec 2011
By 
J. Duducu (Ruislip) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Like a lot of modern dramas series 2 assumes you've seen the previous series and indeed if you haven't you've missed a treat so start there.

If you have seen the excellent first series and want to know can the quality be maintained the simple answer is "yes". By the end of series 2 some of the characters have developed in the most unexpected of ways. While the whole series hangs on the shoulders of the central character of "Nucky" Thompson (played by Stephen Buscemi) it's probably Jimmy's character arc that steals series 2. I won't say much except to say that you can almost feel the weight of power behind those doe eyes of his and the pay-off is epic.

More time is spent with Richard the war veteran with only half a face- my favourite character- such a sad and yet stoic individual and when the Klu Klux Klan attack Chalky White's boot legging operation you know vengeance will arrive sooner or later. So you have a number of key characters with really interesting story arcs that the series give time to breath. From Margaret Schroeder's conflicted conscience to Agent Nelson's continuing domestic issues getting in the way of his divinely inspired work enforcing prohibition.

The period detail is as always excellent and the way it brings in the larger historical picture, while never becoming a lecture is impressive."The Sopranos with spats" is a glib summary but an apt one and like the Sopranos this maintains the quality while having the bravery to develop into new and unexpected areas.

It's all good to the last drop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant series, 26 Mar 2013
By 
C. Anderson "CarolA" (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We just can't wait for Series 3 - worth every penny! Steve Buscemi is just brilliant. We pretty much watched Season 2 over one weekend, totally addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Amazon service, 9 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
It wa good but the series itself is overblown. It is repetetious in that the episodes all resesmble each other. The characters are well acted but their underling nature is hackneyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Riveted early and never looked back.
Recommended drama with plenty of twists.
As with Season 1 you are left hanging and a little surprised at the end and obviously thirst for the next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Even better than season one, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Probably even more exciting than season one. A season with a lot of action and a surprising plot. Good choice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boardwalk Brilliance!, 12 May 2012
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Season 2 of this stunning series is even better than season 1 (if that's possible) and develops more in terms of character developments/relationships, sex, violence, booze and deception.
Boardwalk Empire Season 2 is fantastic and a mush watch series! Get your hands on it as soon as possible! This program just gets better and better with each episode and with HBO having just announce that they will renew it for a 3rd season, things can only get better...
WARNING: You need to have watched Season 1 in order to have any idea about the goings on in Season 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boardwalk empire season 2, 6 Jun 2013
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
After the season one finale i couldn't wait to watch season 2. I was extremely pleased with the second season set a year later nucky is still up to his old tricks but isn't exactly attracting the right attention. the new characters are great and the tension between nucky and jimmy darmody during the season is nail biting. I loved season 2 and i cant wait to buy the third season when it becomes available in august :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than Series 1 and that's saying something!, 28 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. S. A. Woodward (Stoke-on-Trent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
What can you say about this? I was totally blown away and mesmerized by the sheer quality and brilliance of Series 1 but Series 2 actually outdoes it! It has everything. The quality of the writing is top class. The performances exceptional. The casting inspired. I'd never even heard of Micheal Pitt before this but his performance as Jimmy Domardy reminds me of a certain Al Pacino's scene stealing turn in a certain cinematic Gangster epic! It is incredibly gritty and the violence is never shied away from. When someone gets their throat the camera doesn't pan away! You need a strong stomach and if you don't like the sound of bad language and regular profanity then this isn't going to be for you but if not then you will be missing one of the finest American TV series of all time! It is very hard to pick out any one performance as they are all uniformly superb but a special mention should be made for Michael Shannon who plays Prohibition agent Nelson Van Alden. He is quite simply extraordinary! I cannot wait for series 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
By 
Lars Jönlid (gothenburg Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
A must have !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012]
Boardwalk Empire - Season 2 (HBO) [DVD] [2012] by Terence Winter (DVD - 2012)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews