Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
3
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£18.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 March 2006
Going back through my albums the other day, I dusted this off and played it. What can I say...but that they dont make ALBUMS like this anymore. In that its a whole album where every song is great in its own right. Sure there are a couple of cracking singles on here, but its a rounded piece of work. LL coming hard off the brunt of criticism for being too extragvant with panthers, girls and champagne all over his album covers (which is what hip-hop has morphed into today), went back to the lab with Marley Marl and cooked up this masterpiece. Theres funky LL (Eat Um Up L, Booming system), battle rhyme LL (Murdergram, to tha break of dawn, mama said) New Jack LL (Illegal search, 6 minutes of pleasure) and of course a few obilgatory LL tunes for the ladies.
Most importantly, even in 2006 the beats still bang hard - a testament to the amazing production skils of Marley Marl. This sadly was what I consider the last great LL album - so its worth picking up. A Hip Hop classic
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2012
You just need this album in your life. Some of the finest hip-hop work ever on this album. All tracks are brilliant, but the stand-out track is 'Mama Said Knock You Out.' MUST BUY!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2000
Probably LL's Best Album. The only L.P. that is even close to this is Radio. LL was underpressure to bring ou a real Hip Hop album after his last offerings and came back with an absolute peach. A real Hip Hop album. If you have not got this then you don't know Hip Hop. PEACE
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
You just can't beat old school rap like this.
I reckon I've bought this album 4 or 5 times over in different forms since I first picked it up over 15 years ago!

Brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2005
Unfortunately some people may find the heavy bass, marley marl production a bit dated, but i love it. The beats compliment the aggressive flow of Ll (who is counter-attacking with this comeback effort). This features the 1st love ballad Ll has really perfected, the beautiful 'around the way girl'. Other standouts include: the title track, 'mr good bar', 'farmers blvd' and a very similar version of the excellent 'jinglin baby'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2006
We all know LL Cool J was great until the late 90's. Phenomenon was one of the biggest let downs to me when it was released. It wasn't a patch on this LP or Mr Smith, even on 14 Shots. This is a great Hip Hop album. The production is tight and who wouldn't want to check out the LP that was created along with Mama Said Knock You Out (the title track).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This album is not a bad pop rap record if like a lot of Old School hip hop like Run DMC and Mc hammer etc , i like it because its a good album to listen to when relaxing .But if like hardcore hip hop best to give this record a good listen and open your mind. To some new sounds and radio freindly lyrics.That make nDubz sound like a butch emos .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
i was feeling nostalgic and as I had this on cassette years ago and got chewed up I purchased it because momma said knock you out came on the radio.
Tbh it's the only track that has worn well through time, the rest have really dated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Classic album from LL and Marley Marl. The first half is flawless, the second half is merely excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2001
A must have for any LL Cool J fan. Some of his best tracks are on this album such as Murdergram, Mama Said Knock You Out and 6 Minutes of Pleasure. Outstanding producing from Marley Marl and excellent lyrics and rap from LL Cool J.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.32

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)